$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

San Francisco Marriott Marquis

4 stars
780 Mission Street, 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
475 reviews
San Francisco week end

Everything a hotel can provide was there! Close to anything just by walking. See full review

  • Claude the French
  • Jul 23, 2014
Great first time experience

Love the location! I definately recommend it. First time at the hotel and it was great. See full review

  • YDmanuel
  • Jul 17, 2014
Convenience for business travelers and families in SoMa

The 39-story San Francisco Marriott Marquis caters to two very different customers: business travelers and families. On the business front, the property sits mere blocks from Moscone Convention Center and boasts 117,000 square feet of its own meeting space (more than any other hotel in town). On the family front, guests can opt for kid-friendly turndown service that includes a bedtime book. Mission Grille, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary California cuisine. The hotel also has three full-service lounges.

Highlights
  • Family-friendly packages and promotions
  • Sample contemporary California cuisine at Mission Grille, the on-site restaurant
  • Located mere blocks from Moscone Convention Center
Rooms

Accommodations -- 1,362 rooms and 137 suites -- are designed to feel more like a boutique hotel than a mega high-rise. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen television, granite-countertop bathrooms, spacious work desks and plush bedding. All rooms also feature floor-to-ceiling windows. Lodging on the concierge floor adds amenities such as mini-refrigerators and microwaves as well as daily snack and beverage service. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

The property offers babysitting services (fees apply) as well as complimentary access to cardio and free-weight machines in an on-site fitness center. The hotel also features a modest spa that has an indoor lap pool and administers massages, nail treatments and more (fees apply).

Grab dinner at Mission Grille, the on-site eatery, which serves contemporary California cuisine with produce sourced from local farms. In the lobby, wine bar Bin 55 specializes in local wines and serves them with small plates.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 117,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 59 total meeting rooms

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Francisco Marriott Marquis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7851 -122.405
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 13.80, MI, NW; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; Norman Y Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Dining

Bin 55 Restaurant and Wine Bar
Our on-site downtown San Francisco restaurant is the place to see and be seen, serving craft beers and wines by the glass enjoyed over a quick lunch or casual dinner. Located on the Lobby Level, Open 7 days a week from 11am-11pm.
The View Lounge
The iconic View Lounge, our own rooftop restaurant in San Francisco, is the ideal destination for business and leisure guests to enjoy hand crafted cocktails and locally inspired small plates accompanied by the best views the city has to offer.
Mission Grille - Breakfast Buffet
Mission Grille serves breakfast daily offering a San Francisco-inspired buffet complete with an “eggs-to-order station.” Located on the Second Level. Open 7 days a week from 6:30am-10:00am.
Starbucks®
Starbucks® is located on the Lobby Level. Open 7 days a week at 5:30am each morning. Enjoy breakfast sandwiches, fresh pastries and Bistro Boxes for the on-the-go individual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (475)

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 475
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
manuelle
west covina ca
Jul 8, 2014

amazing

Staff was so helpful and courteous as well as the front desk, concierge,and luggage stand. Four star indeed location was perfect for food and shopping right around every corner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolley (which is a block away on powell) up few stops then its a nice lil walk right into chinatow and a great walk back

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dredick
San Francisco
Jan 1, 2014

Fantastic!

We had a blast. Clean facility, awesome rooms, a first class workout room and a great location just a few minutes walk from union square and the great shopping and good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cabotraveler
Cabo Mexico
Oct 24, 2013

Great location with affordable price

I stayed two nights in a romantic and busy weekend at the Bay. Enjoyed soft drinks and good wine at the sky bar well named "the view" and toured the places sorrounding the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close - super location!

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jon Ham
Atlanta, GA
Sep 8, 2013

Very good location

I got just what I expected out of my visit. In my opinion the Marriott Marquis is an upscale hotel and the one in San Francisco did not let me down. It is in a good location and is convenient to attractions as well as mass transit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mtw42
Chicago, IL
Aug 8, 2013

Center of the action

My wife and I left the kids and home and headed to the city by the bay for a small wedding. The Marriott Marquis was right in the heart of the action making it very convenient for us to get to all the attractions we wanted to see in the city (Union Square shopping, Chinatown, the Ferry Building, Pier 39). The hotel itself was top notch with helpful staff and quality rooms. There was a bit of a check-in delay for our friends in the wedding party and delayed delivery of some extra items for the room, but overall minor complaints in an otherwise fantastic stay. If you are looking for a great hotel steps from shopping and great city attractions, this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The View lounge at the top of the hotel offers fantastic views of the city, but don't go too late as the kitchen closes at 11PM and you can't get one of their fantastic desserts after that.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. SoCal
Long Beach, California
Jul 7, 2013

SF Giants vs. LA Dodgers

Great location for those who love easy access to museums & shops!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the stores you could imagine are steps away from this hotel!!!

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeri's great adventure
Santa Cruz, Ca
Jun 24, 2013

Giant's Weekend stay

We had a wonderful time in the city and at the Marriott when we went to see the Giant's play on a Saturday and Sunday. The hotel was sold out so we were unable to get a room with a view but the room itself was still very nice and clean! Our only issue is the parking lot was full and they charge $74 per night for the car. The location and staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Go up to the top of the hotel and there is a bar that serves appetizers and check out the views of the sunset and moon rising. Awesome!

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ghutche
Oakland, ca
Jun 9, 2013

Amazing Time! Will be back Again

I had an amazing time at the Marriott Marquis! The staff was amazing and helpful. Anything that i needed they were more than happy to help. My friend and I were going out and the bell hoppper suggested this amazing bar for us and made sure we got there. Staff was amazing and the hotel is beautiful! 360 view is amazing as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marriott Person
Moorpark, CA
Sep 11, 2012

Enjoyed the Stay

I'm a big Marriott person so for me the location and hotel were great. The only recommendation I would have, is to ask for a room with a view. We stayed in a middle room and our view was the center of the hotel. We enjoyed the actual spa and the massages at the spa were decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irina B.
NY
Sep 5, 2012

Dicent hotel, close to points of interest

Good location for tourists, easy to get to the attractions. Not too good at night - lots of homeless people, not enough places to have a good dinner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top