$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

San Francisco Marriott Marquis

4 stars
View map of 780 Mission Street, 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
292 reviews
Great one night stay

The room was clean and ready for early check in. The king sized bed was very comfortable and the... See full review

  • Jim M.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Marathon Weekend

We were in SF for the weekend to run the Nike Women's Half Marathon and they made us feel right at... See full review

  • 13.1 Marathon Finisher
  • Oct 20, 2014
Convenience for business travelers and families in SoMa

The 39-story San Francisco Marriott Marquis caters to two very different customers: business travelers and families. On the business front, the property sits mere blocks from Moscone Convention Center and boasts 117,000 square feet of its own meeting space (more than any other hotel in town). On the family front, guests can opt for kid-friendly turndown service that includes a bedtime book. Mission Grille, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary California cuisine. The hotel also has three full-service lounges.

Highlights
  • Family-friendly packages and promotions
  • Sample contemporary California cuisine at Mission Grille, the on-site restaurant
  • Located mere blocks from Moscone Convention Center
Rooms

Accommodations -- 1,362 rooms and 137 suites -- are designed to feel more like a boutique hotel than a mega high-rise. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen television, granite-countertop bathrooms, spacious work desks and plush bedding. All rooms also feature floor-to-ceiling windows. Lodging on the concierge floor adds amenities such as mini-refrigerators and microwaves as well as daily snack and beverage service. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

The property offers babysitting services (fees apply) as well as complimentary access to cardio and free-weight machines in an on-site fitness center. The hotel also features a modest spa that has an indoor lap pool and administers massages, nail treatments and more (fees apply).

Grab dinner at Mission Grille, the on-site eatery, which serves contemporary California cuisine with produce sourced from local farms. In the lobby, wine bar Bin 55 specializes in local wines and serves them with small plates.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 117,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 59 total meeting rooms

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Francisco Marriott Marquis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Lands End: 2.1 mi

Dining

Bin 55 Restaurant and Wine Bar
Our on-site downtown San Francisco restaurant is the place to see and be seen, serving craft beers and wines by the glass enjoyed over a quick lunch or casual dinner. Located on the Lobby Level, Open S - S from 11am - 11pm
The View Lounge
The iconic View Lounge, our own rooftop restaurant in San Francisco, is the ideal destination for business and leisure guests.
Mission Grille - Breakfast Buffet
Mission Grille serves breakfast daily offering a San Francisco-inspired buffet complete with an “eggs-to-order station.” Located on the Second Level. Open 7 days a week from 6:30am-10:00am.
Starbucks®
Starbucks® is located on the Lobby Level. Open 7 days a week at 5:30am each morning. Enjoy breakfast sandwiches, fresh pastries and Bistro Boxes for the on-the-go individual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 292
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
William C.
Business
Grantsboro
Mar 13, 2015

San Francisco trip

Great location and overall very good experience. Only glitch was a/c did not work when we checked into the room, but they repaired it quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mommie jen
Business
los angeles
Nov 10, 2014

Wedding

Great Location & the staff were always happy to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Napa Visitor
Business
Southern California
Aug 31, 2014

Great Location

The hotel is great to stay at for getting around the downtown, to the Embarcadero, Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradeli Square, etc. because of its location and the public transit system that is so close by. We went to a show at the Orpheum theater and it was a 1 stop ride on either the Bart or the Metro to the Civic Center station from the Powell St. station. One could also walk the 4 blocks or so to the theater. The room itself was ok, nothing special. The bathroom wasn't quite clean when we arrived and there some leftover items from the mini bar in the room that we we charged for and had removed from our bill with no problem. The view from the 18th floor room was down on Jessie Park and the Moscone Center to the south. For what we paid ($189/nt) I consider it a good, not great, value. Decent SF hotels are not inexpensive. Everything at the hotel is costly. 2 cocktails, 1 Corona and 1 bowl of nuts was $41. One thing that I consider a big negative is the hotel wanted $14.95 a day for Internet connection. You have the option of paying for a more expensive room (more than $14.95/nt) and having "free" Internet connection or going across the street to Starbucks. FYI I was born and raised in the City and know it well. We were natives doing the tourist thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There are a number of garages within a block or less of the hotel where you can park your car for less than $25/day instead of the ~$70/day that the hotel charges. You can park temporarily at the hotel valet parking for free while you check in and then drive to the other garage to park. The one I parked at was the nearest and about a 100ft walk from the elevator exit to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
manuelle
Business
west covina ca
Jul 24, 2014

best experience evey in san Francisco

Great location awesome staff overall best experience ever as many times as we've been to san Francisco this hotel made me want to come back soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
manuelle
Business
west covina ca
Jul 8, 2014

amazing

Staff was so helpful and courteous as well as the front desk, concierge,and luggage stand. Four star indeed location was perfect for food and shopping right around every corner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolley (which is a block away on powell) up few stops then its a nice lil walk right into chinatow and a great walk back

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teacher Approved
Business
Altamonte Springs
Jul 7, 2014

From Coast/Orlando to Coast/San Francisco

When booking this hotel for my trip to San Francisco, I must have read over 100 reviews of a variety of hotels in the Union Square, SOMA and FiDI areas. I chose the Marriott because it was close to BART and central to all other forms of transportation (Cable cars, street cars). Yes the hotel had some expensive snacks in the fridge, but if you read the card on the table, it says $8 for that bottle of water that is looking at you in its fancy wrapping. My tip, there is CVS and Walgreens around the corner. The staff was very nice and helpful. I guess the staff reeled in the "FISH" philosophy. The hotel definitely deserves 4 stars. Only if it was across from the Ferry building on the water would have made this a great hotel with a view of the water and city while still on the transportation lines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

buy a street car pass... The F line runs from union Square to the wharf

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dredick
Business
San Francisco
Jan 1, 2014

Fantastic!

We had a blast. Clean facility, awesome rooms, a first class workout room and a great location just a few minutes walk from union square and the great shopping and good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cabotraveler
Business
Cabo Mexico
Oct 24, 2013

Great location with affordable price

I stayed two nights in a romantic and busy weekend at the Bay. Enjoyed soft drinks and good wine at the sky bar well named "the view" and toured the places sorrounding the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close - super location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jon Ham
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 8, 2013

Very good location

I got just what I expected out of my visit. In my opinion the Marriott Marquis is an upscale hotel and the one in San Francisco did not let me down. It is in a good location and is convenient to attractions as well as mass transit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mtw42
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 8, 2013

Center of the action

My wife and I left the kids and home and headed to the city by the bay for a small wedding. The Marriott Marquis was right in the heart of the action making it very convenient for us to get to all the attractions we wanted to see in the city (Union Square shopping, Chinatown, the Ferry Building, Pier 39). The hotel itself was top notch with helpful staff and quality rooms. There was a bit of a check-in delay for our friends in the wedding party and delayed delivery of some extra items for the room, but overall minor complaints in an otherwise fantastic stay. If you are looking for a great hotel steps from shopping and great city attractions, this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The View lounge at the top of the hotel offers fantastic views of the city, but don't go too late as the kitchen closes at 11PM and you can't get one of their fantastic desserts after that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top