$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

San Francisco Marriott Marquis

4 stars
780 Mission Street, 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
280 reviews
Short but Perfect

This was not a planned trip but for the price I got more than I expected. This Marriott is kinda... See full review

  • happyblkpilot
  • Aug 10, 2014
best experience evey in san Francisco

Great location awesome staff overall best experience ever as many times as we've been to san... See full review

  • manuelle
  • Jul 24, 2014
Convenience for business travelers and families in SoMa

The 39-story San Francisco Marriott Marquis caters to two very different customers: business travelers and families. On the business front, the property sits mere blocks from Moscone Convention Center and boasts 117,000 square feet of its own meeting space (more than any other hotel in town). On the family front, guests can opt for kid-friendly turndown service that includes a bedtime book. Mission Grille, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary California cuisine. The hotel also has three full-service lounges.

Highlights
  • Family-friendly packages and promotions
  • Sample contemporary California cuisine at Mission Grille, the on-site restaurant
  • Located mere blocks from Moscone Convention Center
Rooms

Accommodations -- 1,362 rooms and 137 suites -- are designed to feel more like a boutique hotel than a mega high-rise. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen television, granite-countertop bathrooms, spacious work desks and plush bedding. All rooms also feature floor-to-ceiling windows. Lodging on the concierge floor adds amenities such as mini-refrigerators and microwaves as well as daily snack and beverage service. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

The property offers babysitting services (fees apply) as well as complimentary access to cardio and free-weight machines in an on-site fitness center. The hotel also features a modest spa that has an indoor lap pool and administers massages, nail treatments and more (fees apply).

Grab dinner at Mission Grille, the on-site eatery, which serves contemporary California cuisine with produce sourced from local farms. In the lobby, wine bar Bin 55 specializes in local wines and serves them with small plates.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 117,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 59 total meeting rooms

Hotel Map

37.7851 -122.405
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 13.80, MI, NW; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; Norman Y Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Francisco Marriott Marquis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Dining

Bin 55 Restaurant and Wine Bar
Our on-site downtown San Francisco restaurant is the place to see and be seen, serving craft beers and wines by the glass enjoyed over a quick lunch or casual dinner. Located on the Lobby Level, Open 7 days a week from 11am-11pm.
The View Lounge
The iconic View Lounge, our own rooftop restaurant in San Francisco, is the ideal destination for business and leisure guests to enjoy hand crafted cocktails and locally inspired small plates accompanied by the best views the city has to offer.
Mission Grille - Breakfast Buffet
Mission Grille serves breakfast daily offering a San Francisco-inspired buffet complete with an “eggs-to-order station.” Located on the Second Level. Open 7 days a week from 6:30am-10:00am.
Starbucks®
Starbucks® is located on the Lobby Level. Open 7 days a week at 5:30am each morning. Enjoy breakfast sandwiches, fresh pastries and Bistro Boxes for the on-the-go individual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (280)

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mumofthree
irvine, ca
Jun 22, 2010

third rate treatment......

[...] the cleaning was lousy too. they didn't pickup the coffee cup that we used, didn't wipe the night stand where there was some spilled baby formula. when i called them to ask why not, they said "probably forgot" they didn't even apologize for it.4. there was no free TV to watch. the other room had that option, but ours didn't. all we could watch for free was some lousy previews. at this point we were so frustrated that we didn't even bother to ask.the decor was good. but service sub standard. i'd take my money elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ghetto Supastar
California
Oct 5, 2009

Horrible Horrible Horrible

This place is in the heart of the busiest part of San Francisco. The parking was impossible, the staff was overworked and could have cared less about our needs. The windows and the room were dirty and the in room snacks for sale had to be over a year old. Yuck. Unfortunately for us the W was sold out and we had to stay at this dump!! Come on Marriott, get it together because you are going downhill fast!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, CA
Mar 31, 2010

Disturbed

This was the worst trip in a luxury hotel I have ever had. We checked in on Friday and when we woke up early Saturday, my husband and I noticed a fedora and CD ROM disc in our room. The disc was on top of my jacket that I wore the night before. I called for management and they said they would send up security. I waited and waited. I heard someone outside my door and found a gentleman getting an electrical reading from my key swipe.Noone else came up. I called down again and [...] (identified as security manager) said that our key swipe only showed me and my husband. I asked,"what about these items?". She wanted ME to bring them down to her. When I told her I wasn't, she sent someone to pick them up.End of story. We spend out second night at another hotel.ALSO... the price quoted does not include parking, which is an additional $55.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
trapito
los angeles, ca
Jul 13, 2010

not what i was exptecting

the price is too high for what they offer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Y.A.
BROOKLYN, NEW YORK
Aug 30, 2009

HORRIBLE EXPRERIENCE

THE HOTEL LOCATED IN A VERY NICE AREA NEAR SHOPPING CENTER, UNION SQUARE, BUT THE ROOM WAS ABSOLUTELY NOT WORTH THE MONEY SPENT. I CHECKED IN AT 11PM AND FOUND THE ROOM VERY SMALL, NOT CLEAN -- THE FURNITURE WAS VERY OLD, THE CARPET HAD STAINS ALL OVER AND THE ROOM WAS VERY MINIMUM AMENITIES, THE HOTEL CLERK PROMISED ME "EXCELLENT VIEW" , BUT, IN FACT WHEN I ENTERED THE ROOM MY WINDOW WAS FACING ANOTHER BUILDING -- AND NO VIEW!WHEN I TOLD THE HOTEL CLERK THAT I DIDN'T LIKE HOTEL AND WOULD LIKE TO CHECK OUT, HE TOLD ME HE CANNOT REFUND ME ANYTHING TILL HE SPEAKS TO HIS MANAGER AND THE MANAGER WAS ONLY COMING THE NEXT MORNING, SO THEREFORE I WAS FORCED TO STAY 1 NIGHT AND PAY FOR ABSOLUTELY UNCOMFORTABLE CONDITION. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose
Jul 6, 2009

a complete disaster

Booking of a room with 2 queen beds through Orbitz was not transferred o the hotel properly - at least that what I was told there. Instead I got one king bed for 3 peopleand not chance to get even a rollaway bed! No indication was shown fromt h staff and managemnt to resolve this issue. A complete disaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bay Area
Jul 21, 2009

Worst Customer Service Marriott SF

We went to the marriott SF to stay the night there for my sister's bachelorette. We had made two reservations weeks in advance but were told after waiting in a line for 3 hours that the hotel was full. Manager was not empathetic at all. Horrible customer service. Ended up getting one of the two rooms, with none of the previous requests met. Were late to dinner reservations, which set us back and ruined the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cheese and Wine Guru
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Aug 5, 2011

Very bad experience

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip with important meetings scheduled. Each morning I was awakened by a jackhammer like noise which was coming from the pipes in the shower. The pipes were shaking and rattling so badly that the shower tiles were vibrating. Two employees came to the room and told me that this is a problem for some of the rooms. I was unable to sleep and rest well and found myself in a compromised position for my work functions because I was tired. Biggest issue in this? Why would they knowing sell rooms with this problem to their guests? At these rates and with the reputation this chain has, it is inexcusable and I will not use them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tired Architect
Business
Santa Monica, CA
May 1, 2014

Expected more

Room on the 4th floor was too noisy, guests, street noise, could not sleep the one night in San Fran. Bar was too crowded and patrons seedy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
nevada
Jun 28, 2010

it was ok

They charge you for absolutely everything! I called ahead of time to check for wifi and other things, I was told it was all available. They werent.probably wont go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search