$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

San Francisco Marriott Marquis

4 stars
View map of 780 Mission Street, 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moonshine
Family
Virginia
Dec 31, 2011

poky poky

At the end of a long sightseeing day, a comfy bed just sends you over the top. Here they use feather toppers on the bed, that poke through. I woke up several times to check for bed bugs. Glad it was not bed bugs but the feather bed toppers seem old. There were 3 of us traveling, and two of us had this experience, the other one sleeps like a log.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bouland
Family
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Dec 18, 2011

In the middle of its class

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis has all the opulence of a high-end chain hotel with none of the personal touch of a boutique hotel. No longer a member with an elite ranking, our room lacked a few of the personal touches that you come to expect as a frequent traveler, but it was still a comfortable room with a desk and sitting area. Marriott has always wasted too much room space with advertisements and sales gimmicks, and this room was no exception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tm1900
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 16, 2011

Great location, excellent value

Had a quiet room, everything was clean, great location - can't think of anything else I'd need for a business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, close to many attractions, shopping paradise (for those interested)

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SFBDay
Friends
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 6, 2011

Birthday Fun

Great location, nice hotel. Would definitely stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jegd
Couples
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Room accessible, as advertised

Quite comfortable, very good location (just steps from Union Square), very helpful concierges, good-sized bathroom, clean, willing to adjust cleaning schedule to when we were out. Wi-fi in lobby is free, and works fine (once you get the hang of how to connect). Free refrigerator if you ask for it. And nice indoor pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great, cheap breakfast at Mel's, on the corner.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RA85
Single
Orange County, California
Oct 21, 2011

Great location

The hotel itself is located right in the heart of Union Square. The room and staff were great. Only down side really is if you are parking your car at the hotel there is a hefty price, about 60 dollars a night. Otherwise, great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ann1235
Couples
Napa, CA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Great Location

I like the Marriott for its location, but every time I stay there I am infuriated by the parking charges. Not much to do about it - they charge what they can get away with, but it is still very aggravating. Otherwise, perfectly nice giant city hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joel03
Friends
New York, NY, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Great Location

I was there for a weekend, and it was the first time I'm in SF, the location right in a middle of everything on Market Street and 4th Street, so it really make me have all easy access to get around downtown, even the Bart station just a block away, the staff were really friendly and helpful, I was staying at 17th floor and it was really nice a quiet, not to mentioned the cleanliness of the room, I really recommended Marriott Marquis SF as one of the best hotel to stay either for business trip or family vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

westfield mall just half block away, and union square only a few blocks away

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
eatenalive
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Bed Bugs/Unclean Room

When I entered my hotel room I noticed immediately that it did not seem very clean. On day 3 of my stay I noticed a couple very small bugs in my bed. I will say that the housekeeping manager handled the situation very quickly and professionally. He immediately moved me to another room and had all of my clothing washed. However, I still had to pay for my entire stay, including the nights that I was being eaten by bed bugs. I'm now covered head to toe in welts from the bites - not a pleasant experience. I'm praying that the bugs did not come home with me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
srdelapuerta
Friends
San Jose, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Night in the City

Booked this hotel to spend the night in the city instead of drive back to South Bay. The lobby immediately reminded me of a fancy Vegas resort. Staff were pleasant but took a while to resolve an issue with another guest checking in under the same name as myself. Overall great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top