$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

San Francisco Marriott Marquis

4 stars
780 Mission Street, 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
475 reviews
San Francisco week end

Everything a hotel can provide was there! Close to anything just by walking. See full review

  • Claude the French
  • Jul 23, 2014
Great first time experience

Love the location! I definately recommend it. First time at the hotel and it was great. See full review

  • YDmanuel
  • Jul 17, 2014
Convenience for business travelers and families in SoMa

The 39-story San Francisco Marriott Marquis caters to two very different customers: business travelers and families. On the business front, the property sits mere blocks from Moscone Convention Center and boasts 117,000 square feet of its own meeting space (more than any other hotel in town). On the family front, guests can opt for kid-friendly turndown service that includes a bedtime book. Mission Grille, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary California cuisine. The hotel also has three full-service lounges.

Highlights
  • Family-friendly packages and promotions
  • Sample contemporary California cuisine at Mission Grille, the on-site restaurant
  • Located mere blocks from Moscone Convention Center
Rooms

Accommodations -- 1,362 rooms and 137 suites -- are designed to feel more like a boutique hotel than a mega high-rise. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen television, granite-countertop bathrooms, spacious work desks and plush bedding. All rooms also feature floor-to-ceiling windows. Lodging on the concierge floor adds amenities such as mini-refrigerators and microwaves as well as daily snack and beverage service. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

The property offers babysitting services (fees apply) as well as complimentary access to cardio and free-weight machines in an on-site fitness center. The hotel also features a modest spa that has an indoor lap pool and administers massages, nail treatments and more (fees apply).

Grab dinner at Mission Grille, the on-site eatery, which serves contemporary California cuisine with produce sourced from local farms. In the lobby, wine bar Bin 55 specializes in local wines and serves them with small plates.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 117,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 59 total meeting rooms

Hotel Map

37.7851 -122.405
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 13.80, MI, NW; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; Norman Y Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Francisco Marriott Marquis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Dining

Bin 55 Restaurant and Wine Bar
Our on-site downtown San Francisco restaurant is the place to see and be seen, serving craft beers and wines by the glass enjoyed over a quick lunch or casual dinner. Located on the Lobby Level, Open 7 days a week from 11am-11pm.
The View Lounge
The iconic View Lounge, our own rooftop restaurant in San Francisco, is the ideal destination for business and leisure guests to enjoy hand crafted cocktails and locally inspired small plates accompanied by the best views the city has to offer.
Mission Grille - Breakfast Buffet
Mission Grille serves breakfast daily offering a San Francisco-inspired buffet complete with an “eggs-to-order station.” Located on the Second Level. Open 7 days a week from 6:30am-10:00am.
Starbucks®
Starbucks® is located on the Lobby Level. Open 7 days a week at 5:30am each morning. Enjoy breakfast sandwiches, fresh pastries and Bistro Boxes for the on-the-go individual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (475)

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
475 out of 475
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RA85
Orange County, California
Oct 21, 2011

Great location

The hotel itself is located right in the heart of Union Square. The room and staff were great. Only down side really is if you are parking your car at the hotel there is a hefty price, about 60 dollars a night. Otherwise, great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ann1235
Napa, CA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Great Location

I like the Marriott for its location, but every time I stay there I am infuriated by the parking charges. Not much to do about it - they charge what they can get away with, but it is still very aggravating. Otherwise, perfectly nice giant city hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joel03
New York, NY, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Great Location

I was there for a weekend, and it was the first time I'm in SF, the location right in a middle of everything on Market Street and 4th Street, so it really make me have all easy access to get around downtown, even the Bart station just a block away, the staff were really friendly and helpful, I was staying at 17th floor and it was really nice a quiet, not to mentioned the cleanliness of the room, I really recommended Marriott Marquis SF as one of the best hotel to stay either for business trip or family vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

westfield mall just half block away, and union square only a few blocks away

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joel03
New York, NY, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Great Location

I was there for a weekend, and it was the first time I'm in SF, the location right in a middle of everything on Market Street and 4th Street, so it really make me have all easy access to get around downtown, even the Bart station just a block away, the staff were really friendly and helpful, I was staying at 17th floor and it was really nice a quiet, not to mentioned the cleanliness of the room, I really recommended Marriott Marquis SF as one of the best hotel to stay either for business trip or family vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

westfield mall just half block away, and union square only a few blocks away

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
eatenalive
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Bed Bugs/Unclean Room

When I entered my hotel room I noticed immediately that it did not seem very clean. On day 3 of my stay I noticed a couple very small bugs in my bed. I will say that the housekeeping manager handled the situation very quickly and professionally. He immediately moved me to another room and had all of my clothing washed. However, I still had to pay for my entire stay, including the nights that I was being eaten by bed bugs. I'm now covered head to toe in welts from the bites - not a pleasant experience. I'm praying that the bugs did not come home with me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
eatenalive
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Bed Bugs/Unclean Room

When I entered my hotel room I noticed immediately that it did not seem very clean. On day 3 of my stay I noticed a couple very small bugs in my bed. I will say that the housekeeping manager handled the situation very quickly and professionally. He immediately moved me to another room and had all of my clothing washed. However, I still had to pay for my entire stay, including the nights that I was being eaten by bed bugs. I'm now covered head to toe in welts from the bites - not a pleasant experience. I'm praying that the bugs did not come home with me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
srdelapuerta
San Jose, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Night in the City

Booked this hotel to spend the night in the city instead of drive back to South Bay. The lobby immediately reminded me of a fancy Vegas resort. Staff were pleasant but took a while to resolve an issue with another guest checking in under the same name as myself. Overall great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
srdelapuerta
San Jose, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Night in the City

Booked this hotel to spend the night in the city instead of drive back to South Bay. The lobby immediately reminded me of a fancy Vegas resort. Staff were pleasant but took a while to resolve an issue with another guest checking in under the same name as myself. Overall great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobo the clown
San Francisco, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Great location but expensive.

This hotel is located right near the baseball stadium where we were going. It looks classy and great on the outside but it should since it was expensive. The room was clean and neat but the little extras that I would expect from an expensive hotel were not there. No free room wifi connection, no free newspaper in the morning slid under the door, no fan in the bathroom to defog the mirror when you shower, no extra towels . It was basically just a cleaner version of Motel 6. No reason to be so expensive except its location. Nothing special inside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobo the clown
San Francisco, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Great location but expensive.

This hotel is located right near the baseball stadium where we were going. It looks classy and great on the outside but it should since it was expensive. The room was clean and neat but the little extras that I would expect from an expensive hotel were not there. No free room wifi connection, no free newspaper in the morning slid under the door, no fan in the bathroom to defog the mirror when you shower, no extra towels . It was basically just a cleaner version of Motel 6. No reason to be so expensive except its location. Nothing special inside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top