$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

San Francisco Marriott Marquis

4 stars
View map of 780 Mission Street, 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
289 out of 289
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Moraga, CA
Oct 19, 2009

Great S.F. Getaway

Hotel experience was great. Breakfast arrived on time and location was fantastic! We were there for Nike marathon and Marriott did NOT disappoint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Perbacco was delicious for dinner!!! Especially the pork chop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
signer won
Business
slc, ut
Oct 5, 2009

great place to stay

Very accommodating. Friendly staff. The room was fabulous and clean. Exactly what you'd expect from a hotel like this. Overall great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ghetto Supastar
Business
California
Oct 5, 2009

Horrible Horrible Horrible

This place is in the heart of the busiest part of San Francisco. The parking was impossible, the staff was overworked and could have cared less about our needs. The windows and the room were dirty and the in room snacks for sale had to be over a year old. Yuck. Unfortunately for us the W was sold out and we had to stay at this dump!! Come on Marriott, get it together because you are going downhill fast!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 29, 2009

good

It was nice. The location was central to everything very nice and easy to walk to any store or restaurant or public transportation. Staff was frendly. Room was nice but it could use some updating but it was clean. We were on the 15th floor and there was some noise from the outside that would go through the older windows. There was a starbucks in the hotel. The only bad part is that it would close really early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 28, 2009

Trip to San Francisco

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a 4-day visit to San Francisco and it couldn't have been any better. The weather was great for walking the downtown area and checking out the insane selection of shopping. A tour of the city was really fun, and even better that it departed from the waterfront as it gave us a chance to check out Ghirardeli Square and the Fisherman's Wharf. The one thing we missed out on was touring Alcatraz as we simply didn't have enough time to do everything we wanted to in 4 days. This was our first trip as a couple and was great fun as a place to really do a ton of things. I wouldn't recommend San Francisco as a trip to relax though as it's really a busy place to be. The hotel was very nice and went over the top to accomodate us as we were able to check in early and were upgraded to a mini-suite as our first room proved to have noisy neighbors and the second room we were switched to turned out to be "under construction." The hotel staff were all fabulous and very helpful in recommending restaurants to visit and nightlife to check out for late fun. Our only disappointment was not being able to check out the 39th floor lounge as it was being rented for a private event the one chance we had to venture up there. Oh well, maybe next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Any store you could possible want to shop at is literally within 4 blocks of this hotel. Great location for shopping, jumping on the cable car to go to the waterfront, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Sep 28, 2009

A nice place to stay in

Very nice, clean and comfortable. The only objection is the large junk-food collection exhibited in the room (Sneakers bars, M&M's etc.) It's a real eye-sore and spoils the feeling (as if sleeping inside a corner-store).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis
Sep 24, 2009

Great downtown location

Nice to return to after a busy day of work. Rooms equipped with big screen flat panel TVs. Got to kick back and relaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

4th St Sports Bar (on premises) makes a fantastic Phily steak sandwich.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Sep 22, 2009

WONDERFUL

Great location for shopping and dining and cable car. Perfect spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allen, Texas
Sep 22, 2009

Marriott SF

Great hotel, but I paid an additional $55.00 nightly for parking. Coming to an high end hotel and then paying that much for parking is too much. I will not be coming back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Moon Family
Business
Wrightwood
Sep 22, 2009

Great hotel, great staff, great location

We liked the fact that the hotel was located near many places we wanted to visit; just a hop skip and a jump away in a bus or cable car or even just a nice walk to pretty much everywhere. I didn't like that the Contemporary Jewish Museum was closed but it was due to the Jewish holiday. That was bad planning. I also didn't like that most of the restaurants in the area closed early and, therefore, were not open at dinner time. If we just had one or two more days we would have been able to see all that we wanted to without the rush. Unfortunately, we missed a lot. The hotel was great and the staff was wonderful. The only problem we had was the time when we asked for a refrigerator and they brought it up but didn't plug it in... we lost some food because we thought it was plugged in. All in all it was a great vacation. Thank you for helping make it so!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top