San Francisco Marriott Marquis

4 stars
View map of 780 Mission Street, 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
motherlala
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 3, 2009

great location

Sight seeing and great location for shopping. The hotel lobby was noisy though due to some convention at that time. Attendees to the conference were gathered in the lobby and it was hard to get trough to get to the elevator to go up to the room. There should be a place where attendees should gather together instead of the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los gatos, CA
Nov 1, 2009

A good stay in San Francisco

parking was $55/day getting to our room was awkward the maid carts blocked this tinny hall that connected the two main halls that we needed to get to get to our room. $270 night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Westfield-Norstrom shopping center around the corner. Union Square short walk and the cable cars are around the corner too.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HLF
Business
Sarasota, FL
Oct 28, 2009

Great Location and Hotel

Reservation was not right for arrival night. Got double beds, however they moved us to a nice king room next day. Staff very friendly and made you feel welcome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

tons of shopping and dining close by

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Oct 23, 2009

Excellent location, friendly service...

The front desk and concierge were friendly and helpful. I'd say, they were a step above the norm. You can't beat the location! It's convenient that it is so close to the BART. The beds were terrific! Although it is gorgeous, the hotel could've used more character. The View lounge, however, definitely makes up for what the rest lacks. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is close to the best high-end shopping. It's also central for any public transportation. You can get anywhere easily from here.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Moraga, CA
Oct 19, 2009

Great S.F. Getaway

Hotel experience was great. Breakfast arrived on time and location was fantastic! We were there for Nike marathon and Marriott did NOT disappoint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Perbacco was delicious for dinner!!! Especially the pork chop.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
signer won
Business
slc, ut
Oct 5, 2009

great place to stay

Very accommodating. Friendly staff. The room was fabulous and clean. Exactly what you'd expect from a hotel like this. Overall great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ghetto Supastar
Business
California
Oct 5, 2009

Horrible Horrible Horrible

This place is in the heart of the busiest part of San Francisco. The parking was impossible, the staff was overworked and could have cared less about our needs. The windows and the room were dirty and the in room snacks for sale had to be over a year old. Yuck. Unfortunately for us the W was sold out and we had to stay at this dump!! Come on Marriott, get it together because you are going downhill fast!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 29, 2009

good

It was nice. The location was central to everything very nice and easy to walk to any store or restaurant or public transportation. Staff was frendly. Room was nice but it could use some updating but it was clean. We were on the 15th floor and there was some noise from the outside that would go through the older windows. There was a starbucks in the hotel. The only bad part is that it would close really early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 28, 2009

Trip to San Francisco

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a 4-day visit to San Francisco and it couldn't have been any better. The weather was great for walking the downtown area and checking out the insane selection of shopping. A tour of the city was really fun, and even better that it departed from the waterfront as it gave us a chance to check out Ghirardeli Square and the Fisherman's Wharf. The one thing we missed out on was touring Alcatraz as we simply didn't have enough time to do everything we wanted to in 4 days. This was our first trip as a couple and was great fun as a place to really do a ton of things. I wouldn't recommend San Francisco as a trip to relax though as it's really a busy place to be. The hotel was very nice and went over the top to accomodate us as we were able to check in early and were upgraded to a mini-suite as our first room proved to have noisy neighbors and the second room we were switched to turned out to be "under construction." The hotel staff were all fabulous and very helpful in recommending restaurants to visit and nightlife to check out for late fun. Our only disappointment was not being able to check out the 39th floor lounge as it was being rented for a private event the one chance we had to venture up there. Oh well, maybe next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Any store you could possible want to shop at is literally within 4 blocks of this hotel. Great location for shopping, jumping on the cable car to go to the waterfront, etc.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Sep 28, 2009

A nice place to stay in

Very nice, clean and comfortable. The only objection is the large junk-food collection exhibited in the room (Sneakers bars, M&M's etc.) It's a real eye-sore and spoils the feeling (as if sleeping inside a corner-store).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top