$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 17, 2014 Check-out: Oct 18, 2014

San Francisco Marriott Marquis

4 stars
780 Mission Street, 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
281 reviews
Short but Perfect

This was not a planned trip but for the price I got more than I expected. This Marriott is kinda... See full review

  • happyblkpilot
  • Aug 10, 2014
best experience evey in san Francisco

Great location awesome staff overall best experience ever as many times as we've been to san... See full review

  • manuelle
  • Jul 24, 2014
Convenience for business travelers and families in SoMa

The 39-story San Francisco Marriott Marquis caters to two very different customers: business travelers and families. On the business front, the property sits mere blocks from Moscone Convention Center and boasts 117,000 square feet of its own meeting space (more than any other hotel in town). On the family front, guests can opt for kid-friendly turndown service that includes a bedtime book. Mission Grille, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary California cuisine. The hotel also has three full-service lounges.

Highlights
  • Family-friendly packages and promotions
  • Sample contemporary California cuisine at Mission Grille, the on-site restaurant
  • Located mere blocks from Moscone Convention Center
Rooms

Accommodations -- 1,362 rooms and 137 suites -- are designed to feel more like a boutique hotel than a mega high-rise. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen television, granite-countertop bathrooms, spacious work desks and plush bedding. All rooms also feature floor-to-ceiling windows. Lodging on the concierge floor adds amenities such as mini-refrigerators and microwaves as well as daily snack and beverage service. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

The property offers babysitting services (fees apply) as well as complimentary access to cardio and free-weight machines in an on-site fitness center. The hotel also features a modest spa that has an indoor lap pool and administers massages, nail treatments and more (fees apply).

Grab dinner at Mission Grille, the on-site eatery, which serves contemporary California cuisine with produce sourced from local farms. In the lobby, wine bar Bin 55 specializes in local wines and serves them with small plates.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 117,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 59 total meeting rooms

Hotel Map

37.7851 -122.405
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 13.80, MI, NW; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; Norman Y Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Francisco Marriott Marquis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Dining

Bin 55 Restaurant and Wine Bar
Our on-site downtown San Francisco restaurant is the place to see and be seen, serving craft beers and wines by the glass enjoyed over a quick lunch or casual dinner. Located on the Lobby Level, Open 7 days a week from 11am-11pm.
The View Lounge
The iconic View Lounge, our own rooftop restaurant in San Francisco, is the ideal destination for business and leisure guests to enjoy hand crafted cocktails and locally inspired small plates accompanied by the best views the city has to offer.
Mission Grille - Breakfast Buffet
Mission Grille serves breakfast daily offering a San Francisco-inspired buffet complete with an “eggs-to-order station.” Located on the Second Level. Open 7 days a week from 6:30am-10:00am.
Starbucks®
Starbucks® is located on the Lobby Level. Open 7 days a week at 5:30am each morning. Enjoy breakfast sandwiches, fresh pastries and Bistro Boxes for the on-the-go individual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (281)

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
281 out of 281
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hollsiter Ca
Mar 11, 2010

Great Downtown Location

Helpful friendly staff! The location was great. Close to shopping, cable cars, chinatown, pretty much all san francisco sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
CA
Feb 17, 2010

Good location

The room was large but outdated and I hate when you can hear people in other rooms taking showers! Location was great. Be aware of the refreshment center. We didn't touch the thing but was charged. I had to call the front desk but they removed the charge promptly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Feb 15, 2010

Excellent Hotel

It was the first time to California for my wife and children. The hotel and staff were first rate and the proximity to downtown was walking distance. Great location and great hotel, I highly recommend it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is less expensive parking in the garage across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chico, CA
Jan 25, 2010

Killer parking fee hotel

It missed the touch of being a nice Marriott in SF. $55 parking fee for a night, expensive drinks and a very normal rooms. I was very disapointed with the quality for being a Marriott. Very dirty windows so you can hardley see the city lights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cerritos, CA
Jan 25, 2010

Great rate and nice hotel

This was a nice place to stay for our 3 day stay in SF. Its location is great, right in the heart of downtown. A few blocks away from many shops and restaurants. Its also very convenient if you are planning to take the BART because it drops you off about a half block from the hotel. The view we had from our room was wonderful because it overlooked the downtown strip. The front desk staff was nice and helpful. The only real complaint that we had about the hotel was the housekeeping. As soon as we came back we expected a tidied up room but all we got were new towels and a made bed. Nothing else was done. This was a bit disappointing. I highly recommend this hotel, although we were not able to use many of its amenities due to our busy sightseeing schedule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If this is your first time in SF, try to go with public transportation. I think parking overnight is $40+/night. Multiple day muni passes help a lot as long as you get yourself familiarized with the routes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kickstand
Northern Cal
Jan 25, 2010

CDS

$56.00 to park is way out of line for hotel guests!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
virginia
Jan 21, 2010

san francisco

This trip worked out to be a goodone with the flight hotel and car reservations all inclusive and there were no hidden costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jan 11, 2010

Quiet and Professional

This place was great right from check in. I got a huge corner single king bedroom, that was made perfectly clean and put in order everyday by the cleaning staff. The hotel seemed pretty quiet when I was here, but it wasn't a busy travel season here so I wasn't expecting it to be jam packed. The pool/hot tub area was really nice, with plenty of extra towels, and very clean and comfortable. The bar on the 39th floor does have some amazing views, and the corner bar down on the street also had a decent vibe to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Jan 10, 2010

Beautiful hotel in GREAT location

I would definitely stay at this hotel again! Great location, able to walk to many destinations in the city and the BART and MUNI were very just around the corner for the places we couldn't walk to. Beautiful view of the city on the 39th floor View Restaurant where one can get appetizers and drinks. I decided not to drive to San Francisco as parking is difficult and very expensive. Paying a parking fee of $55 for this hotel was out of the question for us but it turned out we didn't need a car while staying here. We even walked to AT&T Park but we could have taken muni and been dropped off in front of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mels Diner on opposite corner to hotel has great breakfast in fun atmosphere. They are also open late for dessert. You have to try their berry pie a la mode!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 6, 2010

The good, the bad, but mostly good!

Found the Marriott online, and selected the hotel based on the reviews. I was not disappointed. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location of the hotel was excellent. It was within walking distance of many stores and restaurants. Also very close to the cable cars, which we used to go to the Wharf. The only downside is the price for parking, but that it is pretty much the same in all of San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If staying at the Marriott and planning on visiting Alcatraz, take one of the cabs waiting right outside of the hotel. It is much more convenient and cheaper than driving yourself there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search