$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 14, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

San Francisco Marriott Marquis

4 stars
780 Mission Street, 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
282 reviews
Short but Perfect

This was not a planned trip but for the price I got more than I expected. This Marriott is kinda... See full review

  • happyblkpilot
  • Aug 10, 2014
best experience evey in san Francisco

Great location awesome staff overall best experience ever as many times as we've been to san... See full review

  • manuelle
  • Jul 24, 2014
Convenience for business travelers and families in SoMa

The 39-story San Francisco Marriott Marquis caters to two very different customers: business travelers and families. On the business front, the property sits mere blocks from Moscone Convention Center and boasts 117,000 square feet of its own meeting space (more than any other hotel in town). On the family front, guests can opt for kid-friendly turndown service that includes a bedtime book. Mission Grille, the on-site restaurant, serves contemporary California cuisine. The hotel also has three full-service lounges.

Highlights
  • Family-friendly packages and promotions
  • Sample contemporary California cuisine at Mission Grille, the on-site restaurant
  • Located mere blocks from Moscone Convention Center
Rooms

Accommodations -- 1,362 rooms and 137 suites -- are designed to feel more like a boutique hotel than a mega high-rise. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen television, granite-countertop bathrooms, spacious work desks and plush bedding. All rooms also feature floor-to-ceiling windows. Lodging on the concierge floor adds amenities such as mini-refrigerators and microwaves as well as daily snack and beverage service. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

The property offers babysitting services (fees apply) as well as complimentary access to cardio and free-weight machines in an on-site fitness center. The hotel also features a modest spa that has an indoor lap pool and administers massages, nail treatments and more (fees apply).

Grab dinner at Mission Grille, the on-site eatery, which serves contemporary California cuisine with produce sourced from local farms. In the lobby, wine bar Bin 55 specializes in local wines and serves them with small plates.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable cars (1 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
  • BART (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Chinatown
  • Financial District
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 117,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 59 total meeting rooms

Hotel Map

37.7851 -122.405
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 13.80, MI, NW; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; Norman Y Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Francisco Marriott Marquis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Dining

Bin 55 Restaurant and Wine Bar
Our on-site downtown San Francisco restaurant is the place to see and be seen, serving craft beers and wines by the glass enjoyed over a quick lunch or casual dinner. Located on the Lobby Level, Open 7 days a week from 11am-11pm.
The View Lounge
The iconic View Lounge, our own rooftop restaurant in San Francisco, is the ideal destination for business and leisure guests to enjoy hand crafted cocktails and locally inspired small plates accompanied by the best views the city has to offer.
Mission Grille - Breakfast Buffet
Mission Grille serves breakfast daily offering a San Francisco-inspired buffet complete with an “eggs-to-order station.” Located on the Second Level. Open 7 days a week from 6:30am-10:00am.
Starbucks®
Starbucks® is located on the Lobby Level. Open 7 days a week at 5:30am each morning. Enjoy breakfast sandwiches, fresh pastries and Bistro Boxes for the on-the-go individual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CP117
Business
SB, CA
May 3, 2010

Big clean factory

Get rid of $5 candy bars and other junk in the electronic tray. The hotel is well run and clean and efficient but they nickel and dime you (or try) at every turn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

the Chalet on the beach in Golden Park on a sunny day

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Geir
Business
Norway.
Apr 26, 2010

Trip to San Fran

I went for a job interview to San Fran. Everything went smooth, from check-in to check-out. I had a room with a great view of SF. Excellent concierge service. I needed to rent a suite since the airliner lost my suitcase, the concierge were most helpful. I wish Starbucks had longer opening hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location for shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vallejo, CA
Apr 25, 2010

Perfectly close to everything

Our entire stay was very comfortable and enjoyable. The location of the hotel is perfect. We walked to Union Square, Powell St. Cable Car line, Bloomingdales, etc. From start to finish, Front Desk staff to Restaurant to Valet...everyone had a smile on their face and incredibly friendly. My only suggestion would be to have mini fridges available for guests...not the ones that you get charged when you take drinks out of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
andyland
Business
chicago, il
Apr 23, 2010

marriot marquee

This was my first time traveling the West coast Bay Area, but to be quite frank, i didnt want to leave the hotel because of what great atomosphere i had and was provided to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

annabelles across the street on fourth, good drinks and good time great wait staff

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
clarks grove mn
Apr 23, 2010

April trip

Everything was perfect with the hotel and the service except for the super shuttle experience. They were rude and not very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambria, CA
Apr 12, 2010

Hotel not up to snuff

Room was OK - furniture scratched. Noisy pipes all night, TV checkout system did not work, windows VERY dirty. $60 for one night parking (on top of a $300 room)????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Covina, CA
Apr 6, 2010

Centrally located, Fun filled!

Went on a weekend getaway with the girlfriend, and weekend couldn't of been better! The hotel was very centrally located and staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 4, 2010

Great hotel - expensive parking

Parking is very expensive. The hotel only has valet parking for $60 a day. Public parking is available 2 blocks away for $32 a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quick Getawary
Business
Pacific Grove, CA
Apr 4, 2010

Great choice for downtown SF!

This was a quick trip for us, but this hotel made our stay very nice. The room was nice, the staff friendly and accommodating. Watch out for the snacks, they automatically bill you if you pick up a pack of M&M's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great if you want to be downtown near Market Street or Moscone Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Mar 31, 2010

Disturbed

This was the worst trip in a luxury hotel I have ever had. We checked in on Friday and when we woke up early Saturday, my husband and I noticed a fedora and CD ROM disc in our room. The disc was on top of my jacket that I wore the night before. I called for management and they said they would send up security. I waited and waited. I heard someone outside my door and found a gentleman getting an electrical reading from my key swipe.Noone else came up. I called down again and [...] (identified as security manager) said that our key swipe only showed me and my husband. I asked,"what about these items?". She wanted ME to bring them down to her. When I told her I wasn't, she sent someone to pick them up.End of story. We spend out second night at another hotel.ALSO... the price quoted does not include parking, which is an additional $55.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top