$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 29, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

San Francisco Central Travelodge

2 stars
1707 Market St., Market St. & Valencia, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
69 reviews
Meets basic needs in a great location

The hotel is a convenient walk to the coolest bars and restaurants and is also a straight shot to... See full review

  • simple traveler2
  • Nov 12, 2014
Weekend Vacation

Convenient to airport and right off the 101 freeway. It was comforting to find how easy it was to... See full review

  • KatTHEcat
  • Oct 8, 2014
Located in the heart of San Francisco, on Market Street, midway between downtown and the colorful Castro District, our hotel is the perfect place for travelers to stay when visiting San Francisco. We're just 4 blocks from the Civic Center/City Hall area, within walking distance of Union Square, the Moscone Convention Center, the Castro District, and our immediate location is literally surrounded by fascinating shops, restaurants, clubs and attractions. All our rooms feature in-room microwave and fridge, in-room coffee, safe and hairdryer, telephone data port, and cable television with HBO/CNN/ESPN. Guests also enjoy a free continental breakfast and weekday USA Today newspaper in the lobby, along with quick and easy access to a variety of dining establishments. And don't forget to enjoy the fun at Martuni's Lounge and piano bar, a popular destination located directly across the street! Guests are raving about our Deluxe rooms, which are newly and completely remolded in a bold, modern style with added conveniences. Our fabulous new suite is especially popular, with its separate bedroom, living area, and kitchenette, with a large window view of Market Street. And we don't forget the kids--our special Sleepy Bear's Den is specially designed with young children in mind, to help them feel more at home while away from home. Hotel has a 15 dollars (+ tax) parking fee per night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Francisco Central Travelodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

San Francisco Central Travelodge Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Two Double-bed room, non-smoking. Free high speed internet access, In-room Microwave and Fridge, In-room coffee maker, in-room safe, in-room hairdryer, remote control TV with free HBO/CNN/ESPN, dataport phones. Newly renovated rooms with fresh, modern appearance. Free continental breakfast included.
Standard Room
Standard Two Double-bed room, smoking. Free high peed internet access, In room Microwave & Fridge, In-room coffee maker, in-room safe, in-room hairdryer, remote control TV with free HBO/CNN/ESPN, dataport phones. Free continental breakfast included.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Two Double-beds room, smoking. Free high speed internet access, In-room Microwave & Fridge, In-room coffee maker, in-room safe, in-room hairdryer, remote control TV with free HBO/CNN/ESPN, dataport phones. Newly renovated rooms with fresh, modern appearance. Free continental breakfast included.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Two Double-bed room, non-smoking. Free high speed internet access, In-romm Microwave & Fridge, In-room coffee maker, in-room safe, in-room hairdryer, remote control TV with free HBO/CNN/ESPN, dataport phones. Free continental breakfast included.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 0.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 0.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.7 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Twin Peaks: 1.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 2.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 2.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2.3 mi
  • Morrison Planetarium: 2.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.5 mi
  • Asian Art Museum of San Francisco: 2.5 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 2.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Central Travelodge

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
2.6
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
8663 coast2coast travel
Business
boca raton
Jan 14, 2015

This is a horrible place to stay

The room were dirty. The maids are rude I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
8663 coast2coast travel
Business
boca raton
Dec 31, 2014

Great weekend vacation

This place is a awesome hotel if you are looking for some fun. If you are not this is not the place I would recommend to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location to the Castro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katherine K.
Business
Menlo Park
Dec 31, 2014

my stay

it was just ok, it was a good location but not the cleanest. The room was ok but it was noisy in the surrounding rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
simple traveler2
Business
NYC
Nov 12, 2014

Meets basic needs in a great location

The hotel is a convenient walk to the coolest bars and restaurants and is also a straight shot to the touristy downtown. The room is clean, smells a bit strongly of motel perfume, but otherwise fine. I got a great room that was quiet, but some rooms might not be so lucky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wallstwest
Business
San Diego, California
Nov 12, 2014

Too Much Noise

Wake up every morning to the sound of bottles and cans being thrown out of the dumpsters by homeless people - Each night was something different: other guests screaming at each other in the parking lot, the end of a birthday party with loud drunk people in the parking lot, fighting and arguments in the parking lot - There did not appear to be anyone patrolling the parking lot or grounds - Multiple phone calls to the front desk before any action is taken, then problem continues since there is no follow up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatTHEcat
Business
Lakewood, California
Oct 8, 2014

Weekend Vacation

Convenient to airport and right off the 101 freeway. It was comforting to find how easy it was to check in and get our room especially after a long day at work followed by a plane ride that landed at 10pm and getting lost finding the car rental center. Staff was very nice and even helped us find our phone charger that we had left in the room after check-out. It was already a couple hours after we left that we realized we forgot our charger and the receptionist AND room maids were more than willing to help in any way they could. Room layout was a bit weird because there was a couch and recliner in the room. It didn't seem necessary but the thought is there. Hotel wasn't state of the art but I felt safe and clean during my stay. I will definitely come back again just because of the friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Breakfast/brunch at the Cable Car Cafe. Delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent Business Flyer
Business
San Jose, California
Sep 11, 2014

At least the AC worked

This hotel is below average. The room had beds. The shower had hot water. I managed to sleep for a few hours. If you're stuck in San Francisco, and there are no other hotels available, it is a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Darrow
Business
Sacramento
Sep 11, 2014

Bait and switch

I paid for a "Deluxe room with a King sized bed." I received a tiny corner room with a Full sized bed. The hotel manager first insisted that the room had a Queen sized bed and then told me that if I wanted a different room, I'd need to make my request earlier in the morning. I was only staying a single night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vegetarianne
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 11, 2014

Flop house masquerading as a motel

We did not stay. We booked a non-smoking queen with free parking and were offered a smoking room that reeked of both cigarettes and pot. There was a used ash tray by the bed. We barely walked in, but did note that my feet stuck a little to the carpeted floor. Also, the clerk attempted to charge us $15 to park, and became belligerent when we said we booked a non-smoking room two weeks ago. He said it was his last room and he can resell that room for $100 all night, so if we didn't like it, we could leave. We ended up driving home 125 miles away at 11:30 p.m., then I drove back to SF the next morning at 5 a.m. One a good note, we called O the next day and they promptly gave us a full refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moozie...
Business
West Sacramento, CA
Sep 6, 2014

Besides the Cockroach...

It is your basic cheap, old, run-down, ragged, and badly managed/owned motel, but what a great location... until the cockroach showed up on the night stand the next morning which begs the question... where was he/they during the night?? YUK!! Wyn dam brand should be ashamed to be connected to this chain of horrible places. The OR of the Bitz, should be ashamed to advertise/sell it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top