$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 19, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

San Francisco Central Travelodge

2 stars
View map of 1707 Market St., Market St. & Valencia, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
81 reviews
friendly staff

Hard to find an affordable hotel in San Francisco. Updated motel and near metro ....also breakfast... See full review

  • Joe
  • Apr 6, 2015
Meets basic needs in a great location

The hotel is a convenient walk to the coolest bars and restaurants and is also a straight shot to... See full review

  • simple traveler2
  • Nov 12, 2014
Located in the heart of San Francisco, on Market Street, midway between downtown and the colorful Castro District, our hotel is the perfect place for travelers to stay when visiting San Francisco. We're just 4 blocks from the Civic Center/City Hall area, within walking distance of Union Square, the Moscone Convention Center, the Castro District, and our immediate location is literally surrounded by fascinating shops, restaurants, clubs and attractions. All our rooms feature in-room microwave and fridge, in-room coffee, safe and hairdryer, telephone data port, and cable television with HBO/CNN/ESPN. Guests also enjoy a free continental breakfast and weekday USA Today newspaper in the lobby, along with quick and easy access to a variety of dining establishments. And don't forget to enjoy the fun at Martuni's Lounge and piano bar, a popular destination located directly across the street! Guests are raving about our Deluxe rooms, which are newly and completely remolded in a bold, modern style with added conveniences. Our fabulous new suite is especially popular, with its separate bedroom, living area, and kitchenette, with a large window view of Market Street. And we don't forget the kids--our special Sleepy Bear's Den is specially designed with young children in mind, to help them feel more at home while away from home. Hotel has a 15 dollars (+ tax) parking fee per night.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Francisco Central Travelodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

San Francisco Central Travelodge Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Two Double-bed room, non-smoking. Free high speed internet access, In-room Microwave and Fridge, In-room coffee maker, in-room safe, in-room hairdryer, remote control TV with free HBO/CNN/ESPN, dataport phones. Newly renovated rooms with fresh, modern appearance. Free continental breakfast included.
Standard Room
Standard Two Double-bed room, smoking. Free high peed internet access, In room Microwave & Fridge, In-room coffee maker, in-room safe, in-room hairdryer, remote control TV with free HBO/CNN/ESPN, dataport phones. Free continental breakfast included.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Two Double-beds room, smoking. Free high speed internet access, In-room Microwave & Fridge, In-room coffee maker, in-room safe, in-room hairdryer, remote control TV with free HBO/CNN/ESPN, dataport phones. Newly renovated rooms with fresh, modern appearance. Free continental breakfast included.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Two Double-bed room, non-smoking. Free high speed internet access, In-romm Microwave & Fridge, In-room coffee maker, in-room safe, in-room hairdryer, remote control TV with free HBO/CNN/ESPN, dataport phones. Free continental breakfast included.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 0.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 0.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Union Square: 1.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.4 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1.5 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.7 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Twin Peaks: 1.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 2 mi
  • Ferry Building: 2.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 2.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2.3 mi
  • Morrison Planetarium: 2.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.5 mi
  • Asian Art Museum of San Francisco: 2.5 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 2.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Central Travelodge

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2.6
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.8

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pedro M.
Business
San german
Apr 28, 2015

The worst hotel i ever see, not secure.

Was a bad experience, the worst hotel i ever see, unsecure area, dont go there. Bandits try to open our room, break a window, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roxana Kaiman
Business
Thousand Oaks
Apr 15, 2015

Disgusting hotel

I was very disgusted by the hotel. I can't believe that people actually stay at this hotel. I took my two children with me and I was horrified by the location and how dirty the hotel was. The hotel was located at a popular homeless hang out, we asked for a non smoking room and even though the room had a sign of non smoking the room smelled of cigarettes and marijuana. It was a very scary experience not only for the kind of people that stay there but also for two straight nights the hotel guests were loud, were smoking marijuana on the hallway and were also drinking alcohol. This is not a kid friendly hotel at all. Very disappointed and angry that I had to pay for a place that i did not feel safe at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe
Business
Sacramento
Apr 6, 2015

friendly staff

Hard to find an affordable hotel in San Francisco. Updated motel and near metro ....also breakfast included. Not fancy but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark R.
Business
N/A
Mar 24, 2015

Good location bad internet

Room was clean and well taken care of and the location is good if you're visiting the city. Don't stay hear if you need to use the internet. The internet was either completely unusable or on occasion barely usable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Katherine G.
Business
N/A
Mar 14, 2015

Awful

do not stay here! very scary location, unsafe (especially for women traveling alone). Location is really bad. Fight broke out at 2am, called security, they never came.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brad F.
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

SF Travelodge

I stayed at this hotel in the mid-90's and it was great! Well, this time was a big surprise! As soon as we pulled up, we noticed unsavory characters and it just felt unsafe. But we had no choice as it was during the World Series and there wasn't much available. Horrible night! Stay away if you have families!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
8663 coast2coast travel
Business
boca raton
Jan 14, 2015

This is a horrible place to stay

The room were dirty. The maids are rude I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
8663 coast2coast travel
Business
boca raton
Dec 31, 2014

Great weekend vacation

This place is a awesome hotel if you are looking for some fun. If you are not this is not the place I would recommend to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location to the Castro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katherine K.
Business
Menlo Park
Dec 31, 2014

my stay

it was just ok, it was a good location but not the cleanest. The room was ok but it was noisy in the surrounding rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Central Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
simple traveler2
Business
NYC
Nov 12, 2014

Meets basic needs in a great location

The hotel is a convenient walk to the coolest bars and restaurants and is also a straight shot to the touristy downtown. The room is clean, smells a bit strongly of motel perfume, but otherwise fine. I got a great room that was quiet, but some rooms might not be so lucky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top