$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Rodeway Inn Downtown

1 star
101 9th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
21 reviews
Nice Motel

When checking into the motel, the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was a lot bigger than I... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 9, 2010
excellent location!

friendly staff. convenient location within walking distance to BART and union square. it may appear... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 27, 2010
Rodeway Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Francisco with on-site parking available for 12.00 USD plus tax per night. Walking distance to Moscone Center and Bill Graham Civic Auditorium. Close to popular attractions, including 3M Park, the Cable Cars, the Museum of Modern Art, Ghiradelli square, Chinatown, Union Square, Furniture Mart, Market st, Golden Gate bridge and Fisherman's Warf. There are a wide variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges in the area. Guests of this San Francisco hotel will enjoy many amenities, including free wireless high speed Internet in all rooms. Parking fee: 13.15 USD plus tax per night.As of February 1, 2014, we will be a Smoke-Free hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Union Square: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • SoMa: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Union Square: 0.9 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.3 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 2.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 2.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 2.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Downtown

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
2.8
Value:
3.5

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oscar O.
Business
Burbank, CA.
Nov 19, 2014

San Francisco!

It was good for the price, nothing fancy... but everything we needed as close. Would definitely book again, no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Euroneal
Business
SOMA
Sep 29, 2014

Improved rooms

The area cannot really be said to be nice or family friendly. The rooms have been redone and staff is nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wagato
Business
Chicago,USA
May 19, 2013

Very bad. Avoid this at all cost.

This is probably the worst hotel in all of San Francisco. Most disrespectful staff I have come across. Rooms very very dirty with flies and rotten food inside. The next day some one had vomited all over the hallway. Lots of homeless people, drug addicted and other weird characters around the hotel. Not very safe at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
david2kawika
Business
seattle, wa
Apr 25, 2013

noisy smoke

the inn is not smoke free, i got a smoking room(not requested) had to spray colonge on pillow first nite, requested all bedding including pillows be changed. they were for what it is worth. location very noisy. most nearby eateries close by 8 pm. front desk and it was just that a front desk/counter was friendly though the poor guy was the only person in the 5 days i was there. will not be using this property again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Glitter Dolls
Business
East Bay
Mar 4, 2013

It's not to bad

Booked the room to go to a concert , it's walking distance. Streets near there do smell , welcome to San Fran. Old School smoking room made me happy for my psychedelic adventures. Guy who works the desk is awesome, super friendly, and made the entire experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
David Schepardini
Business
CT
Oct 22, 2012

Good for in and out and nothing else

I recently went here with a friend because we were in town to see a 49ers game over the weekend and it was the cheapest hotel we could find that was near a bus stop to the stadium. If your trip fits these or similar requirements then this is a good place to book. If not, then stay FAR away. The location is horrible. I saw more homeless people and degenerates in my 48 hours here than I've seen in my whole life in one location. Also, I hope you like Chinese food because that's basically the extent to what is around to eat, with the exception of one decent mexican place. There is a liquor store right across from the hotel, which is a nice perk (and given how awful the Niners did at the game it was a necessity.) If you're a light sleeper you better bring some earplugs because it's right on the road and cars and people arguing will fill your night. The hotel room was nothing special either. I would give it a completely passing grade if not for the cigarette butt I saw caked into the floor. Other than that it was fine. Bottom line is that this is a bottom market lodging. This is the type of place you go to when you're in on business or just need a place to stay at night, as prices in San Francisco are high to put it lightly. This is DEFINITELY NOT a place to bring a family. For my friend and I it served our needs: A cheap place to sleep. If that's what you need, I can safely recommend it. If you want a place that shows off what San Francisco has to offer or is good for the kids, look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jessika rabbitt
Business
san francisco california
Sep 10, 2012

staff

when we checked out the staff was rude and tried to keep our deposit saying we switched the iron which we didnt they should check the rooms thoroughly all the time!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

pizza zone and grill......best pizza ever and very good hours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unhappy CA travel
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 29, 2012

needs improvement

The location was convenient to where I needed to go, however, the towels were dirty (eg big black stains and things stuck on the towels), the room reaked of smoke and they had no non-smoking option, the bottom of the bathtub was pitch black filthy. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful but the condition of the place and the overall filthiness is unfortunate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
f0777
Business
las vegas, nevada
Jun 3, 2012

good enough, but sketchy.

the neighborhood was sketchy. It smelled like urine while walking along the sidewalks. There were homeless people everywhere and there were some that were very animated. The location is close to the muni and bart and to lots of resturaunts. It was hard for my gf to sleep because of the constant noise of people yelling, cars, motorcycles, and buses or other commercial cars. I on the other hand can sleep through anything so I had little problem. The room was clean but a bit crowded. literally a foot and a half (maybe less) of space between the foot of the bed and the dresser in front of it. I put the do not disturb sign up, but was still disturbed. The location being next to public transportation and the cleanliness of the room made it good enough to sleep in, but the neighborhood made it sketchy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Silver Sue
Business
Calgary, AB
May 6, 2012

You get what you pay for!

It is what you pay for. The location in general is very good for getting around to everything, we were able to get to every comunity very easily and only 15 minutes from the airport. the community however is a bit schetchy at night. Don't leave anything visable in your car! It apears that people use the parking lot during the day like a park and ride for transit since parking in the city is EXTREMELY hard to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Look at getting a tranist pass (by the day, 3 days or 7 days) unlimited use for buses, trains, Barts and cable cars. the one day is only $14 for an adult where as the cable car is $6 per adult one way. Parking is on average $3 per hour. (if you can find a spot) and the meters along the street is $2 per hour )even harder to find)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top