$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Powell Hotel

3 stars
28 Cyril Magnin Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
60 reviews
Conveniently Located

Surprised with the central location to the shopping and cable cars. Only complaint was the shower... See full review

  • Nataleeatalee
  • Aug 7, 2014
A Relaxing Family Vacation

This is a classic hotel. It has charms of old San Francisco while being up to date with its... See full review

  • BeBob
  • Aug 17, 2013
Welcome to The Powell Hotel, a 1908 San Francisco boutique classic updated for the 21st Century, located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, next to the cable car turnaround, two blocks from Union Square, and just three blocks from Moscone Convention Center. Step into our lobby and you'll be transported to a more gracious era in San Francisco hospitality - from ornate 20 foot ceilings, marble floors, and majestic wrought iron railings, you will feel as though you have stepped back in time. Be sure to stop by our charming Powell Cafe, which serves breakfast and lunch items which you can enjoy in our mezzanine lounge overlooking the lobby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Powell Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Powell Hotel Rooms

Queen Junior Suite
Junior suite-BDRM 1QN-Parlor RM w-pullout sofa Free WiFi-HBO-Coffemaker-hairdryer-iron
Deluxe Queen Queen
DLX RM 2 QN beds-Free WiFi-flat screen TV-iron High ceilings-luxurious bedding-coffeemaker
Deluxe Double
DLX RM 1 DBL bed-Free WiFi-Flat screen TV-Iron Coffeemkr-Hairdryer-alarm clock-bath amenities
Deluxe Double Double
DLX RM 2 DBL beds-Free WiFi-flat screen TV-iron High ceilings-luxurious bedding-coffeemaker
Deluxe King
DLX RM 1 KNG bed-Free WiFi-flat screen TV-iron High ceilings-luxurious bedding-coffeemaker
Deluxe Two Twin
Deluxe RM-2TWN beds-Free WiFi-Flat screen TV Luxurious bedding-hairdryer-coffeemaker-iron
Queen Queen Suite
Junior 2 Queens suite with parlor room-pull out sofabed-free wifi-flat screen TV-HBO
Deluxe Queen
DLX RM 1 QN beds-Free WiFi-flat screen TV-iron High ceilings-luxurious bedding-coffeemaker
King Junior Suite
Junior suite-1KNG bed-sitting room w-pull out sofabed-Free WiFi-HBO-coffeemaker-hairdryer

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Vending machines
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Powell Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Powell Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olwyn
Business
Orlando, FL
Nov 3, 2011

Visiting Solo

Due to my friends ilness I was alone for this trip to San Francisco but The Powell Hotel made my visit easy. I was able to check in early and the room though small was perfectly adequte with modern bathroom fittings. It's an older hotel and hallways were dated. Staff were friendly and very helpful, especially John at the front desk. The location is fabulous and the coffee and pastries breakfast along with the happy hour on the mezzanine floor gave me oppertunity to meet and chat with other guests. It's not a 5 star hotel but it is excellent value and a great launching pad for your San Francisco visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All public transport right at the corner. Short walk to Union Square for tour busses. Lots of restaurants close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Powell Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G.T.
Business
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Oct 23, 2011

The Powell, SF

I had a difficult time finding a good value to stay in SF near Union Square and scoured all the web pages looking for a place with relatively good reviews. I had not stayed here before and my first several choices were all sold out. I wanted to find reasonable parking too although the parking here was no bargain. I was looking for an inclusive parking package to no avail. The Powell was however very decent, clean, comfortable and quiet. The street was not sketchy as is the case in some locations. It was directly in front of the cable car terminal and round table at the base of Powell and across the street from the higher priced Parc 55 Hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly and the rooms were very comfortable and contemporary. I would recommend this hotel and return myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Powell Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ninabina
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Power Stay at Powell Hotel

The Powell Hotel is in one of the older San Francisco buildings and is located in the heart of "downtown." For those reasons, it is a comfortable stay but not outstanding in modern amenities or decor. (The elevator is slow, but the Internet is fast. The plumbing is old, but the television fare is up to date.) The Powell is also convenient to everything and everywhere. Just outside its doors is a cable car turnaround. Stops for city buses, streetcars, and rapid transit are just yards away on Market Street. And Union Square, the start of several tour buses, is only a couple blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dine out in Chinatown. You can get good eats for any meal at a good price there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Powell Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lkato
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Easy and in a great location

This hotel is right next to the cable car line, which makes it rather convenient! only issue is they will not call a cab for you, however there are many on market which is just down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

from everything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Powell Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NBoyer
Business
Cambridge, Massachusetts, États-Unis
Sep 25, 2011

Nothing special to say!

We went there for 3 nights, in a renovated room (well, renovated, but 20 years ago...). The room was cold and noisy. The staff is not especially friendly or helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Powell Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
All Friends
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 17, 2011

Giants Game Getaway

Location was perfect. Right downtown and within walking distance from AT&T Stadium. Hotel was very nice and not cramped. This was much nicer than other places I have stayed in San Francisco. I will definitely think of this hotel for future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Powell Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Simonator
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Mar 3, 2011

"Convenient But Lacking"

The location was great, but the rooms could use a little boost. The bathroom especially. It was clean, but the tile and shower floors needed re-doing. My biggest complaint was the total lack of performance by their so-called "wireless internet". If I was able to connect at all, it was very slow, like dial-up. The overall look of the lobby and the hallways themselves were very nice, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was very close to Union Square, so there was an incredible choice of eating places, all very good. We especially liked Lori's Diner, a 50's-decor restaurant with great food and atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Powell Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico
Jan 6, 2011

A great place to enjoy SF...

The Powell is right in the middle of the city. Very easy location to go anywhere. The staff is great!!! I'm sure I'll stay there on my next visit to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All kind of options to have a meal around the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Powell Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
QW
Business
Hattiesburg, MS
Jan 1, 2011

the heater roaring & no air conditioner

The heater in the room was roaring all the night. I can not sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Powell Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deltaesq
Business
San Pedro, California
Dec 28, 2010

Rooms too small

I was there for an Oakland Raiders game. The lobby was beautiful but the rooms were really small. If I wanted to bring my family we could not comfortably fit into that room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top