$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Petite Auberge

3 stars
View map of 863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Petite Auberge

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mister B 5700
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 4, 2012

Quaint 'B and B'

A pleasant older hotel, clean, quiet and generally comfortable. Lovely hot breakfast, afternoon wine anc cheese and evening cookies. However our first night, a Tuesday we had to call staff at the hotel next door as they were out of wine at 6:00 PM althought wine and cheese is said to be served until 6:30 PM, this a the need to check in at the hotel several doors down while understandable were somewhat inconvient. Overall very good stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
kansas city
May 27, 2011

Cute cute cute

Very small cute and quaint. Free breakfast and wine and cheese every evening. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ft. Myers, Fl
May 25, 2011

Great Value

Darling hotel with accomodating staff, wonderful breakfast, good location. Our room overlooked a beautiful courtyard, a wonderful surprise in the city, and a warming fireplace for the cool evenings. Just delightful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1 block from the Powell St. cable car which took us right to Fisherman's Whart.

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun yet frugal
Couples
Roanoke VA
Mar 22, 2011

Great and convenient

The personnel are very friendly and efficient, the location is convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a car, plenty to do within walking distance and cheap cab rides. Parking is too hard and too expensive to bother with driving.

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elvy
Single
North of NYC
Dec 7, 2010

Charming and friendly

As a single woman visiting her adult daughter in SF, Petite Auberge was perfect. It is very reminiscent of a good country bed & breakfast with excellent home cooked breakfasts in the morning, Hors d'œuvre in the evening, fresh baked cookies all afternoon and evening and coffee, tea, etc all day long. The whole atmosphere is comfortable and relaxed. Guests converse with each other and respect privacy as well. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the linens were delightfully fresh and crisp. The shower was strong and had plenty of hot water. The room was cleaned and restocked daily. My only complaint was that the front desk was not manned. One had to go next door to the sister Inn to find a person. However, if I called the front desk I got immediate service. I felt safe in the neighborhood and the front door was locked at all times. All guests had keys to the front door. I am not a frequent traveler so I can't compare this hotel with too many others, except to say that the whole atmosphere was delightful and I would be happy to return there on my next visit. If you are looking for "posh" this is not it, if you are looking for charm and comfort, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I suggest that if this is your first visit to SF, you take one of the half day bus tours at the start of your trip. I was picked up and dropped off at my little hotel and got to see all the important sights. Then I could choose which sights I would like to explore further on my own, like Golden Gate Park and its many attractions.

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Nov 17, 2010

Bring Your Earplugs!

This hotel is not the value it first appears. You know you are in trouble when the room you move into has a white noise machine and advice that ear plugs are available from the front desk. I am used to so-called urban noise, but having the neighborhood's trash pick-up alley outside my window (with daily pick-up at 5:30 am) was more than I bargained for. On warm nights, you must leave the windows open or suffocate, since there is no fan (one does not expect A/C in San Francisco or in this age of hotel.) And the front desk was never staffed anyway, though you can leave voicemail. Check-in therefore requires you to ascend quite a few steps at a building down the street with luggage, then lug everything back down, walk up two doors, ascend another dozen or so steps, and key yourself into the building. Hardly welcoming. Rooms are quite tiny, though less so by European standards. The real problem is lack of space (16") for hang-up clothes. And, you will find poor work space: a credenza has a top-drawer than folds down to form a sort-of-a desktop and there is a rickety cane-back chair with loose spindles to sit on. It MIGHT be enough for one; two travelers are out of the question, especially since the bed is packed into the corner. Wi Fi was adequate. So was breakfast, though the variety was inconsistent. Everything was clean, though to call this a recent renovation is a stretch. There is no space in the bathroom for toiletries. Hot water is plentiful and fairly soft. The door locks require careful training and practice. I travel six to eight times a year and have been to San Francisco numerous times. I'll stay elsewhere next time, to be sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Madison, WI
Oct 19, 2010

Like Home

Loved the gourmet breakfast, happy hour, and fireplace in the room. A little noisy, especially in the early morning from other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Binghamton, NY
Oct 13, 2010

A memorable place to which I will return

This is a storybook place centrally located. If you never go to France, this is the best "second-best" French experience. Fabulous breakfast, quaint atmosphere, lovely rooms, fun cocktail hour. There is no other place to stay in San Francisco for me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Postrio - Post St.

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Belfast
Oct 9, 2010

Lovely hotel, full of character.

This is a lovely little hotel, with bag loads of charm. The breakfast is delicious, the staff wonderful, the free drinks and nibbles in the evening a lovely treat and the location superb. It is looking a little frayed round the edges and could do with a bit of a spruce up but it's a fantastic hotel full of personality. Love the teddy in the room - he was sitting in a different place every day! Would definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Belfast
Oct 9, 2010

Lovely hotel, full of character.

This is a lovely little hotel, with bag loads of charm. The breakfast is delicious, the staff wonderful, the free drinks and nibbles in the evening a lovely treat and the location superb. It is looking a little frayed round the edges and could do with a bit of a spruce up but it's a fantastic hotel full of personality. Love the teddy in the room - he was sitting in a different place every day! Would definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. DS
Couples
Dallas, TX
Oct 5, 2010

Good and Bad

The location was ok but you had to walk up a big hill to get to it. The area has some bars and despite having a room towards the back, was very noisy into the wee hours of the morning. It was very nice having comp water, soft drinks, tea and coffee all day, and cookies in the lobby. The morning breakfast and evening wine reception help to cut down on expenses somewhat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top