$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Petite Auberge

3 stars
863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
44 reviews
Charming Boutique Hotel

We loved the Petite Auberge for the third time! The best feature is the little parlor downstairs... See full review

  • Mountain couple
  • Dec 21, 2013
Nice, but pricy

Nice hotel, friendly staff, clean rooms and lots of charm. It is pricy, but that is San Fran. Close... See full review

  • OC Biz Traveler
  • Nov 9, 2013
Experience a touch of France in downtown San Francisco
Petite Auberge is a charming little accommodation in an exciting district of San Francisco, and it offers a comfortable and intimate environment for guests from the moment they walk through its beveled glass French doors to the time they check out. Intricate French art decor, a cozy parlor and a hearty and crackling fireplace set an inviting European ambiance. Afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres make Petite Auberge guests feel at home, and a home-cooked gourmet breakfast prepared and served daily is reminiscent of French hospitality.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Close to San Francisco and its fine dining
  • Intimate and cozy accommodation with comfortable amenities and personalized service
  • Easily connects to public transportation
Petite Auberge Rooms
Elegant and intricate French styles are a staple at Petite Auberge, both in the common areas and en suite. Charming French armoires furnish every room, along with gas fireplaces that make travelers feel like VIP guests in an exotic Parisian mansion. Rooms offer short-term and extended-stay travelers all of the comforts of a home away from home, including bathrobes and satellite TVs. Grandiose shower and tub combinations, totaling 230 square feet, come with all deluxe rooms, perfect for Petite Auberge guests who wish to remain for extended stays and desire more space.
Things To Do:
  • Grace Cathedral (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • American Conservatory Theater (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Union Square (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater District (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Nob Hill (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cable Car Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • St. Mary Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Old St. Mary's Cathedral (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Chinatown (San Francisco) (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Westfield San Francisco Centre Shopping Mall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets are not permitted at the Petite Auberge

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7895 -122.4114
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport.
Area description
Petite Auberge Hotel in San Francisco is located on Bush St. between Mason and Taylor atop Nob Hill, up the hill from Union Square and minutes away from the Powell Street Cable Car, the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and many of the City's finest restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Petite Auberge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Petite Auberge Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard Queen room offers a queen bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. The Cozy Queen guestrooms feature Queen beds and charming armoires, which serve as closets and to hide the television. The small size of the rooms (170 square feet) make them perfect for short-stay travelers or those who simply wish a comfortable respite from a busy day of seeing San Francisco's sights.
Queen with Fireplace
Deluxe Queen room offers a queen bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. The Queen with Fireplace guestrooms feature Queen beds and working gas fireplaces. These rooms also feature charming armoires, seating areas, bathrooms with shower/tub combinations and they are 230 square feet in size. The Petite Auberge is a smoke free hotel.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Petite Auberge

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelNan
Modesto, CA
Jun 17, 2012

US Open Getaway

We knew we had to book early, but our favorite place was already taken, so last January we booked at Petite Auberge for June. It was our first time here. Petite refers to some of the rooms! There were 6 of us in 3 rooms, and as long as you realize the smaller rooms are quite small, you'll be OK. They were beautifully decorated, quaint, and very clean. Our men left early for the US Open, so were unable to taste the delicious breakfast provided. One morning was quiche, another morning blueberry baked french toast! Both mornings had oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, pastries and fruit. It was all very well presented and clean. We could eat inside or outside on a small patio. From 5-6:30 was wine and a few appetizers. (which our men also missed out on!) All the staff was very helpful, kind, and accommodating to our needs, even providing a bottled water for our day, as we were leaving to shop. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

3 blocks to Union Square & Macy's! :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elvy
North of NYC
Dec 7, 2010

Charming and friendly

As a single woman visiting her adult daughter in SF, Petite Auberge was perfect. It is very reminiscent of a good country bed & breakfast with excellent home cooked breakfasts in the morning, Hors d'œuvre in the evening, fresh baked cookies all afternoon and evening and coffee, tea, etc all day long. The whole atmosphere is comfortable and relaxed. Guests converse with each other and respect privacy as well. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the linens were delightfully fresh and crisp. The shower was strong and had plenty of hot water. The room was cleaned and restocked daily. My only complaint was that the front desk was not manned. One had to go next door to the sister Inn to find a person. However, if I called the front desk I got immediate service. I felt safe in the neighborhood and the front door was locked at all times. All guests had keys to the front door. I am not a frequent traveler so I can't compare this hotel with too many others, except to say that the whole atmosphere was delightful and I would be happy to return there on my next visit. If you are looking for "posh" this is not it, if you are looking for charm and comfort, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I suggest that if this is your first visit to SF, you take one of the half day bus tours at the start of your trip. I was picked up and dropped off at my little hotel and got to see all the important sights. Then I could choose which sights I would like to explore further on my own, like Golden Gate Park and its many attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Nov 21, 2010

Delightful stay

My husband and I were in San Francisco for a conference, and opted to stay at a B&B instead of the usual big hotel. We were very pleased with the Petite Auberge all around. The desk personnel were tremendously helpful, the breakfast buffet was quite good (baked goods, quiche, cereals, fruit), and the wine in the evening was very welcome. Our room was cozy, and we used the gas fireplace in it every day, since the weather was the usual SF wet and chilly. The B&B was literally just a block or 2 away from several excellent restaurants, the cable car, and walking distance to our convention center (Moscone Center) and Union Square shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The MUNI Pass, for 1,3,or 7 days, is an inexpensive way to have unlimited access to the bus, cable car and MUNI train system around town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Nov 17, 2010

Bring Your Earplugs!

This hotel is not the value it first appears. You know you are in trouble when the room you move into has a white noise machine and advice that ear plugs are available from the front desk. I am used to so-called urban noise, but having the neighborhood's trash pick-up alley outside my window (with daily pick-up at 5:30 am) was more than I bargained for. On warm nights, you must leave the windows open or suffocate, since there is no fan (one does not expect A/C in San Francisco or in this age of hotel.) And the front desk was never staffed anyway, though you can leave voicemail. Check-in therefore requires you to ascend quite a few steps at a building down the street with luggage, then lug everything back down, walk up two doors, ascend another dozen or so steps, and key yourself into the building. Hardly welcoming. Rooms are quite tiny, though less so by European standards. The real problem is lack of space (16") for hang-up clothes. And, you will find poor work space: a credenza has a top-drawer than folds down to form a sort-of-a desktop and there is a rickety cane-back chair with loose spindles to sit on. It MIGHT be enough for one; two travelers are out of the question, especially since the bed is packed into the corner. Wi Fi was adequate. So was breakfast, though the variety was inconsistent. Everything was clean, though to call this a recent renovation is a stretch. There is no space in the bathroom for toiletries. Hot water is plentiful and fairly soft. The door locks require careful training and practice. I travel six to eight times a year and have been to San Francisco numerous times. I'll stay elsewhere next time, to be sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Oct 19, 2010

Like Home

Loved the gourmet breakfast, happy hour, and fireplace in the room. A little noisy, especially in the early morning from other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Binghamton, NY
Oct 13, 2010

A memorable place to which I will return

This is a storybook place centrally located. If you never go to France, this is the best "second-best" French experience. Fabulous breakfast, quaint atmosphere, lovely rooms, fun cocktail hour. There is no other place to stay in San Francisco for me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Postrio - Post St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Belfast
Oct 9, 2010

Lovely hotel, full of character.

This is a lovely little hotel, with bag loads of charm. The breakfast is delicious, the staff wonderful, the free drinks and nibbles in the evening a lovely treat and the location superb. It is looking a little frayed round the edges and could do with a bit of a spruce up but it's a fantastic hotel full of personality. Love the teddy in the room - he was sitting in a different place every day! Would definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. DS
Dallas, TX
Oct 5, 2010

Good and Bad

The location was ok but you had to walk up a big hill to get to it. The area has some bars and despite having a room towards the back, was very noisy into the wee hours of the morning. It was very nice having comp water, soft drinks, tea and coffee all day, and cookies in the lobby. The morning breakfast and evening wine reception help to cut down on expenses somewhat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Millerton, NY
Oct 4, 2010

Wonderful Little Hotel

Intimate, charming, and cozy little hotel. Easy walking distance to Nob Hill, China Town, and Union Square. Excellent continental breakfast with the added bonus of wine and appetizers in the afternoon which made it a nice place to meet other guests from all over the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
madison, wi
Aug 16, 2010

Sweet and a great location

The hotel is small with small and very comfortable rooms, lovely and personal service, and an amazing old elevator. It is within a short walking distance of Union Square and easy to get to the other parts of the City. There is service to the airport. Cookies await you, there is coffee and soft drinks all day, wine and snacks in the evening, and a big breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foodists
Boulder Colorado
Aug 9, 2010

Joys of a small hotel

This small hotel provided a wonderful break for us from the huge chain hotels we usually stay in. Room, although fairly small, was very comfortable and had a single-switch operated fireplace - needed even in 'summer' in SF. Afternoon wine and cheese and cake as well as buffet breakfast, being included in the price, was of great quality and provided an opportunity to meet other guests if you wished. Not suitable for those with young mobile children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the City Pass and save on public transport (all forms - SF has MANY interesting options), entrance to main attractions like SFMOMA, Bay Aquarium, California Academy of Sciences as well as saving yourself time in lines and fishing for change on public transport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top