$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 12, 2014

Petite Auberge

3 stars
863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
71 reviews
Charming Boutique Hotel

We loved the Petite Auberge for the third time! The best feature is the little parlor downstairs... See full review

  • Mountain couple
  • Dec 21, 2013
Nice, but pricy

Nice hotel, friendly staff, clean rooms and lots of charm. It is pricy, but that is San Fran. Close... See full review

  • OC Biz Traveler
  • Nov 9, 2013
Experience a touch of France in downtown San Francisco
Petite Auberge is a charming little accommodation in an exciting district of San Francisco, and it offers a comfortable and intimate environment for guests from the moment they walk through its beveled glass French doors to the time they check out. Intricate French art decor, a cozy parlor and a hearty and crackling fireplace set an inviting European ambiance. Afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres make Petite Auberge guests feel at home, and a home-cooked gourmet breakfast prepared and served daily is reminiscent of French hospitality.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Close to San Francisco and its fine dining
  • Intimate and cozy accommodation with comfortable amenities and personalized service
  • Easily connects to public transportation
Petite Auberge Rooms
Elegant and intricate French styles are a staple at Petite Auberge, both in the common areas and en suite. Charming French armoires furnish every room, along with gas fireplaces that make travelers feel like VIP guests in an exotic Parisian mansion. Rooms offer short-term and extended-stay travelers all of the comforts of a home away from home, including bathrobes and satellite TVs. Grandiose shower and tub combinations, totaling 230 square feet, come with all deluxe rooms, perfect for Petite Auberge guests who wish to remain for extended stays and desire more space.
Things To Do:
  • Grace Cathedral (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • American Conservatory Theater (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Union Square (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater District (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Nob Hill (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cable Car Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • St. Mary Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Old St. Mary's Cathedral (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Chinatown (San Francisco) (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Westfield San Francisco Centre Shopping Mall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets are not permitted at the Petite Auberge

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Petite Auberge Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard Queen room offers a queen bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. The Cozy Queen guestrooms feature Queen beds and charming armoires, which serve as closets and to hide the television. The small size of the rooms (170 square feet) make them perfect for short-stay travelers or those who simply wish a comfortable respite from a busy day of seeing San Francisco's sights.
Queen with Fireplace
Deluxe Queen room offers a queen bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. The Queen with Fireplace guestrooms feature Queen beds and working gas fireplaces. These rooms also feature charming armoires, seating areas, bathrooms with shower/tub combinations and they are 230 square feet in size. The Petite Auberge is a smoke free hotel.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Petite Auberge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7895 -122.4114
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport.
Area description
Petite Auberge Hotel in San Francisco is located on Bush St. between Mason and Taylor atop Nob Hill, up the hill from Union Square and minutes away from the Powell Street Cable Car, the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and many of the City's finest restaurants.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Petite Auberge

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 71
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gary51
Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Mar 5, 2012

First trip to San Francisco and as lone traveller

Loved this place! Country French feel with older furniture and no one bothers you, come and go as you please as concierge two doors down in sister hotel but they always helpful. Soft drinks and tea/coffee available all day and always fresh cookies and newspapers. Wine and nibbles in afternoon. Great breakfast with wide range to suit all and freshly prepped. I had a queen room with nice fireplace and well heated. No view from room and no widescreen tv but hey I came to SF to be by this lovely city by the bay and was not disappointed. The hotel is just up from union square and a couple of steep hills to climb or get cable which runs just two blocks down but sf is hilly so you expect this. Lots of diners and restaurants in a three block radius.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Go to Castro theatre in Castro district for original way to see cinema. Great experience.

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GAFlyguy
Atlanta, GA
Jul 11, 2011

Great little place in Nob Hill location

The location of Petit Auberge is excellent for easy walking to anything in the Union Square and Chinatown areas! I had business the next day at the St. Francis and it was an easy walk, even with my luggage. Great place for a shopping trip to SF--easy access to all major stores and shopping areas. Try to book a room with a view of the garden nextdoor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If the weather is nice, walk straight down Bush to Beldon alley--here there are 5 or 6 of the best restaurants for lunch in SF, each with a huge outdoor seating area. Two French, one Catalon, two seafood, two American contemporary. Great food at all of them

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GAFlyguy
Atlanta, GA
Jul 11, 2011

Great little place in Nob Hill location

The location of Petit Auberge is excellent for easy walking to anything in the Union Square and Chinatown areas! I had business the next day at the St. Francis and it was an easy walk, even with my luggage. Great place for a shopping trip to SF--easy access to all major stores and shopping areas. Try to book a room with a view of the garden nextdoor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If the weather is nice, walk straight down Bush to Beldon alley--here there are 5 or 6 of the best restaurants for lunch in SF, each with a huge outdoor seating area. Two French, one Catalon, two seafood, two American contemporary. Great food at all of them

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elvy
North of NYC
Dec 7, 2010

Charming and friendly

As a single woman visiting her adult daughter in SF, Petite Auberge was perfect. It is very reminiscent of a good country bed & breakfast with excellent home cooked breakfasts in the morning, Hors d'œuvre in the evening, fresh baked cookies all afternoon and evening and coffee, tea, etc all day long. The whole atmosphere is comfortable and relaxed. Guests converse with each other and respect privacy as well. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the linens were delightfully fresh and crisp. The shower was strong and had plenty of hot water. The room was cleaned and restocked daily. My only complaint was that the front desk was not manned. One had to go next door to the sister Inn to find a person. However, if I called the front desk I got immediate service. I felt safe in the neighborhood and the front door was locked at all times. All guests had keys to the front door. I am not a frequent traveler so I can't compare this hotel with too many others, except to say that the whole atmosphere was delightful and I would be happy to return there on my next visit. If you are looking for "posh" this is not it, if you are looking for charm and comfort, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I suggest that if this is your first visit to SF, you take one of the half day bus tours at the start of your trip. I was picked up and dropped off at my little hotel and got to see all the important sights. Then I could choose which sights I would like to explore further on my own, like Golden Gate Park and its many attractions.

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elvy
North of NYC
Dec 7, 2010

Charming and friendly

As a single woman visiting her adult daughter in SF, Petite Auberge was perfect. It is very reminiscent of a good country bed & breakfast with excellent home cooked breakfasts in the morning, Hors d'œuvre in the evening, fresh baked cookies all afternoon and evening and coffee, tea, etc all day long. The whole atmosphere is comfortable and relaxed. Guests converse with each other and respect privacy as well. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the linens were delightfully fresh and crisp. The shower was strong and had plenty of hot water. The room was cleaned and restocked daily. My only complaint was that the front desk was not manned. One had to go next door to the sister Inn to find a person. However, if I called the front desk I got immediate service. I felt safe in the neighborhood and the front door was locked at all times. All guests had keys to the front door. I am not a frequent traveler so I can't compare this hotel with too many others, except to say that the whole atmosphere was delightful and I would be happy to return there on my next visit. If you are looking for "posh" this is not it, if you are looking for charm and comfort, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I suggest that if this is your first visit to SF, you take one of the half day bus tours at the start of your trip. I was picked up and dropped off at my little hotel and got to see all the important sights. Then I could choose which sights I would like to explore further on my own, like Golden Gate Park and its many attractions.

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Binghamton, NY
Oct 13, 2010

A memorable place to which I will return

This is a storybook place centrally located. If you never go to France, this is the best "second-best" French experience. Fabulous breakfast, quaint atmosphere, lovely rooms, fun cocktail hour. There is no other place to stay in San Francisco for me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Postrio - Post St.

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Binghamton, NY
Oct 13, 2010

A memorable place to which I will return

This is a storybook place centrally located. If you never go to France, this is the best "second-best" French experience. Fabulous breakfast, quaint atmosphere, lovely rooms, fun cocktail hour. There is no other place to stay in San Francisco for me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Postrio - Post St.

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rutland, Vermont
Feb 22, 2010

I totally agree with the title

This inn is lovely and the staff are really helpful and very friendly..The best parts were a wonderful breakfast(included) and wine & hors d'oeu'vres (included) every night fron 5-630pm, menus which changed daily. This was a great time to meet other guests and trade stories. Was fun to find the fresh baked cookies (included) in the lobby daily. You had access to sodas, bottled water, tea and coffee 24hrs/day (included). Daily paper and robes with free printout of our flight tickets and then free storage of our bags the last day so we could wander before they called the shuttle for pickup to the airport just made it a real deal...check out was 12noon...this place, besides the fireplaces in rooms(ask for this)and great location is definitely somewhere I would go back to again..Other repeat visiters there said the quality never changes...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

They had coupons in the lobby for discounts on shopping (Macys). The lines for the cable cars are just 2 blocks away..this was my first visit to this city and this inn and its friendly staff made the whole trip very enjoyable...

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rutland, Vermont
Feb 22, 2010

I totally agree with the title

This inn is lovely and the staff are really helpful and very friendly..The best parts were a wonderful breakfast(included) and wine & hors d'oeu'vres (included) every night fron 5-630pm, menus which changed daily. This was a great time to meet other guests and trade stories. Was fun to find the fresh baked cookies (included) in the lobby daily. You had access to sodas, bottled water, tea and coffee 24hrs/day (included). Daily paper and robes with free printout of our flight tickets and then free storage of our bags the last day so we could wander before they called the shuttle for pickup to the airport just made it a real deal...check out was 12noon...this place, besides the fireplaces in rooms(ask for this)and great location is definitely somewhere I would go back to again..Other repeat visiters there said the quality never changes...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

They had coupons in the lobby for discounts on shopping (Macys). The lines for the cable cars are just 2 blocks away..this was my first visit to this city and this inn and its friendly staff made the whole trip very enjoyable...

Back to menu Return to top