$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Petite Auberge

3 stars
863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
44 reviews
Charming Boutique Hotel

We loved the Petite Auberge for the third time! The best feature is the little parlor downstairs... See full review

  • Mountain couple
  • Dec 21, 2013
Nice, but pricy

Nice hotel, friendly staff, clean rooms and lots of charm. It is pricy, but that is San Fran. Close... See full review

  • OC Biz Traveler
  • Nov 9, 2013
Experience a touch of France in downtown San Francisco
Petite Auberge is a charming little accommodation in an exciting district of San Francisco, and it offers a comfortable and intimate environment for guests from the moment they walk through its beveled glass French doors to the time they check out. Intricate French art decor, a cozy parlor and a hearty and crackling fireplace set an inviting European ambiance. Afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres make Petite Auberge guests feel at home, and a home-cooked gourmet breakfast prepared and served daily is reminiscent of French hospitality.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Close to San Francisco and its fine dining
  • Intimate and cozy accommodation with comfortable amenities and personalized service
  • Easily connects to public transportation
Petite Auberge Rooms
Elegant and intricate French styles are a staple at Petite Auberge, both in the common areas and en suite. Charming French armoires furnish every room, along with gas fireplaces that make travelers feel like VIP guests in an exotic Parisian mansion. Rooms offer short-term and extended-stay travelers all of the comforts of a home away from home, including bathrobes and satellite TVs. Grandiose shower and tub combinations, totaling 230 square feet, come with all deluxe rooms, perfect for Petite Auberge guests who wish to remain for extended stays and desire more space.
Things To Do:
  • Grace Cathedral (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • American Conservatory Theater (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Union Square (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater District (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Nob Hill (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cable Car Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • St. Mary Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Old St. Mary's Cathedral (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Chinatown (San Francisco) (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Westfield San Francisco Centre Shopping Mall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets are not permitted at the Petite Auberge

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7895 -122.4114
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport.
Area description
Petite Auberge Hotel in San Francisco is located on Bush St. between Mason and Taylor atop Nob Hill, up the hill from Union Square and minutes away from the Powell Street Cable Car, the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and many of the City's finest restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Petite Auberge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Petite Auberge Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard Queen room offers a queen bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. The Cozy Queen guestrooms feature Queen beds and charming armoires, which serve as closets and to hide the television. The small size of the rooms (170 square feet) make them perfect for short-stay travelers or those who simply wish a comfortable respite from a busy day of seeing San Francisco's sights.
Queen with Fireplace
Deluxe Queen room offers a queen bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. The Queen with Fireplace guestrooms feature Queen beds and working gas fireplaces. These rooms also feature charming armoires, seating areas, bathrooms with shower/tub combinations and they are 230 square feet in size. The Petite Auberge is a smoke free hotel.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Petite Auberge

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Childhood Best Friends
Business
Austin, TX and Littleton, CO
Mar 31, 2010

Great stay in San Francisco!

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Petite Auberge. While we were thrown at first by the small size of our room, after the first night the size didn't seem to matter. Our room was a little noisy as it was in the front of the hotel (we got garbage truck noise in the morning) and we were next to the elevator, which we could hear. However, it wasn't enough to keep us up at night, or was ever really bothersome. The staff was really friendly and helpful when we needed information. They were able to direct us wherever we needed to go and give us tips on better ways to get where we were going. The breakfast was always good, although it didn't vary much from day to day. We unfortunately never took advantage of the evening hors d'oeuvres, but had a few cookies and loved the idea that these were provided to guests. We found the location to be very nice and easy to get around in the city. All in all, we were very pleased with our stay and would stay there again, and definitely recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ggeco
Business
new york
Nov 28, 2012

last minute mini-break

opted up for the fireplace room and it was so charming! bathroom products supplied by 'lather', love thier products! and breakfast was excellent! i dont eat pork and was pleasantly surprised by a turkey option! with fresh fruit and pastries, by far one of the best breakfast buffets i've had :) have nothing to complain about, very charming boutique

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

arguello grocery, one of best turkey sandwhiches, turkey cut fresh off the rotisserie when you order!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Binghamton, NY
Oct 13, 2010

A memorable place to which I will return

This is a storybook place centrally located. If you never go to France, this is the best "second-best" French experience. Fabulous breakfast, quaint atmosphere, lovely rooms, fun cocktail hour. There is no other place to stay in San Francisco for me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Postrio - Post St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kenna's mom
Business
S.E. Idaho
Apr 20, 2010

The Perfect San Francisco Quiet Stay

The staff was outstanding. We did not plan on taking our little person with us, but needed to at the last minute. The staff offered to bring in a bed, but given the room was pretty small we opted not to do that. It took about 5 minutes for the front desk to call back and offer to move us into a queen with a couch which would open up in one day. They were clearly looking for a way to make us more comfortable, even when we didn't ask. If you are looking for a relaxing, quiet, romantic get away check out the Petite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

"Wicked" was absolutely amazing. We were lucky enough to get tickets and the performance was absolutely the high-light of our stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charlie Traveler
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 3, 2010

Our New Favorite Hotel--Petite Auberge

We wanted a unique and affordable place to stay that had personality unlike the huge and sterile mega-hotels. We found it all at Petite Auberge. The entire staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The complimentary wine and cheese (although more than just cheese, it was a full spread to include an apple tart) and breakfast was wonderful. We needed to be close to Union Square so this location was perfect as it was only a 3 block walk. The value of our stay exceeded how much we paid each night. We give Petite Auberge 4 thumbs up and 4 stars. They know what they are doing here! (One bit of advice to fellow travelers; this is an old building in a big city so bring ear plugs or ask for some at the front desk. Street noise and hotel goings on doesn't settle until late at night/early morning.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rutland, Vermont
Feb 22, 2010

I totally agree with the title

This inn is lovely and the staff are really helpful and very friendly..The best parts were a wonderful breakfast(included) and wine & hors d'oeu'vres (included) every night fron 5-630pm, menus which changed daily. This was a great time to meet other guests and trade stories. Was fun to find the fresh baked cookies (included) in the lobby daily. You had access to sodas, bottled water, tea and coffee 24hrs/day (included). Daily paper and robes with free printout of our flight tickets and then free storage of our bags the last day so we could wander before they called the shuttle for pickup to the airport just made it a real deal...check out was 12noon...this place, besides the fireplaces in rooms(ask for this)and great location is definitely somewhere I would go back to again..Other repeat visiters there said the quality never changes...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

They had coupons in the lobby for discounts on shopping (Macys). The lines for the cable cars are just 2 blocks away..this was my first visit to this city and this inn and its friendly staff made the whole trip very enjoyable...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foodists
Business
Boulder Colorado
Aug 9, 2010

Joys of a small hotel

This small hotel provided a wonderful break for us from the huge chain hotels we usually stay in. Room, although fairly small, was very comfortable and had a single-switch operated fireplace - needed even in 'summer' in SF. Afternoon wine and cheese and cake as well as buffet breakfast, being included in the price, was of great quality and provided an opportunity to meet other guests if you wished. Not suitable for those with young mobile children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the City Pass and save on public transport (all forms - SF has MANY interesting options), entrance to main attractions like SFMOMA, Bay Aquarium, California Academy of Sciences as well as saving yourself time in lines and fishing for change on public transport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
madison, wi
Aug 16, 2010

Sweet and a great location

The hotel is small with small and very comfortable rooms, lovely and personal service, and an amazing old elevator. It is within a short walking distance of Union Square and easy to get to the other parts of the City. There is service to the airport. Cookies await you, there is coffee and soft drinks all day, wine and snacks in the evening, and a big breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Oglethorpe, GA
Oct 2, 2008

Most pleasant experience.

We stayed at Petite Auberge at the beginning of October 2008. Friendly staff, great breakfast, comfortable room with the fireplace, powerful shower pressure (very important):). A good Sushi place nearby. Just walking distance from the Union Square. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square, China Town, theater next door, plenty of good restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Belfast
Oct 9, 2010

Lovely hotel, full of character.

This is a lovely little hotel, with bag loads of charm. The breakfast is delicious, the staff wonderful, the free drinks and nibbles in the evening a lovely treat and the location superb. It is looking a little frayed round the edges and could do with a bit of a spruce up but it's a fantastic hotel full of personality. Love the teddy in the room - he was sitting in a different place every day! Would definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top