$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Petite Auberge

3 stars
863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
44 reviews
Charming Boutique Hotel

We loved the Petite Auberge for the third time! The best feature is the little parlor downstairs... See full review

  • Mountain couple
  • Dec 21, 2013
Nice, but pricy

Nice hotel, friendly staff, clean rooms and lots of charm. It is pricy, but that is San Fran. Close... See full review

  • OC Biz Traveler
  • Nov 9, 2013
Experience a touch of France in downtown San Francisco
Petite Auberge is a charming little accommodation in an exciting district of San Francisco, and it offers a comfortable and intimate environment for guests from the moment they walk through its beveled glass French doors to the time they check out. Intricate French art decor, a cozy parlor and a hearty and crackling fireplace set an inviting European ambiance. Afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres make Petite Auberge guests feel at home, and a home-cooked gourmet breakfast prepared and served daily is reminiscent of French hospitality.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Close to San Francisco and its fine dining
  • Intimate and cozy accommodation with comfortable amenities and personalized service
  • Easily connects to public transportation
Petite Auberge Rooms
Elegant and intricate French styles are a staple at Petite Auberge, both in the common areas and en suite. Charming French armoires furnish every room, along with gas fireplaces that make travelers feel like VIP guests in an exotic Parisian mansion. Rooms offer short-term and extended-stay travelers all of the comforts of a home away from home, including bathrobes and satellite TVs. Grandiose shower and tub combinations, totaling 230 square feet, come with all deluxe rooms, perfect for Petite Auberge guests who wish to remain for extended stays and desire more space.
Things To Do:
  • Grace Cathedral (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • American Conservatory Theater (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Union Square (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater District (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Nob Hill (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cable Car Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • St. Mary Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Old St. Mary's Cathedral (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Chinatown (San Francisco) (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Westfield San Francisco Centre Shopping Mall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets are not permitted at the Petite Auberge

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Petite Auberge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Petite Auberge Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard Queen room offers a queen bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. The Cozy Queen guestrooms feature Queen beds and charming armoires, which serve as closets and to hide the television. The small size of the rooms (170 square feet) make them perfect for short-stay travelers or those who simply wish a comfortable respite from a busy day of seeing San Francisco's sights.
Queen with Fireplace
Deluxe Queen room offers a queen bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. The Queen with Fireplace guestrooms feature Queen beds and working gas fireplaces. These rooms also feature charming armoires, seating areas, bathrooms with shower/tub combinations and they are 230 square feet in size. The Petite Auberge is a smoke free hotel.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Petite Auberge

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson
Jul 28, 2010

Excellent Stay

This is a cross between a B&B and a botique hotel. Excellent, fun, very friendly staff. Located an easy walk from Union SQ so you are out of the traffic. We will go back many times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kuleto's restaurant just off Union SQ. And walk up the hill to Nob Hill Cafe. Local's, casual, small, fun with excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 21, 2010

Very enjoyable stay.

We enjoyed the evening wine tasting and the morning breakfest, we had a chance to meet the other residents and share experiences. It was also in a good location for sight seeing and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kenna's mom
Business
S.E. Idaho
Apr 20, 2010

The Perfect San Francisco Quiet Stay

The staff was outstanding. We did not plan on taking our little person with us, but needed to at the last minute. The staff offered to bring in a bed, but given the room was pretty small we opted not to do that. It took about 5 minutes for the front desk to call back and offer to move us into a queen with a couch which would open up in one day. They were clearly looking for a way to make us more comfortable, even when we didn't ask. If you are looking for a relaxing, quiet, romantic get away check out the Petite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

"Wicked" was absolutely amazing. We were lucky enough to get tickets and the performance was absolutely the high-light of our stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Childhood Best Friends
Business
Austin, TX and Littleton, CO
Mar 31, 2010

Great stay in San Francisco!

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Petite Auberge. While we were thrown at first by the small size of our room, after the first night the size didn't seem to matter. Our room was a little noisy as it was in the front of the hotel (we got garbage truck noise in the morning) and we were next to the elevator, which we could hear. However, it wasn't enough to keep us up at night, or was ever really bothersome. The staff was really friendly and helpful when we needed information. They were able to direct us wherever we needed to go and give us tips on better ways to get where we were going. The breakfast was always good, although it didn't vary much from day to day. We unfortunately never took advantage of the evening hors d'oeuvres, but had a few cookies and loved the idea that these were provided to guests. We found the location to be very nice and easy to get around in the city. All in all, we were very pleased with our stay and would stay there again, and definitely recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York State
Mar 28, 2010

Charming, convenient, economical

Good location short distance from the bustle of Union Square, but within easy walking distance of theaters, great little restaurants, and the cable car. Old building that really seems like a pension in France. Staff very knowledgeable. Steep 2-block walk up to Nob Hill is well worth the view! Make reservations for dinner at Sanraku if you like sushi--it's excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

To & from the airport take BART to the Civic Center or Montgomery Station, then taxi to the Petite Auberge. Powell Street station is crazy with tourists, the escalators don't always work and it's difficult to catch a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mimi2007
Business
Syr. NY
Mar 13, 2010

Cozy quiet retreat in Union Square

We had a very good experience, the room was very small but the stay was very enjoyable. There is a "cocktail" hour in evening, where guests gather in reception room, thoroughly enjoyed opportunities to talk to others in a relaxed friendly atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 6, 2010

Great Stay

The hotel was in a great location and walking distance to everything we wanted to do. If we were too tired to walk, the cab rides were cheap to get to our locations. Our room was cleaned daily, and was very nice! It was quiet and had a gorgeous fireplace that was nice and romantic to use each night. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and always available to answer questions. There was a nice wine hour where there was food and socializing with other guests. Also, there was breakfast every morning. The only negative I can think of was the breakfast had a lot of variety as to what you could eat and the food was very good, but it was the same breakfast every day. Other than that the hotel stay was wonderful. We would definitely stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a sushi place right around the corner of the hotel that is the best sushi we have ever had. It is a little hole in the wall place (so be prepared for it to be busy during dining hours) but it was good. Cant remember the name but the hotel gives a list of restaurants to eat at and that is one of them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rutland, Vermont
Feb 22, 2010

I totally agree with the title

This inn is lovely and the staff are really helpful and very friendly..The best parts were a wonderful breakfast(included) and wine & hors d'oeu'vres (included) every night fron 5-630pm, menus which changed daily. This was a great time to meet other guests and trade stories. Was fun to find the fresh baked cookies (included) in the lobby daily. You had access to sodas, bottled water, tea and coffee 24hrs/day (included). Daily paper and robes with free printout of our flight tickets and then free storage of our bags the last day so we could wander before they called the shuttle for pickup to the airport just made it a real deal...check out was 12noon...this place, besides the fireplaces in rooms(ask for this)and great location is definitely somewhere I would go back to again..Other repeat visiters there said the quality never changes...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

They had coupons in the lobby for discounts on shopping (Macys). The lines for the cable cars are just 2 blocks away..this was my first visit to this city and this inn and its friendly staff made the whole trip very enjoyable...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snorkelhappy
Business
honolulu, hi
Feb 21, 2010

Charming hotel

We loved the charming room, great location, and helpful staff. While our room did not face the street, there was yelling and screaming going on in a nearby parking lot till the wee hours of the morning. We would still go back to the Petite Auberge, but will ask for ear plugs the next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Feb 15, 2010

Quaint and charming

Great atomsphire and location. It was nice meeting the other guests and the evening wine tasting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Lincoln Park for nice hike along the ocean

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top