$198 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Petite Auberge

3 stars
View map of 863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Petite Auberge

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mister B 5700
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 4, 2012

Quaint 'B and B'

A pleasant older hotel, clean, quiet and generally comfortable. Lovely hot breakfast, afternoon wine anc cheese and evening cookies. However our first night, a Tuesday we had to call staff at the hotel next door as they were out of wine at 6:00 PM althought wine and cheese is said to be served until 6:30 PM, this a the need to check in at the hotel several doors down while understandable were somewhat inconvient. Overall very good stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoelSu
Business
Washington, D.C.
Oct 22, 2012

Quaint charm, not for business

A room with a fireplace can be charming, but while Petit Aberge has some nice touches like that, it lacks some of the basic. The bed was spring-y and uncomfortable and the wifi was spotty at best. Add that to the fact that my room, although quite large, did not have a desk at all and it adds up to a place that isn't a great fit for the business traveler. The free breakfast was good (sausage & quiche), but also missing are amenities like, have someone at the front desk. Not a huge deal, but a bit of a pain to have to run next door to check out of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HadbyObitz
Business
NYC
Oct 20, 2012

Bait and switch

No service, few amenities, small room, don't bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ragena
Couples
modesto, ca
Jun 17, 2012

Where is Everybody

A good value. It would be far better if they had staff on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelNan
Friends
Modesto, CA
Jun 17, 2012

US Open Getaway

We knew we had to book early, but our favorite place was already taken, so last January we booked at Petite Auberge for June. It was our first time here. Petite refers to some of the rooms! There were 6 of us in 3 rooms, and as long as you realize the smaller rooms are quite small, you'll be OK. They were beautifully decorated, quaint, and very clean. Our men left early for the US Open, so were unable to taste the delicious breakfast provided. One morning was quiche, another morning blueberry baked french toast! Both mornings had oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, pastries and fruit. It was all very well presented and clean. We could eat inside or outside on a small patio. From 5-6:30 was wine and a few appetizers. (which our men also missed out on!) All the staff was very helpful, kind, and accommodating to our needs, even providing a bottled water for our day, as we were leaving to shop. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

3 blocks to Union Square & Macy's! :-)

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brookline2
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 15, 2012

Charming and friendly

Good breakfast, computable European style hotel with very friendly and considate stadd

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Union Square

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gary51
Single
Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Mar 5, 2012

First trip to San Francisco and as lone traveller

Loved this place! Country French feel with older furniture and no one bothers you, come and go as you please as concierge two doors down in sister hotel but they always helpful. Soft drinks and tea/coffee available all day and always fresh cookies and newspapers. Wine and nibbles in afternoon. Great breakfast with wide range to suit all and freshly prepped. I had a queen room with nice fireplace and well heated. No view from room and no widescreen tv but hey I came to SF to be by this lovely city by the bay and was not disappointed. The hotel is just up from union square and a couple of steep hills to climb or get cable which runs just two blocks down but sf is hilly so you expect this. Lots of diners and restaurants in a three block radius.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Go to Castro theatre in Castro district for original way to see cinema. Great experience.

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago
Jul 20, 2011

Very comfortable and warm

The hotel was very nice and at a teriffic location to local attractions. 3 blocks to cable cars, union square, china town. amenities included breakfast, supply of bottled water and soda, apples, cookies, and an evening wine and snack hour & half. Room was roomy with sitting chairs, fire place and many shelves for storage. Coffee provided in room. we would definitely stay here again and would recommend it for older couples with no kids. Floors are wooden, so early risers or night owls are audible. one loud nightclub at back of hotel had some howlers at 2AM on two nights. Otherwise with location of room, noise was at a minimum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jul 18, 2011

Quaint escape in the city

Petite Auberge is conveniently located within walking distance from Union Square and right off the trolleycar stop. Front desk and staff were friendly and inviting, though rarely around, since they seem to be sharing staff with the neighboring White Swan Inn. Our room was cozy (read: small), but comfortable. Their free breakfast was very nice, usually including coffee, eggs, toast, and cereal. Housekeeping was not good--they forgot to clean our room one of the days, and some of our items went 'missing' on another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GAFlyguy
Single
Atlanta, GA
Jul 11, 2011

Great little place in Nob Hill location

The location of Petit Auberge is excellent for easy walking to anything in the Union Square and Chinatown areas! I had business the next day at the St. Francis and it was an easy walk, even with my luggage. Great place for a shopping trip to SF--easy access to all major stores and shopping areas. Try to book a room with a view of the garden nextdoor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If the weather is nice, walk straight down Bush to Beldon alley--here there are 5 or 6 of the best restaurants for lunch in SF, each with a huge outdoor seating area. Two French, one Catalon, two seafood, two American contemporary. Great food at all of them

Back to menu Return to top