$207 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Petite Auberge

3 stars
View map of 863 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
45 reviews
Working holiday

Great location, beautiful Bed & Breakfast for my program in San Francisco was a working holiday -... See full review

  • HappyFriends
  • Apr 25, 2015
Friendly staff, great location for couples getaway

I stayed for 2 nights 3 days with my partner and had a great time. The hotel is located in a great... See full review

  • Flo.776
  • Jan 15, 2015
Petite Auberge is a charming little accommodation in an exciting district of San Francisco, and it offers a comfortable and intimate environment for guests from the moment they walk through its beveled glass French doors to the time they check out. Intricate French art decor, a cozy parlor and a hearty and crackling fireplace set an inviting European ambiance. Afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres make Petite Auberge guests feel at home, and a home-cooked gourmet breakfast prepared and served daily is reminiscent of French hospitality.
Rooms
Elegant and intricate French styles are a staple at Petite Auberge, both in the common areas and en suite. Charming French armoires furnish every room, along with gas fireplaces that make travelers feel like VIP guests in an exotic Parisian mansion. Rooms offer short-term and extended-stay travelers all of the comforts of a home away from home, including bathrobes and satellite TVs. Grandiose shower and tub combinations, totaling 230 square feet, come with all deluxe rooms, perfect for Petite Auberge guests who wish to remain for extended stays and desire more space.
Highlights
  • Close to San Francisco and its fine dining
  • Intimate and cozy accommodation with comfortable amenities and personalized service
  • Easily connects to public transportation
Nearby attractions
  • Grace Cathedral (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • American Conservatory Theater (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Union Square (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater District (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Nob Hill (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cable Car Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • St. Mary Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Old St. Mary's Cathedral (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Chinatown (San Francisco) (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Westfield San Francisco Centre Shopping Mall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
Policies
  • Pets are not permitted at the Petite Auberge
  • Parking fee is $36 plus tax for standard sized cars and $45 plus tax for oversized cars.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Petite Auberge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Petite Auberge Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard Queen room offers a queen bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. The Cozy Queen guestrooms feature Queen beds and charming armoires, which serve as closets and to hide the television. The small size of the rooms (170 square feet) make them perfect for short-stay travelers or those who simply wish a comfortable respite from a busy day of seeing San Francisco's sights.
Queen with Fireplace
Deluxe Queen room offers a queen bed with Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. The Queen with Fireplace guestrooms feature Queen beds and working gas fireplaces. These rooms also feature charming armoires, seating areas, bathrooms with shower/tub combinations and they are 230 square feet in size. The Petite Auberge is a smoke free hotel.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Petite Auberge

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelNan
Modesto, CA
Jun 17, 2012

US Open Getaway

We knew we had to book early, but our favorite place was already taken, so last January we booked at Petite Auberge for June. It was our first time here. Petite refers to some of the rooms! There were 6 of us in 3 rooms, and as long as you realize the smaller rooms are quite small, you'll be OK. They were beautifully decorated, quaint, and very clean. Our men left early for the US Open, so were unable to taste the delicious breakfast provided. One morning was quiche, another morning blueberry baked french toast! Both mornings had oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, pastries and fruit. It was all very well presented and clean. We could eat inside or outside on a small patio. From 5-6:30 was wine and a few appetizers. (which our men also missed out on!) All the staff was very helpful, kind, and accommodating to our needs, even providing a bottled water for our day, as we were leaving to shop. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

3 blocks to Union Square & Macy's! :-)

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Julia
Business
Richardson
Jul 23, 2015

Big heart, small room

Pros: first and foremost, amazing staff! From the front desk to the housekeeping, every single staff that we encountered during our stay was very professional and super friendly. Every time a hotel staff passed by us, they would say hi and ask if there was anything we needed. On our last day, housekeeping grandmother knocked on our door just to say good bye. How amazing is that?! Free bottled water and soda were welcomed refreshments after a long day of sightseeing. Second: great location. Easy walk to Chinatown, little Italy, North Beach, pier and shopping. Con: very small and little outdated hotel. Altho it is very charming, our standard room with queen size bed was very small with an extremely small bathroom, especially the shower. I am 5'3 and medium build and I felt little claustrophobic every time I took a shower. Bed was uncomfortable and there is no air conditioner in the room. I think normally it won't b a problem but it was in the 80's during our stay and the room was very uncomfortable. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyFriends
Business
Shanghai
Apr 25, 2015

Working holiday

Great location, beautiful Bed & Breakfast for my program in San Francisco was a working holiday - very nice room with the fireplace samll and very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice, plus afternoon wine and cheese tasting, so nice...perhaps I, we ll have a wine tasting again next time I, we are in San Francisco! : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flo.776
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Friendly staff, great location for couples getaway

I stayed for 2 nights 3 days with my partner and had a great time. The hotel is located in a great spot in downtown, walking distance of all the shops and restaurants in union square. The staff was very very very friendly and helpful! The hotel clean and quiet, really nice for a couples getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mountain couple
Business
Twain Harte, CA
Dec 21, 2013

Charming Boutique Hotel

We loved the Petite Auberge for the third time! The best feature is the little parlor downstairs where guests can meet for wine, hors d'oeuvres and conversation at 5. The hot breakfast is also a plus, not to mention the location near Union Square, the comfy bed, and a gas fireplace in the room if you choose. Staff is very friendly, and everything is clean, although not modern. If you like a European experience in a home away from home, this may be your best bet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park your car and take public transportation or walk. Be sure to get a map of the city showing where the buses and streetcars run. You can get practically anywhere--but have exact change. For fun, take the ferry from the Ferry Building to Sausalito and eat lunch at Poggio's.

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OC Biz Traveler
Business
Orange County
Nov 9, 2013

Nice, but pricy

Nice hotel, friendly staff, clean rooms and lots of charm. It is pricy, but that is San Fran. Close distance to some cool restaurants/bars. All in all, a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some good spots on Filmore Street...only 1.2 miles away.

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dunwurkin
Business
Colorado
Nov 3, 2013

A wonderful small hotel!

It feels like you are entering a European boutique hotel as you climb the steps from the sidewalk and enter the lobby. Our room ahead a genuine French feel to it and the relaxing stuffed chairs and couches and the breakfast area in the bottom floor lounge area made us long for Paris. The staff could not have been more friendly. Thank you Petite Auberge for a wonderful stay?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wpr61
Business
ny
May 17, 2013

nob hill visit

lovely charming place - would come back every time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LOVEBREAKFAST
Business
Bay Area,CA
Mar 10, 2013

this cute charmer was unfortunately not comfortable

Staff was the best part, decor ok, Breakfast Tea and Coffee machines not working properly, not even the old toaster! So there goes breakfast. Even store-bought Bakery goods were not fresh. SORRY I had really wnated to enjoy this place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Neiman Marcus ROTUNDA Restaurant at UNION SQUARE

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ggeco
Business
new york
Nov 28, 2012

last minute mini-break

opted up for the fireplace room and it was so charming! bathroom products supplied by 'lather', love thier products! and breakfast was excellent! i dont eat pork and was pleasantly surprised by a turkey option! with fresh fruit and pastries, by far one of the best breakfast buffets i've had :) have nothing to complain about, very charming boutique

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

arguello grocery, one of best turkey sandwhiches, turkey cut fresh off the rotisserie when you order!

Review of Petite Auberge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mister B 5700
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 4, 2012

Quaint 'B and B'

A pleasant older hotel, clean, quiet and generally comfortable. Lovely hot breakfast, afternoon wine anc cheese and evening cookies. However our first night, a Tuesday we had to call staff at the hotel next door as they were out of wine at 6:00 PM althought wine and cheese is said to be served until 6:30 PM, this a the need to check in at the hotel several doors down while understandable were somewhat inconvient. Overall very good stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top