$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
12 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
37 reviews
What a welcoming staff!

We visited the Palomar as part of a landmark birthday trip for my partner. When we got there, to... See full review

  • rednikki
  • Jun 11, 2014
Definitely a STAY AGAIN!

As a conference host and traveling often - there is nothing like getting into a hotel that does it... See full review

  • tradeshowgypsy
  • Aug 30, 2013
Hidden gem off the beaten track
 

Best described as a sort of boho-luxe style, the secluded Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel occupies the top five floors of a beautiful historic building set two blocks away from Union Square. The hotel decor is warm and inviting, with red accents, based loosely on the Art Deco style of the 1930s. The Palomar San Francisco has plenty of customer-pleasing features including the fitness and spa facilities. Pets are welcome, and a complimentary Town Car service transports guests to the Financial District.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Cozy modern style in downtown SoMa
  • Excellent fitness and dining options
  • Pets get to stay here, too
Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms
 

There are 195 suites or guest rooms in the Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel, all sharing the Kimpton trademark of relaxed and sophisticated design sensibilities. Colors are soothing and muted olive greens and browns, with flashes or scarlet or bright orange, and furnishings include desks with upholstered chairs and armoires. The beds are comfortable and relaxing with high-quality bedding, and the whole atmosphere suggests an air of well-heeled sophistication aimed at pampering and relaxing guests. Coffee- and tea-making facilities are available and high-speed wireless Internet access is complimentary in rooms at the Palomar San Francisco. The bathrooms are equally chic, in the same pared down style as the bedrooms, with granite surfaces and Aveda complimentary toiletries.

Things To Do:

  • Westfield San Francisco Centre (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Union Square (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • 24 hours Business center
Policies and fees

  • Pets allowed (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

City View Corner King
City View Corner King 400 square feet with 1 King Bed
Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Double Double Deluxe Room 2 double size beds in a 315 square foot room iHome docking station
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room 2 double size beds in a 315 square foot room iHome docking station
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite 625 square feet one king bed one sofa bed in separate living room Fuji Spa tub.
Superior King
King Deluxe Room one King bed 315 square feet iHome docking station and Etro bath amenities.
Accessible King Deluxe Room
1 K Bd Roll in Shwr. Commun Features Avail
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room one King bed 300 square feet iHome docking station and Etro bath amenities.
Luxury Spa King
Luxury Spa King one king bed 350 square feet city views and jacuzzi
Executive King
Executive King 350 square feet one king bed iHome and Etro bath amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Mini bar
Turndown service
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Lands End: 2.1 mi

Dining

Dirty Habit
Located five floors above the streets of the bustling SOMA district Dirty Habit is an intimate hideaway within the Hotel Palomar for those seeking an alluring drinking and dining experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 37
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTchitown
Business
Chicago
Sep 29, 2014

My new favorite SF hotel

L-O-V-E love the Palomar. As a huge fan of other properties in the Kimpton Hotel group -- especially those I always send folks to when they are coming to Chicago, Hotel Burnham & Hotel Allegro in Chicago, plus the Hotel Mohaco in DC where I first discovered the comfy and kitchey leopard-print terry robes -- I'm delighted to add another Kimpton to my list of favorite hotels in the US. The only thing missing at the Palomar is room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

And many thanks to Matt the Bellman for the tip about Dottie's True Blue Cafe for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WLWD
Business
Nashville, TN
Jun 16, 2014

Anniversary vacation

My wife and I made our first ever trip to San Francisco and knew we wanted to stay in the Union Sqaure district but didn't know where. When we chose the Palomar we didn't know what to expect but as it turned out it was a wonderful choice. the location could not have been better. It was close to the square, Chinatown, AT&T Park, and all public transportation. moving about the city was fast and convenient. As for the hotel, it was very nice. Well maintained and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to the Bay area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rednikki
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 11, 2014

What a welcoming staff!

We visited the Palomar as part of a landmark birthday trip for my partner. When we got there, to our surprise, we were upgraded to an INCREDIBLE suite which looked out on the courtyard. There were balloons, there was prosecco - it was just fantastic. They made us feel so welcome throughout our stay and were so helpful. Yes, the restaurant was closed for renovations, but...it's San Francisco! If you can't find someplace amazing to eat nearby, you need to review your life choices. And if you were too lazy to leave the hotel, well, the staff were ready, willing and able to pick up food at 15 different local restaurants and bring it right to your door. Now THAT'S service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bring a car ... but if you do, the Hearst Garage on the next block is the cheapest overnight parking option.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yeppers74
Business
Santa Rosa, California
Apr 20, 2014

Nice place to stay

Great hotel besides the toilet that ran all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Couple great bars very close by. Download Uber app and save at least 20% over cab fares and your not in a stinky cab

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BJD939
Business
Minneapolis
Sep 23, 2013

Great Stay, Great Location

Good, Great, Grand, Wonderful. We go to San Fran quite a bit and will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Redford

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sram0151
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Great Location

My recent stay at the Palomar was excellent. PROS: Hotel Bar Happy Hour w/ free wine Nice rooms w/ iPod radios Location, near tons of shopping and public transportation Cons: Parking is extra Wireless and Cell signal was spotty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Regina27
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Aug 29, 2011

would not return

This hotel is extremely over rated! We wish we could book this trip all over again. The restaurant recommendations were very touristy, not niche or very foodie like. They recommended one for late lunch and when we arrived found out they stopped serving lunch at 2pm. They must have an agreement set up with certain restaurants in the area. They were not personal at all. We were part of a conference in the area and were suppose to receive a conference special rate however the front desk manager basically told us the special room rates were all gone. In addition we extended our stay through the weekend (a total of 6 nights). My husband inquired about this rate several times throughout our stay and was suppose to receive a call back and a follow up was never made on the hotels behalf. The front desk manager did nothing to compensate us or even try to adjust the rate. Overall staff had a bit of an air about them. The hotel itself was super small, the bar and restaurant are dark and area is choppy. Whoever designed this space needs to get out if the design biz. Maybe they should call Jeff Lewis to execute a serious remodel. The 5pm "happy hour" was cheesy - one brand of cheap wine available in white or red. Big whoop, the least you could offer for your overpriced hotel. The gym was a joke, some serious staging was done to take that photo on their website. And I see people mentioning free wi-fi - not us it was $10 a day, For a hotel that claims to be upscale do you really need to suck more money our of your guests? There is a bus stop in front of the hotel which also attracts a lot of riff-raff. My husband accidentally banged into a woman walking down the street right in front of our hotel and she felt it necessary to start a fight and also spit on me, stay classy San Fransisco! The door man did help wipe the spit out of my hair I suppose that's the one star I would give this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LA GURL
Business
Hollywood
Jun 21, 2011

good spot

The place was clean and nice and they take dogs. Great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

in the middle of everything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mwr
Business
Denver
Oct 3, 2010

Nice hotel

Visit son.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple from Sunny San Diego
Business
Sam Diego
May 25, 2009

Nice Location and hotel

Palomar is right in the heart of Market street and just blocks of fancy shopping and restaurants. Westfield Mall is next door and quite nice. We love the free wine reception and friendly staff. Hotel restaurant was nice but EXPENSIVE, especially for breakfast. There are tons of bistros, cafes, and local restaurants like "mel's diner", one block away, where you can get breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the city tour. You get to see all San Francisco. The hotel staff can arrange the tour for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top