$230 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 12 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Regina27
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Aug 29, 2011

would not return

This hotel is extremely over rated! We wish we could book this trip all over again. The restaurant recommendations were very touristy, not niche or very foodie like. They recommended one for late lunch and when we arrived found out they stopped serving lunch at 2pm. They must have an agreement set up with certain restaurants in the area. They were not personal at all. We were part of a conference in the area and were suppose to receive a conference special rate however the front desk manager basically told us the special room rates were all gone. In addition we extended our stay through the weekend (a total of 6 nights). My husband inquired about this rate several times throughout our stay and was suppose to receive a call back and a follow up was never made on the hotels behalf. The front desk manager did nothing to compensate us or even try to adjust the rate. Overall staff had a bit of an air about them. The hotel itself was super small, the bar and restaurant are dark and area is choppy. Whoever designed this space needs to get out if the design biz. Maybe they should call Jeff Lewis to execute a serious remodel. The 5pm "happy hour" was cheesy - one brand of cheap wine available in white or red. Big whoop, the least you could offer for your overpriced hotel. The gym was a joke, some serious staging was done to take that photo on their website. And I see people mentioning free wi-fi - not us it was $10 a day, For a hotel that claims to be upscale do you really need to suck more money our of your guests? There is a bus stop in front of the hotel which also attracts a lot of riff-raff. My husband accidentally banged into a woman walking down the street right in front of our hotel and she felt it necessary to start a fight and also spit on me, stay classy San Fransisco! The door man did help wipe the spit out of my hair I suppose that's the one star I would give this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LA GURL
Business
Hollywood
Jun 21, 2011

good spot

The place was clean and nice and they take dogs. Great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

in the middle of everything!

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wolverineguy55
Business
Dearborn, MI
May 15, 2011

Couldn't ask for anything more

I have to say this was one of the best experiences I had at a hotel. First, the staff was super friendly and polite. The staff at the desk were very helpful with suggestions for dining and things to do and telling you how to get around San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to House of Nanking on Kearny St. in Chinatown. I had the best Hot & Sour Soup I've ever had. Also, try the Sesame Chicken. It was delicious and served with sliced sweet potatoes in a barbecue sauce. The food was excellent. Please note, that they will seat you at a table with other people if you are by yourself or with a small group.

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Webboy
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 5, 2010

A good hotel with great service.

I chose the Palomar for my most recent business trip to SF, and I'm glad I did. I expected a certain level of refinement and service from the Palomar - as I do from other Kimpton hotels - and it did not disappoint. The hotel starts on the 5th floor of its building, and thus the lobby is rather old-fashioned and tiny. But the rooms and amenities are all modern. I stayed in a standard bedroom with a king-size bed. The room included an expansive desk, HDTV, iHome alarm clock, and a fair amount of drawer space. The room was large but not ridiculously so; I only had a view of the zen garden down on the fifth floor, so not much happening there. My room was quite quiet; I didn't even hear the Giants celebration happening this past week. My bed was firm and supportive and I was provided far too many pillows - not that I'm complaining! Wifi is free for InTouch members and is plenty fast with no hiccups; as an InTouch member I also received $10 to use towards the mini-bar. Nice. All of my interactions with the staff were top-notch. Checking out was a breeze, the doorman helped me save a few bucks on a cab, and I loved that the hotel had its own dog! Their rescued chocolate lab was lounging in the lobby's sun on the day I left. A really great, personal touch! All told, I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fifth Floor doesn't do coffee well. There are multiple Starbucks within walking distance and, if you're willing to travel further, Blue Bottle and Philz.

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mwr
Business
Denver
Oct 3, 2010

Nice hotel

Visit son.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skii Ross
Business
Corona Ca
Mar 22, 2010

Hotel Palomar San Francisco

The Hotel was very nice . The Resturaunt is expensive for what it serves . Not Family Friendly . I would of ask for a room away from the elevator it was noisy . Also the shocking thing about the Hotel was the Valet. They want you to Valet the car and now I know why at $45.00 a Day for Valet that is highway Robbery. I got there Valet the car never touched again until we left 2 days latter and at Check out $90.00 Later for Valet that was sick. I didnt see it posted any where what the cost was . The rooms were clean service was good. I know better now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk any where for shopping everyone does it .

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
conventionist
Business
Rochester, MN
Mar 18, 2010

Good location

Friendly flexile staff who allowed me to check in a few hours earlier than 3 pm. [...] The rooms were small and the lobby even smaller. It is very close to the Moscone convention centre, Powell station and other downtown attractions. No coffee maker in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Dec 14, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Great staff and we love the pet coordinator, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go for great jazz at the Jazz Bistro, just a short walk from the hotel

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tjdenboro
Business
London, UK
Dec 10, 2009

Nice Hotel

Very nice hotel with a brilliant location, one thing that irritated me alot was that the card keys didn't work and I had to wait several times for the security to come and lock me in my room. Apperantly they get disabled if they are near a mobile phone, credit cards or anything that is high tech which is completely impossible in today modern world. So my advice would be to change the card system to something that works, so for that reason I will unfortunatly to stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Westfield shopping centre just around the corner, and Union Square a few steps away.

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tjdenboro
Business
London, UK
Dec 10, 2009

Nice Hotel

Very nice hotel with a brilliant location, one thing that irritated me alot was that the card keys didn't work and I had to wait several times for the security to come and lock me in my room. Apperantly they get disabled if they are near a mobile phone, credit cards or anything that is high tech which is completely impossible in today modern world. So my advice would be to change the card system to something that works, so for that reason I will unfortunatly to stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Westfield shopping centre just around the corner, and Union Square a few steps away.

Back to menu Return to top