$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
12 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
37 reviews
What a welcoming staff!

We visited the Palomar as part of a landmark birthday trip for my partner. When we got there, to... See full review

  • rednikki
  • Jun 11, 2014
Definitely a STAY AGAIN!

As a conference host and traveling often - there is nothing like getting into a hotel that does it... See full review

  • tradeshowgypsy
  • Aug 30, 2013
Hidden gem off the beaten track
 

Best described as a sort of boho-luxe style, the secluded Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel occupies the top five floors of a beautiful historic building set two blocks away from Union Square. The hotel decor is warm and inviting, with red accents, based loosely on the Art Deco style of the 1930s. The Palomar San Francisco has plenty of customer-pleasing features including the fitness and spa facilities. Pets are welcome, and a complimentary Town Car service transports guests to the Financial District.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Cozy modern style in downtown SoMa
  • Excellent fitness and dining options
  • Pets get to stay here, too
Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms
 

There are 195 suites or guest rooms in the Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel, all sharing the Kimpton trademark of relaxed and sophisticated design sensibilities. Colors are soothing and muted olive greens and browns, with flashes or scarlet or bright orange, and furnishings include desks with upholstered chairs and armoires. The beds are comfortable and relaxing with high-quality bedding, and the whole atmosphere suggests an air of well-heeled sophistication aimed at pampering and relaxing guests. Coffee- and tea-making facilities are available and high-speed wireless Internet access is complimentary in rooms at the Palomar San Francisco. The bathrooms are equally chic, in the same pared down style as the bedrooms, with granite surfaces and Aveda complimentary toiletries.

Things To Do:

  • Westfield San Francisco Centre (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Union Square (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • 24 hours Business center
Policies and fees

  • Pets allowed (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

City View Corner King
City View Corner King 400 square feet with 1 King Bed
Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Double Double Deluxe Room 2 double size beds in a 315 square foot room iHome docking station
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room 2 double size beds in a 315 square foot room iHome docking station
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite 625 square feet one king bed one sofa bed in separate living room Fuji Spa tub.
Superior King
King Deluxe Room one King bed 315 square feet iHome docking station and Etro bath amenities.
Accessible King Deluxe Room
1 K Bd Roll in Shwr. Commun Features Avail
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room one King bed 300 square feet iHome docking station and Etro bath amenities.
Luxury Spa King
Luxury Spa King one king bed 350 square feet city views and jacuzzi
Executive King
Executive King 350 square feet one king bed iHome and Etro bath amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Mini bar
Turndown service
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Lands End: 2.1 mi

Dining

Dirty Habit
Located five floors above the streets of the bustling SOMA district Dirty Habit is an intimate hideaway within the Hotel Palomar for those seeking an alluring drinking and dining experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wolverineguy55
Business
Dearborn, MI
May 15, 2011

Couldn't ask for anything more

I have to say this was one of the best experiences I had at a hotel. First, the staff was super friendly and polite. The staff at the desk were very helpful with suggestions for dining and things to do and telling you how to get around San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to House of Nanking on Kearny St. in Chinatown. I had the best Hot & Sour Soup I've ever had. Also, try the Sesame Chicken. It was delicious and served with sliced sweet potatoes in a barbecue sauce. The food was excellent. Please note, that they will seat you at a table with other people if you are by yourself or with a small group.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Webboy
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 5, 2010

A good hotel with great service.

I chose the Palomar for my most recent business trip to SF, and I'm glad I did. I expected a certain level of refinement and service from the Palomar - as I do from other Kimpton hotels - and it did not disappoint. The hotel starts on the 5th floor of its building, and thus the lobby is rather old-fashioned and tiny. But the rooms and amenities are all modern. I stayed in a standard bedroom with a king-size bed. The room included an expansive desk, HDTV, iHome alarm clock, and a fair amount of drawer space. The room was large but not ridiculously so; I only had a view of the zen garden down on the fifth floor, so not much happening there. My room was quite quiet; I didn't even hear the Giants celebration happening this past week. My bed was firm and supportive and I was provided far too many pillows - not that I'm complaining! Wifi is free for InTouch members and is plenty fast with no hiccups; as an InTouch member I also received $10 to use towards the mini-bar. Nice. All of my interactions with the staff were top-notch. Checking out was a breeze, the doorman helped me save a few bucks on a cab, and I loved that the hotel had its own dog! Their rescued chocolate lab was lounging in the lobby's sun on the day I left. A really great, personal touch! All told, I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fifth Floor doesn't do coffee well. There are multiple Starbucks within walking distance and, if you're willing to travel further, Blue Bottle and Philz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mwr
Business
Denver
Oct 3, 2010

Nice hotel

Visit son.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skii Ross
Business
Corona Ca
Mar 22, 2010

Hotel Palomar San Francisco

The Hotel was very nice . The Resturaunt is expensive for what it serves . Not Family Friendly . I would of ask for a room away from the elevator it was noisy . Also the shocking thing about the Hotel was the Valet. They want you to Valet the car and now I know why at $45.00 a Day for Valet that is highway Robbery. I got there Valet the car never touched again until we left 2 days latter and at Check out $90.00 Later for Valet that was sick. I didnt see it posted any where what the cost was . The rooms were clean service was good. I know better now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk any where for shopping everyone does it .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
conventionist
Business
Rochester, MN
Mar 18, 2010

Good location

Friendly flexile staff who allowed me to check in a few hours earlier than 3 pm. [...] The rooms were small and the lobby even smaller. It is very close to the Moscone convention centre, Powell station and other downtown attractions. No coffee maker in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Dec 14, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Great staff and we love the pet coordinator, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go for great jazz at the Jazz Bistro, just a short walk from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tjdenboro
Business
London, UK
Dec 10, 2009

Nice Hotel

Very nice hotel with a brilliant location, one thing that irritated me alot was that the card keys didn't work and I had to wait several times for the security to come and lock me in my room. Apperantly they get disabled if they are near a mobile phone, credit cards or anything that is high tech which is completely impossible in today modern world. So my advice would be to change the card system to something that works, so for that reason I will unfortunatly to stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Westfield shopping centre just around the corner, and Union Square a few steps away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robbbie
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 15, 2009

Polamar Hotel, SF

Pleasant, friendly. great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Stay away from the hotel dinning, very expensive, moderate quality, poor service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Sep 30, 2009

We hoped for a little more....

The location of this particular hotel was excellent... across the street from BART and MUNI, within walking distance to many of the most interesting sites that San Francisco has to offer. the service was terrific, from check-in, to doorman, to concierge, everyone was absolutely the best. Our room was quite large and that was a plus. The bathroom was enormous but had only one sink. Can't understand why there was no exhaust fan. ON another note.. the concierge explained that morning coffee could only be coffee and tea... no croissants, no cereal, nothing.. just coffee. He explained that it had something to do with the hotel restaurant. since the restaurant and the hotel run separately from each other, neither was willing or could offer a breakfast buffet (you know, like they do at a Red Roof Inn)? I only know that we got up and had to walk to Mel's Diner for something to eat. If we had wanted room service from the hotel restaurant, that could have been arranged by placing an order on our door before 2a.m. It's not important, really, but it's an inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is within walking distance of so many things: great shopping, Chinatown, a beautiful garden complex (Yerba Buena park), the Contemporary Jewish Museum, the SFMOMA. Take a few steps in any direction and you'll find transportation to take you anywhere you'd like to go in the city, and inexpensively. We loved that aspect of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 28, 2009

Beautiful boutique hotel

We chose this hotel for its great location, the quality of the rooms, and the friendliness of their staff. They really take care of you here! The double room we stayed in was on the 7th floor with a view of Market St. It was surprisingly quiet! There's plenty of room in the closet, a spacious bathroom, and the flat screen TV and DVD player worked fine. We had an excellent stay and would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is unbeatable. We took BART from the airport and the Hotel is right on the doorstep of the Market St. station. The F-line street car has a stop along the street in front of the hotel and the cable car turnaround is very close too. Taxis were in abundance around the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top