$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
12 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
35 reviews
What a welcoming staff!

We visited the Palomar as part of a landmark birthday trip for my partner. When we got there, to... See full review

  • rednikki
  • Jun 11, 2014
Definitely a STAY AGAIN!

As a conference host and traveling often - there is nothing like getting into a hotel that does it... See full review

  • tradeshowgypsy
  • Aug 30, 2013
Hidden gem off the beaten track
 

Best described as a sort of boho-luxe style, the secluded Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel occupies the top five floors of a beautiful historic building set two blocks away from Union Square. The hotel decor is warm and inviting, with red accents, based loosely on the Art Deco style of the 1930s. The Palomar San Francisco has plenty of customer-pleasing features including the fitness and spa facilities. Pets are welcome, and a complimentary Town Car service transports guests to the Financial District.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Cozy modern style in downtown SoMa
  • Excellent fitness and dining options
  • Pets get to stay here, too
Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms
 

There are 195 suites or guest rooms in the Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel, all sharing the Kimpton trademark of relaxed and sophisticated design sensibilities. Colors are soothing and muted olive greens and browns, with flashes or scarlet or bright orange, and furnishings include desks with upholstered chairs and armoires. The beds are comfortable and relaxing with high-quality bedding, and the whole atmosphere suggests an air of well-heeled sophistication aimed at pampering and relaxing guests. Coffee- and tea-making facilities are available and high-speed wireless Internet access is complimentary in rooms at the Palomar San Francisco. The bathrooms are equally chic, in the same pared down style as the bedrooms, with granite surfaces and Aveda complimentary toiletries.

Things To Do:

  • Westfield San Francisco Centre (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Union Square (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • 24 hours Business center
Policies and fees

  • Pets allowed (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7853 -122.4055
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 13.00, MI, N; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.70, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 21.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

City View Corner King
City View Corner King 400 square feet with 1 King Bed
Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Double Double Deluxe Room 2 double size beds in a 315 square foot room iHome docking station
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room 2 double size beds in a 315 square foot room iHome docking station
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite 625 square feet one king bed one sofa bed in separate living room Fuji Spa tub.
Superior King
King Deluxe Room one King bed 315 square feet iHome docking station and Etro bath amenities.
Accessible King Deluxe Room
1 K Bd Roll in Shwr. Commun Features Avail
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room one King bed 300 square feet iHome docking station and Etro bath amenities.
Luxury Spa King
Luxury Spa King one king bed 350 square feet city views and jacuzzi
Executive King
Executive King 350 square feet one king bed iHome and Etro bath amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Mini bar
Turndown service
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Dining

Dirty Habit
Located five floors above the streets of the bustling SOMA district Dirty Habit is an intimate hideaway within the Hotel Palomar for those seeking an alluring drinking and dining experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
miss nicole marie
San Francisco
Oct 26, 2012

Great view of Market st.

Very friendly staff that was accommodating. Would love to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Midwest Tech CEO
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 13, 2012

Loud and a bad night's sleep

As someone who travels 40 nights a year for work, I value a good night's sleep especially when I pay a premium rate for a hotel and am on a fast-paced trip. On this trip, I checked in by 6 pm at the Palomar yet was still given a room off the "lounge/breakfast area" on the 5th floor. Concerned that it would be loud, I asked and was assured it would be quiet by 7 pm and in the morning. Instead, there were people partying in the lounge until 11 pm and I was woken up at 5:45 am by staff setting up for breakfast. Not at all pleased with my stay here, and the front desk staff didn't offer much in the way of apology or "make good" when I discussed the issue with the front desk in the morning. I'll do my best to take my business elsewhere on my next trip to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mmbo
Honolulu, HI, USA
Aug 7, 2012

good location

wonderful, staff helpful, free wine in evenings, large suite. a little noisy with construction next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sram0151
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Great Location

My recent stay at the Palomar was excellent. PROS: Hotel Bar Happy Hour w/ free wine Nice rooms w/ iPod radios Location, near tons of shopping and public transportation Cons: Parking is extra Wireless and Cell signal was spotty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Israel
Oct 29, 2011

Great staff, really nice hotel

Very pleasant stay with super helpful and friendly staff. The hotel itself is nicely designed with spacious (for SF!) rooms. Wine hour is a nice touch. Fitness facilities could be expanded upon a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
snappysam
Geelong, Australia
Sep 6, 2011

Has potential, service and room with no outlook made it an average stay.

I feel I paid too much for this room. We got a one bedroom with a fuji bath tub. I assumed that rooms that are a higher grade than average would normally, you would think have the better outlook, now I wasn't expecting views just being able to look out onto the street would have been ample. We were traveling with a 2 year old and a 5 year old and a lot of luggage. The taxi pulled up at the curb and took the bags out while I rounded up the kids and went to search for someone who worked there and asked for a bell man. Waiting waiting with 2 kids and our luggage on the street, no one so we took it upon ourselves to find a cart, load up our belongings and head inside for check in. Still no sight of a bell man. We got our room allocation and headed upstairs to be stopped by who I can only assume was the manager to say that guests were not to push the carts as it was dangerous. Hmmm interesting. Wait for a bell man. I think we have done all the waiting that we need to do, so we then struggled to carry our bags into the lifts and up to our room without a cart. Much safer this way! Along with the kids. To our suite, and it was an interior facing room, I hate these, I really feel this should be mentioned at the time of booking. I paid nearly $500 a night for this, you are joking. The room itself was lovely, clean and plenty of space for our family. Fantastic location. When we did see the bell man we did ask for directions to Fisherman Wharf, surely this would be an easy ask, nope got it wrong, lucky I double checked. I asked questions a couple of times all wrong. Please if you don't know just tell me and I will someone who does, it just wastes our time otherwise. So apart from the staff and in the inward facing room, it was great, would I stay here again maybe in an outward facing room and with some new staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Save yourself some money and stress and just use the Public transport system. Hop on Hop Off was a waste of money. If you catch the F line tram if your stop is full take a short walk to the one before. It is amazing how many people didn't do this and would get angry at the drivers.

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Regina27
Rochester, NY, USA
Aug 29, 2011

would not return

This hotel is extremely over rated! We wish we could book this trip all over again. The restaurant recommendations were very touristy, not niche or very foodie like. They recommended one for late lunch and when we arrived found out they stopped serving lunch at 2pm. They must have an agreement set up with certain restaurants in the area. They were not personal at all. We were part of a conference in the area and were suppose to receive a conference special rate however the front desk manager basically told us the special room rates were all gone. In addition we extended our stay through the weekend (a total of 6 nights). My husband inquired about this rate several times throughout our stay and was suppose to receive a call back and a follow up was never made on the hotels behalf. The front desk manager did nothing to compensate us or even try to adjust the rate. Overall staff had a bit of an air about them. The hotel itself was super small, the bar and restaurant are dark and area is choppy. Whoever designed this space needs to get out if the design biz. Maybe they should call Jeff Lewis to execute a serious remodel. The 5pm "happy hour" was cheesy - one brand of cheap wine available in white or red. Big whoop, the least you could offer for your overpriced hotel. The gym was a joke, some serious staging was done to take that photo on their website. And I see people mentioning free wi-fi - not us it was $10 a day, For a hotel that claims to be upscale do you really need to suck more money our of your guests? There is a bus stop in front of the hotel which also attracts a lot of riff-raff. My husband accidentally banged into a woman walking down the street right in front of our hotel and she felt it necessary to start a fight and also spit on me, stay classy San Fransisco! The door man did help wipe the spit out of my hair I suppose that's the one star I would give this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LA GURL
Hollywood
Jun 21, 2011

good spot

The place was clean and nice and they take dogs. Great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

in the middle of everything!

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wolverineguy55
Dearborn, MI
May 15, 2011

Couldn't ask for anything more

I have to say this was one of the best experiences I had at a hotel. First, the staff was super friendly and polite. The staff at the desk were very helpful with suggestions for dining and things to do and telling you how to get around San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to House of Nanking on Kearny St. in Chinatown. I had the best Hot & Sour Soup I've ever had. Also, try the Sesame Chicken. It was delicious and served with sliced sweet potatoes in a barbecue sauce. The food was excellent. Please note, that they will seat you at a table with other people if you are by yourself or with a small group.

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Webboy
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 5, 2010

A good hotel with great service.

I chose the Palomar for my most recent business trip to SF, and I'm glad I did. I expected a certain level of refinement and service from the Palomar - as I do from other Kimpton hotels - and it did not disappoint. The hotel starts on the 5th floor of its building, and thus the lobby is rather old-fashioned and tiny. But the rooms and amenities are all modern. I stayed in a standard bedroom with a king-size bed. The room included an expansive desk, HDTV, iHome alarm clock, and a fair amount of drawer space. The room was large but not ridiculously so; I only had a view of the zen garden down on the fifth floor, so not much happening there. My room was quite quiet; I didn't even hear the Giants celebration happening this past week. My bed was firm and supportive and I was provided far too many pillows - not that I'm complaining! Wifi is free for InTouch members and is plenty fast with no hiccups; as an InTouch member I also received $10 to use towards the mini-bar. Nice. All of my interactions with the staff were top-notch. Checking out was a breeze, the doorman helped me save a few bucks on a cab, and I loved that the hotel had its own dog! Their rescued chocolate lab was lounging in the lobby's sun on the day I left. A really great, personal touch! All told, I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fifth Floor doesn't do coffee well. There are multiple Starbucks within walking distance and, if you're willing to travel further, Blue Bottle and Philz.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search