$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 12 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan Work
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Aug 30, 2013

Palomar

Friendly staff, nice amenities, good location, would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tradeshowgypsy
Business
Arizona
Aug 30, 2013

Definitely a STAY AGAIN!

As a conference host and traveling often - there is nothing like getting into a hotel that does it right! Beautiful, clean hotel with exceptional customer service. In the midst of a very hectic week, coming into the sanctuary of that hotel made a world of difference in able to rest for full days of work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler from the Desert
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jan 26, 2013

Love Kimpton Hotels

I really do love all of the Kimpton hotels. From the moment you walk in the door everyone is friendly, helpful, and just a joy. Only bummer was not having coffee in your room, and then having the coffee in the center taken away at 10AM, but it is a small price to pay for everything else being perfect. And, the coffee that was available was outstanding (much much better than "hotel room" coffee).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aggie Class of '75
Business
College Station, Texas
Jan 7, 2013

Great Family Excursion

This is a small European style property that is very close to Union Square. The staff were unbelivablly nice and attentive, opening the door for us on our return from excursions and calling us by name! Very personalized service. From someone who teaches human resource development and customer service at a major university, I was quite pleased with what I experienced. We would definitely stay at this property the next time we are in San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
miss nicole marie
Business
San Francisco
Oct 26, 2012

Great view of Market st.

Very friendly staff that was accommodating. Would love to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Midwest Tech CEO
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 13, 2012

Loud and a bad night's sleep

As someone who travels 40 nights a year for work, I value a good night's sleep especially when I pay a premium rate for a hotel and am on a fast-paced trip. On this trip, I checked in by 6 pm at the Palomar yet was still given a room off the "lounge/breakfast area" on the 5th floor. Concerned that it would be loud, I asked and was assured it would be quiet by 7 pm and in the morning. Instead, there were people partying in the lounge until 11 pm and I was woken up at 5:45 am by staff setting up for breakfast. Not at all pleased with my stay here, and the front desk staff didn't offer much in the way of apology or "make good" when I discussed the issue with the front desk in the morning. I'll do my best to take my business elsewhere on my next trip to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mmbo
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Aug 7, 2012

good location

wonderful, staff helpful, free wine in evenings, large suite. a little noisy with construction next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sram0151
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Great Location

My recent stay at the Palomar was excellent. PROS: Hotel Bar Happy Hour w/ free wine Nice rooms w/ iPod radios Location, near tons of shopping and public transportation Cons: Parking is extra Wireless and Cell signal was spotty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Israel
Oct 29, 2011

Great staff, really nice hotel

Very pleasant stay with super helpful and friendly staff. The hotel itself is nicely designed with spacious (for SF!) rooms. Wine hour is a nice touch. Fitness facilities could be expanded upon a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
snappysam
Business
Geelong, Australia
Sep 6, 2011

Has potential, service and room with no outlook made it an average stay.

I feel I paid too much for this room. We got a one bedroom with a fuji bath tub. I assumed that rooms that are a higher grade than average would normally, you would think have the better outlook, now I wasn't expecting views just being able to look out onto the street would have been ample. We were traveling with a 2 year old and a 5 year old and a lot of luggage. The taxi pulled up at the curb and took the bags out while I rounded up the kids and went to search for someone who worked there and asked for a bell man. Waiting waiting with 2 kids and our luggage on the street, no one so we took it upon ourselves to find a cart, load up our belongings and head inside for check in. Still no sight of a bell man. We got our room allocation and headed upstairs to be stopped by who I can only assume was the manager to say that guests were not to push the carts as it was dangerous. Hmmm interesting. Wait for a bell man. I think we have done all the waiting that we need to do, so we then struggled to carry our bags into the lifts and up to our room without a cart. Much safer this way! Along with the kids. To our suite, and it was an interior facing room, I hate these, I really feel this should be mentioned at the time of booking. I paid nearly $500 a night for this, you are joking. The room itself was lovely, clean and plenty of space for our family. Fantastic location. When we did see the bell man we did ask for directions to Fisherman Wharf, surely this would be an easy ask, nope got it wrong, lucky I double checked. I asked questions a couple of times all wrong. Please if you don't know just tell me and I will someone who does, it just wastes our time otherwise. So apart from the staff and in the inward facing room, it was great, would I stay here again maybe in an outward facing room and with some new staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Save yourself some money and stress and just use the Public transport system. Hop on Hop Off was a waste of money. If you catch the F line tram if your stop is full take a short walk to the one before. It is amazing how many people didn't do this and would get angry at the drivers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top