$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
12 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
54 reviews
What a welcoming staff!

We visited the Palomar as part of a landmark birthday trip for my partner. When we got there, to... See full review

  • rednikki
  • Jun 11, 2014
Definitely a STAY AGAIN!

As a conference host and traveling often - there is nothing like getting into a hotel that does it... See full review

  • tradeshowgypsy
  • Aug 30, 2013
Hidden gem off the beaten track
 

Best described as a sort of boho-luxe style, the secluded Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel occupies the top five floors of a beautiful historic building set two blocks away from Union Square. The hotel decor is warm and inviting, with red accents, based loosely on the Art Deco style of the 1930s. The Palomar San Francisco has plenty of customer-pleasing features including the fitness and spa facilities. Pets are welcome, and a complimentary Town Car service transports guests to the Financial District.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Cozy modern style in downtown SoMa
  • Excellent fitness and dining options
  • Pets get to stay here, too
Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms
 

There are 195 suites or guest rooms in the Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel, all sharing the Kimpton trademark of relaxed and sophisticated design sensibilities. Colors are soothing and muted olive greens and browns, with flashes or scarlet or bright orange, and furnishings include desks with upholstered chairs and armoires. The beds are comfortable and relaxing with high-quality bedding, and the whole atmosphere suggests an air of well-heeled sophistication aimed at pampering and relaxing guests. Coffee- and tea-making facilities are available and high-speed wireless Internet access is complimentary in rooms at the Palomar San Francisco. The bathrooms are equally chic, in the same pared down style as the bedrooms, with granite surfaces and Aveda complimentary toiletries.

Things To Do:

  • Westfield San Francisco Centre (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Union Square (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • 24 hours Business center
Policies and fees

  • Pets allowed (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

City View Corner King
City View Corner King 400 square feet with 1 King Bed
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite 625 square feet one king bed one sofa bed in separate living room Fuji Spa tub.
Accessible Double Double Deluxe
Double Double Deluxe Room 2 double size beds in a 315 square foot room iHome docking station
Double Double Deluxe Room
Double Double Deluxe Room 2 double size beds in a 315 square foot room iHome docking station
Accessible Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite 625 square feet one king bed one sofa bed in separate living room Fuji Spa tub.
Superior King
King Deluxe Room one King bed 315 square feet iHome docking station and Etro bath amenities.
Executive King
Executive King 350 square feet one king bed iHome and Etro bath amenities.
Accessible King Deluxe Room
1 K Bd Roll in Shwr. Commun Features Avail
King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Room one King bed 300 square feet iHome docking station and Etro bath amenities.
Luxury King
Luxury King with one king bed 350 square feet city views Etro bath amenities and jacuzzi

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Mini bar
Turndown service
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7853 -122.4055
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 13.00, MI, N; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.70, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 21.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi

Dining

Dirty Habit
Located five floors above the streets of the bustling SOMA district Dirty Habit is an intimate hideaway within the Hotel Palomar for those seeking an alluring drinking and dining experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mmbo
Honolulu, HI, USA
Aug 7, 2012

good location

wonderful, staff helpful, free wine in evenings, large suite. a little noisy with construction next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WLWD
Nashville, TN
Jun 16, 2014

Anniversary vacation

My wife and I made our first ever trip to San Francisco and knew we wanted to stay in the Union Sqaure district but didn't know where. When we chose the Palomar we didn't know what to expect but as it turned out it was a wonderful choice. the location could not have been better. It was close to the square, Chinatown, AT&T Park, and all public transportation. moving about the city was fast and convenient. As for the hotel, it was very nice. Well maintained and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to the Bay area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rednikki
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 11, 2014

What a welcoming staff!

We visited the Palomar as part of a landmark birthday trip for my partner. When we got there, to our surprise, we were upgraded to an INCREDIBLE suite which looked out on the courtyard. There were balloons, there was prosecco - it was just fantastic. They made us feel so welcome throughout our stay and were so helpful. Yes, the restaurant was closed for renovations, but...it's San Francisco! If you can't find someplace amazing to eat nearby, you need to review your life choices. And if you were too lazy to leave the hotel, well, the staff were ready, willing and able to pick up food at 15 different local restaurants and bring it right to your door. Now THAT'S service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bring a car ... but if you do, the Hearst Garage on the next block is the cheapest overnight parking option.

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yeppers74
Santa Rosa, California
Apr 20, 2014

Nice place to stay

Great hotel besides the toilet that ran all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Couple great bars very close by. Download Uber app and save at least 20% over cab fares and your not in a stinky cab

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clashy
Madison, WI
Oct 1, 2013

Perfect convenience and comfort for a weekend stay

The location could not be more convenient, and the room and lobby were clean and very pleasant. Staff were great. We didn't spend a lot of time there or take advantage of the happy hour or dining options, but we were happy we chose it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BJD939
Minneapolis
Sep 23, 2013

Great Stay, Great Location

Good, Great, Grand, Wonderful. We go to San Fran quite a bit and will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Redford

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business Traveler 1424235
Business
La, CA
Sep 5, 2013

Very Nice, but watch out for 504

Hotel is great, but room 504 is right outside the restautant longe, and is noisy, even at night. I was awoken at about 11 by some loud talking and laughter, because it was literally 12 feet from my door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tradeshowgypsy
Business
Arizona
Aug 30, 2013

Definitely a STAY AGAIN!

As a conference host and traveling often - there is nothing like getting into a hotel that does it right! Beautiful, clean hotel with exceptional customer service. In the midst of a very hectic week, coming into the sanctuary of that hotel made a world of difference in able to rest for full days of work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan Work
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Aug 30, 2013

Palomar

Friendly staff, nice amenities, good location, would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler from the Desert
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jan 26, 2013

Love Kimpton Hotels

I really do love all of the Kimpton hotels. From the moment you walk in the door everyone is friendly, helpful, and just a joy. Only bummer was not having coffee in your room, and then having the coffee in the center taken away at 10AM, but it is a small price to pay for everything else being perfect. And, the coffee that was available was outstanding (much much better than "hotel room" coffee).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palomar San Francisco, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aggie Class of '75
College Station, Texas
Jan 7, 2013

Great Family Excursion

This is a small European style property that is very close to Union Square. The staff were unbelivablly nice and attentive, opening the door for us on our return from excursions and calling us by name! Very personalized service. From someone who teaches human resource development and customer service at a major university, I was quite pleased with what I experienced. We would definitely stay at this property the next time we are in San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top