$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Orchard Hotel

3 stars
View map of 665 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPluimer
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 20, 2010

Excellent Business Trip

The Orchard Hotel provided a very welcoming and comfortable experience for a business traveler. The room was very spacious with good resources for keeping up with the office, I was able to use the business center at the Orchard Garden (sister) hotel 2 blocks away, and the location was excellent for my meetings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast in the hotel was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ATL
Dec 19, 2010

nice place

the front desk and the bell staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ask the front desk for near by eateries. they were most helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Nov 30, 2010

Will definitely return!

Stayed for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it! The beds are awesome, one of the best beds I've ever slept in (pillows not so much). We had a room on the eight floor and the room was really quiet. There was some kind of plumbing or water pipe breakage during our stay and we woke to blow dryer's noise in the hallway on one of the nights. Apparently it was pretty bad, we saw those dryers on many floors. Because of that they were willing to give us a really late check-out free of charge on the last day, so we were happy and got the most of our last day in SF too! Generally people working at this hotel are very nice and listen to your requests. Didn't have breakfast included, so can't say much about the quality of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do NOT eat at the Roxanne Cafe around the corner! The service is terrible and food is not that good either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Downers Grove, IL
Aug 6, 2009

Friendly hotel

Great location, right on the cable car line, which some may feel could be noisy but only when it's early in the AM when not much other noise. The room was very nice, staff friendly, and elevators worked quickly. Bed was very comfortable, nice pillows and mini frig nice to have. We did alot of walking so a minor drawback was no hot-tub to relax but guess they have access to a spa/health club for a fee. Did not eat in restaurant, seemed pricy but some great less expensive places within a couple of blocks. We found a friendly deli place for breakfast, Cable Car Deli right on Powell less than a block away that was great prices and service. I liked that is was not right in the heart of Union Square but close so you could access shopping and transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel close to lots of restaurants and shopping both inexpensive to the high end places in Union Sq. area. If planning to tour the city, get the Muni-pass so you can take any type of public transit, except BART, with it. We used it alot and got our money's worth for sure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey
Nov 13, 2009

Great location, near everything

Great comfortable clean room..away from street noise, very quiet at night which is rare for hotels in SF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Oct 29, 2009

Great location, nice room

The hotel is in a great location- close by to Chinatown, Union Square, Powell cable car. Also, if looking to get out of the city for the day, there's a rental car company just one block down from the hotel. Also, there are some very good restaurants located near the hotel. The room was as advertised. Very clean and nicely decorated- very spa like. We arrived early at 10:30 am and we were able to check in early without charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Jun 7, 2009

Quiet spot in downtown sf

This is a small friendly hotel in the heart of downtown. The beds see comfy. The rooms are clean and cozy. The staff was friendly and helpful. It does not have a ton of amenities- so if you need a pool or a full gym or a business center look elsewhere. This is perfect for a quick get away in San francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roxannes cafe next door served great brunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Nov 13, 2009

Great San Francisco Getaway...

Our first stay @ The Orchard. We have stayed @ most all of the large major hotels in the city. This was a great 5day/4night "Getaway Hotel" in a good & safe location at a very fair price... close to shopping, bars, restaurants, cable car, etc. The lobby is small & very unimpressive but the rooms are very nice & comfortable. The bar & restaurant are nice but not a destination. We would definitely stay there on a return visit to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crab cracker
Business
Spokane, WA
Aug 6, 2009

First timers

this was our first time in San Francisco. We stayed here because it looked nice compared to some others in the Union Square area and we got a great deal on it. I think the rooms were bigger too. The rooms seemed newly renovated and they were clean. It always felt hot in our room, and very cold two floors down in my parents room, and even with the fan, it was a little hard to regulate the temp. Overall, the staff was very friendly as well and got us a limo back to the airport the last morning. It is just far enough from the busiest part of Union Square, but close to everything you need to get to, including all the types of transportation you might use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely pick up a Muni pass (we did a 3 day) and after taking a classic trolley ride down the wharf, use the other types of transportations available like the electric buses and such. you'll get there much quickler than the trolleys, but it's fun to ride once or twice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montana
Jun 8, 2010

Good location; good price

Courteous, friendly staff; good location, near Union Square; quiet room with good amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining options within 4 blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top