$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

Orchard Hotel

3 stars
View map of 665 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobby cass
Business
Monrovia, CA
Jul 5, 2009

Nice Holiday Weekend

We came to S.F. for the 4th of July. The city was crowded. The Orchard Hotel was in a good location right near the Cable Car stop. The room was very clean. The decor was very pleasant. Overall, we had a good time in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't expect to use the Public Transportation, expecially the Cable Cars, if you're in a hurry. Cabs were easy to find, however.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 1, 2009

Great Place

The hotel room was huge and comfortable. The Orchard is environmentally friendly and would only wash your sheets if you asked as well as your towels which I think is a nice option. Also, it was centrally located near Union Square and you could easily walk to Chinatown or catch the bus or trolly to North Beach (5 min) and Fisherman's Wharf (8 min away).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

My boyfriend and I bought a pass on one of the many bus tours that the city has and cruised around on it the first day to see the sights and get our bearings, we then bought a map and bought a bus pass and took that everywhere, the drivers rarely check the tickets so one pass lasts all day (same usually goes for the tour pass)

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thequietstorm
Business
Edmonton, AB.
Aug 11, 2009

Loved It!

Both my wife and I spent 4 wonderful nights here. We did a San Francisco stopover on our way back home to Canada from the Far East. The front desk and concierge were both very friendly and helpful. The rooms were excellent and the housekeeping simply awesome! The location is great and very convenient. Getting a taxi was not an issue. We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Max's Restaurant at Geary & Mason serves great food. Try the crab cake eggs benedict! Lori's Restaurant, which is a block south, is to be avoided. Food and service are mediocre at best and very touristy!

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Jul 28, 2009

Great location!

This is a very nice hotel. Clean, great location, friendly staff. We just found it a bit noisy (we could hear other guests shower and the picking up of garbage cans in the street at 4:00 AM!) Don't miss the TARTINE bakery on the corner of Guerrero and 8th street! (South of Market). There will probably be a long line, but it is totally worth it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the city pass it is worth it! if you buy it on pier 39 you may get a trip to Alcatraz island included on your city pass. Unfortunately when we were there they were sold out.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zum zum
Business
California
Nov 9, 2010

Nice Hotel

The hotel was very good, nice location, and the room was comfy. Dont eat at their restaurant, we went there for breakfast, everything is expensive and the service was terrible. I def recommend the hotel but not the restaurant...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPluimer
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 20, 2010

Excellent Business Trip

The Orchard Hotel provided a very welcoming and comfortable experience for a business traveler. The room was very spacious with good resources for keeping up with the office, I was able to use the business center at the Orchard Garden (sister) hotel 2 blocks away, and the location was excellent for my meetings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast in the hotel was very good.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ATL
Dec 19, 2010

nice place

the front desk and the bell staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ask the front desk for near by eateries. they were most helpful.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Nov 30, 2010

Will definitely return!

Stayed for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it! The beds are awesome, one of the best beds I've ever slept in (pillows not so much). We had a room on the eight floor and the room was really quiet. There was some kind of plumbing or water pipe breakage during our stay and we woke to blow dryer's noise in the hallway on one of the nights. Apparently it was pretty bad, we saw those dryers on many floors. Because of that they were willing to give us a really late check-out free of charge on the last day, so we were happy and got the most of our last day in SF too! Generally people working at this hotel are very nice and listen to your requests. Didn't have breakfast included, so can't say much about the quality of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do NOT eat at the Roxanne Cafe around the corner! The service is terrible and food is not that good either.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Downers Grove, IL
Aug 6, 2009

Friendly hotel

Great location, right on the cable car line, which some may feel could be noisy but only when it's early in the AM when not much other noise. The room was very nice, staff friendly, and elevators worked quickly. Bed was very comfortable, nice pillows and mini frig nice to have. We did alot of walking so a minor drawback was no hot-tub to relax but guess they have access to a spa/health club for a fee. Did not eat in restaurant, seemed pricy but some great less expensive places within a couple of blocks. We found a friendly deli place for breakfast, Cable Car Deli right on Powell less than a block away that was great prices and service. I liked that is was not right in the heart of Union Square but close so you could access shopping and transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel close to lots of restaurants and shopping both inexpensive to the high end places in Union Sq. area. If planning to tour the city, get the Muni-pass so you can take any type of public transit, except BART, with it. We used it alot and got our money's worth for sure.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey
Nov 13, 2009

Great location, near everything

Great comfortable clean room..away from street noise, very quiet at night which is rare for hotels in SF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top