$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Orchard Hotel

3 stars
665 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
142 reviews
Gem of a Hotel!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Orchard Hotel. The staff was friendly and welcoming at all... See full review

  • SinNYC
  • Jun 10, 2014
Very enjoyable

My husband and I have just spent 7 days at the Orchard Hotel in San Francisco. Such a wonderful... See full review

  • Ma54
  • Apr 9, 2014
Eco-friendly hotel near Union Square and steps from cable cars

As its name suggests, the residential-style Orchard Hotel is all about the environment. The boutique hotel was San Francisco's first hotel to become LEED-EB certified by the U.S. Green Building Council, and it continues to tout a number of eco-friendly programs today. The hotel was built in 2000, and rooms still feel brand-new. Daffodil, the on-site restaurant, serves a variety of cuisines from all over the world.

Highlights
  • Eco-friendly programs and organic bath products
  • Walk to shopping at Union Square and Westfield Centre mall
  • Complimentary business and fitness centers
Rooms

Relax and rejuvenate in one of the Orchard's 104 rooms, including nine suites. Armoires feature state-of-the-art DVD and CD entertainment centers and 27-inch flat-screen televisions. Guests will find large work desks, complimentary high-speed Internet and Wi-Fi and fully stocked mini-bars. Designed specifically for the Orchard, most of the furniture is made of wood from Bali. Bathrooms boast organic bath products.

Features

The Orchard opened in 2000, making it one of the newest boutique hotels in San Francisco. When it opened, it became the city's first LEED-EB certified hotel. Since then, the property has collected a number of other accolades for its commitment to eco-friendly practices. The Orchard continues to refine its approach to green.

Art is a common theme inside; a bronze-cast statue entitled "Spring Awakening" welcomes visitors to the lobby, and paintings and photographs in hallways upstairs are from local artists.

While the on-site fitness is complimentary, guests also have access to a handful of independent fitness facilities within walking distance (fees apply).

Dining

Daffodil, the eclectic on-site eatery, pairs seasonal and local organic cuisine with wines from all over the world. The restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner only, though a happy hour menu spotlights a number of tapas-style small plate dishes.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (20 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Westfield Centre shopping mall
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Executive boardroom is perfect for small meetings (seats 18)
  • Wine Room available at the on-site Daffodil restaurant
  • Special "Green Meeting" package
  • Complimentary Business Center
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.79 -122.4084
Area served
Located on Bush Street, adjacent to the Powell Street cable car line, two blocks from Union Square and midway up Nob Hill
Nearby airports
(SFO) San Francisco (OAK)Oakland (SJC)San Jose
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination...a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Hotel is up to the challenge.

The Orchard is just steps from the Powell Street cable car line, two blocks from the shopping mecca of Union Square and mid way up Nob Hill...in the midst of the pulse of San Francisco.

Take 101 north all the way into downtown San Francisco. As you enter downtown, stay in left lanes on 101 north, towards Golden Gate Bridge. Take the 9th Street exit, which exits right onto 9th Street. Stay in center or right lanes as you pass over Market Street. 9th becomes Larkin Street. Go up 11 blocks to Bush Street, make a right, go six blocks and cross Powell Street. We are the second building on the right side.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Orchard Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
The cozy yet sizeable accommodations offer a timeless contemporary design using a soft palate of restful colors in the wall, floor coverings and fabrics. Designed specifically for the rooms, the furniture is made of nyatoh wood from Bali, a golden toned wood that resembles a teak or a light mahogany. Armoires contain state of the art DVD and CD players with five speakers, a 27-inch TV with surround sound. The desk has excellent lighting and the two phones in the room have two lines with voicemail; one phone is cordless.

The wall art is beautifully framed artistic black and white photography depicting elements of San Francisco architecture and scenery.

Safety and convenience for guests includes safes in all closets, a minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, and a coffee maker.

Well-lighted, spacious baths feature Eco-pure bath products, hair dryers, and thick, cotton robes.

Grand Deluxe King Room
Our Grand deluxe room are located on top three floors of the hotel. Grand Deluxe rooms feature a mini-bar, DVD and CD players with home entertainment surround sound, dual-line cordless telephone, and high-speed Internet access, coffee maker, turn down service and complimentary newspaper.
Grand Deluxe Twin/Twin Room
Our Grand deluxe room are located on top three floors of the hotel. Grand Deluxe rooms feature a mini-bar, DVD and CD players with home entertainment surround sound, dual-line cordless telephone, and high-speed Internet access, coffee maker, turn down service and complimentary newspaper
Pure Hypo- Allergenic Deluxe King Room
Although all of our rooms follow a strict protocol for cleanliness, this Pure King Room has been specially treated to provide you with a hypo-allergenic space. PURE rooms provide our guests with fresh, clean, crisp air that allows you to have a better night sleep. This rooms includes all the amenities or our Deluxe King Room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi

Dining

Daffodil Restaurant
Daffodil Restaurant features a Modern American regional cuisine with French and Italian influences. Dine from a la carte menu or the prix fixe, all featuring sumptuous fresh seafood and tender meats accented with unique sauces and fresh vegetables. Decadents desserts complete the meal. Tabletops are appointed with Frette linens, Rosenthal, Isabel Lam and an array of unique china patterns. Jeweled handled Athena pattern silverware by Corby-Hall adds to the whimsical presentation framing Chef Feldeisen's creations. Breakfast service from 6am to 10am weekdays and 7am to 11am on weekends and holidays. Daffodil is closed for dinner; however the Bar is open from 5:30pm - 10:30pm and it offers a limited bar menu.
Daffodil
Daffodil Restaurant pairs the Bay Area's best seasonal cuisine with great wines from around the world - with a bit of a twist. We're offering small plates matched with an ample pour of a friendly wine that brings out the best flavors of the food.

A glass walled, private dining room featuring beautiful displays of one-of-a-kind wines can accommodate up to 24 guests.

The Bar is covered in reddish brown granite with high bar chairs. Whimsical lighting hangs over the bar and drama is created with an amazing array of inset lighting throughout the restaurant. Fine wines by the glass or bottle, an extensive choice of whole leaf teas, and specialty cocktails compliment each food selection.

Bar
Renowned Daffodil Restaurant and Bar is a gathering spot for the neighborhood, hotel guests, and those seeking one of the finest dining experiences in San Francisco.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Board Room is a private environment on the second floor, and comfortably seats 18 people around a specially designed board table, outfitted with modem access portals mounted in a center trough. Every detail has been thought through from lighting that is on rheostat and conducive to an all day meeting, to audio-visual assistance that is available at all times, swivel chairs that are ergonomically designed, and a restful color scheme. The Executive Board Room offers exceptional dining from Vignette's kitchen

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Polkadotz
West Carrollton, OH
Jun 2, 2012

Family get away

Hotel was clean and wonderfully decorated! Located right by the cable car! Would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terenure
San Francisco
Aug 4, 2012

Couples

Hotel was very central and room very big would recommend a stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Armin Fashion
London
Nov 24, 2012

Really glad i booked this hotel

I booked this hotel initially wasnt sure about the location but when got there found everything to be within walking distance of the hotel, restaurants, breakfast bars, union square only 2 blocks away. Definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frustrated in SF
Monterey
Jan 24, 2013

Frustrated in SF continued

This is to offset the negative review I wrote yesterday now that I have spoken to the General Manager, Juan Buena, who displayed excellent customer service and made it right. Would definetely stay again, great price for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The dueling piano bar down the street is a must!

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Orits
Huntington woods, mi
Apr 26, 2013

Nice hotel

Great location, friendly staff, nice clean rooms.i would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thisnicknamestuffisstupid
CT
Jun 3, 2013

Perfect spot in the heart of the city

Clean, efficient, good size room, quiet, no better place to be for getting around the city on public transportation. We'll go back next time we are in SF for sure. Staff was the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a day or a week pass to all muni transportation - save a lot of money, especially here, half way up the hill on Bush, immediately the Powell cable car lines

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CA Desert Dweller
Palm Springs,CA.
Jul 22, 2013

GreatLocation.

Fantastic hotel just minutes away from both Union Square and Chinatown. The staff is very attentative to our needs and were very helpful in suggesting places to eat and things ro do at night. Will definetely come back again for our next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SinNYC
NYC
Jun 10, 2014

Gem of a Hotel!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Orchard Hotel. The staff was friendly and welcoming at all times. The hotel is very clean and my room was cozy, tastefully decorated, and spotless. I was so comfortable, I wish I could have spent more time in the room but I wanted to see the city! My room was also quiet. The hotel is centrally located and it's very easy to get around the city from the hotel. I had a fabulous breakfast in the on-site restaurant - the food was delicious, the service was great and the dining room ambiance was delightful. I hope to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa
Jul 9, 2008

Great Hotel!

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved it! The staff was super friendly-gave us tips for restaurants, directions, and advice on things to do. The room was very comfortable, extremely clean, and we loved the turndown service. Loved that we could borrow DVD movies from the front desk on those nights we were too exhausted to go out! Location was terrific, very close to Union Square shopping and Chinatown! I would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Green Bay, WI
Mar 9, 2009

Perfection!

The staff was very professional and helpful. The doorman/concierge was most helpful. The hotel had an older charm yet very clean and comfortable. It was so much better than a chain hotel. We would most definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location was the best feature of this hotel. It is right around the corner from Powell St. and the cable car line. It was perfect for getting wherever we needed to go.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search