$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Orchard Hotel

3 stars
665 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
142 reviews
Gem of a Hotel!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Orchard Hotel. The staff was friendly and welcoming at all... See full review

  • SinNYC
  • Jun 10, 2014
Very enjoyable

My husband and I have just spent 7 days at the Orchard Hotel in San Francisco. Such a wonderful... See full review

  • Ma54
  • Apr 9, 2014
Eco-friendly hotel near Union Square and steps from cable cars

As its name suggests, the residential-style Orchard Hotel is all about the environment. The boutique hotel was San Francisco's first hotel to become LEED-EB certified by the U.S. Green Building Council, and it continues to tout a number of eco-friendly programs today. The hotel was built in 2000, and rooms still feel brand-new. Daffodil, the on-site restaurant, serves a variety of cuisines from all over the world.

Highlights
  • Eco-friendly programs and organic bath products
  • Walk to shopping at Union Square and Westfield Centre mall
  • Complimentary business and fitness centers
Rooms

Relax and rejuvenate in one of the Orchard's 104 rooms, including nine suites. Armoires feature state-of-the-art DVD and CD entertainment centers and 27-inch flat-screen televisions. Guests will find large work desks, complimentary high-speed Internet and Wi-Fi and fully stocked mini-bars. Designed specifically for the Orchard, most of the furniture is made of wood from Bali. Bathrooms boast organic bath products.

Features

The Orchard opened in 2000, making it one of the newest boutique hotels in San Francisco. When it opened, it became the city's first LEED-EB certified hotel. Since then, the property has collected a number of other accolades for its commitment to eco-friendly practices. The Orchard continues to refine its approach to green.

Art is a common theme inside; a bronze-cast statue entitled "Spring Awakening" welcomes visitors to the lobby, and paintings and photographs in hallways upstairs are from local artists.

While the on-site fitness is complimentary, guests also have access to a handful of independent fitness facilities within walking distance (fees apply).

Dining

Daffodil, the eclectic on-site eatery, pairs seasonal and local organic cuisine with wines from all over the world. The restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner only, though a happy hour menu spotlights a number of tapas-style small plate dishes.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (20 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Westfield Centre shopping mall
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Executive boardroom is perfect for small meetings (seats 18)
  • Wine Room available at the on-site Daffodil restaurant
  • Special "Green Meeting" package
  • Complimentary Business Center
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.79 -122.4084
Area served
Located on Bush Street, adjacent to the Powell Street cable car line, two blocks from Union Square and midway up Nob Hill
Nearby airports
(SFO) San Francisco (OAK)Oakland (SJC)San Jose
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination...a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Hotel is up to the challenge.

The Orchard is just steps from the Powell Street cable car line, two blocks from the shopping mecca of Union Square and mid way up Nob Hill...in the midst of the pulse of San Francisco.

Take 101 north all the way into downtown San Francisco. As you enter downtown, stay in left lanes on 101 north, towards Golden Gate Bridge. Take the 9th Street exit, which exits right onto 9th Street. Stay in center or right lanes as you pass over Market Street. 9th becomes Larkin Street. Go up 11 blocks to Bush Street, make a right, go six blocks and cross Powell Street. We are the second building on the right side.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Orchard Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
The cozy yet sizeable accommodations offer a timeless contemporary design using a soft palate of restful colors in the wall, floor coverings and fabrics. Designed specifically for the rooms, the furniture is made of nyatoh wood from Bali, a golden toned wood that resembles a teak or a light mahogany. Armoires contain state of the art DVD and CD players with five speakers, a 27-inch TV with surround sound. The desk has excellent lighting and the two phones in the room have two lines with voicemail; one phone is cordless.

The wall art is beautifully framed artistic black and white photography depicting elements of San Francisco architecture and scenery.

Safety and convenience for guests includes safes in all closets, a minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, and a coffee maker.

Well-lighted, spacious baths feature Eco-pure bath products, hair dryers, and thick, cotton robes.

Grand Deluxe King Room
Our Grand deluxe room are located on top three floors of the hotel. Grand Deluxe rooms feature a mini-bar, DVD and CD players with home entertainment surround sound, dual-line cordless telephone, and high-speed Internet access, coffee maker, turn down service and complimentary newspaper.
Grand Deluxe Twin/Twin Room
Our Grand deluxe room are located on top three floors of the hotel. Grand Deluxe rooms feature a mini-bar, DVD and CD players with home entertainment surround sound, dual-line cordless telephone, and high-speed Internet access, coffee maker, turn down service and complimentary newspaper
Pure Hypo- Allergenic Deluxe King Room
Although all of our rooms follow a strict protocol for cleanliness, this Pure King Room has been specially treated to provide you with a hypo-allergenic space. PURE rooms provide our guests with fresh, clean, crisp air that allows you to have a better night sleep. This rooms includes all the amenities or our Deluxe King Room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Board Room is a private environment on the second floor, and comfortably seats 18 people around a specially designed board table, outfitted with modem access portals mounted in a center trough. Every detail has been thought through from lighting that is on rheostat and conducive to an all day meeting, to audio-visual assistance that is available at all times, swivel chairs that are ergonomically designed, and a restful color scheme. The Executive Board Room offers exceptional dining from Vignette's kitchen

Dining

Daffodil Restaurant
Daffodil Restaurant features a Modern American regional cuisine with French and Italian influences. Dine from a la carte menu or the prix fixe, all featuring sumptuous fresh seafood and tender meats accented with unique sauces and fresh vegetables. Decadents desserts complete the meal. Tabletops are appointed with Frette linens, Rosenthal, Isabel Lam and an array of unique china patterns. Jeweled handled Athena pattern silverware by Corby-Hall adds to the whimsical presentation framing Chef Feldeisen's creations. Breakfast service from 6am to 10am weekdays and 7am to 11am on weekends and holidays. Daffodil is closed for dinner; however the Bar is open from 5:30pm - 10:30pm and it offers a limited bar menu.
Daffodil
Daffodil Restaurant pairs the Bay Area's best seasonal cuisine with great wines from around the world - with a bit of a twist. We're offering small plates matched with an ample pour of a friendly wine that brings out the best flavors of the food.

A glass walled, private dining room featuring beautiful displays of one-of-a-kind wines can accommodate up to 24 guests.

The Bar is covered in reddish brown granite with high bar chairs. Whimsical lighting hangs over the bar and drama is created with an amazing array of inset lighting throughout the restaurant. Fine wines by the glass or bottle, an extensive choice of whole leaf teas, and specialty cocktails compliment each food selection.

Bar
Renowned Daffodil Restaurant and Bar is a gathering spot for the neighborhood, hotel guests, and those seeking one of the finest dining experiences in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, tx
Aug 24, 2009

Great Place

The location was great. Easy to get anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wasatch Front Couple
Salt Lake City, UT
Aug 18, 2009

Location..Location..oh and AFFORDABLE!

The location was absolutely GREAT! This was our first trip to San Fransisco. The first full day we walked down to the SF MOMA. Afterwards we walked up and through Chinatown..and kept on walking...we walked up to Coit Tower...then walked to the top of Lombard St. Finally after walking what felt like forever...hopped on the trolley car and rod down to Fisherman's Wharf. Had a great dinner and rode the trolley back to Bush St. and walked the 30 feet or so to the hotel door. The staff at the Orchard was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms were clean..extremely clean. I've been grossed out at other hotels by small details..and this time I'm extremely happy to say this place had no "gross" out factor for me or my husband.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Uncle Vito's Pizza is almost kitty corner to the Orchard Hotel. It was a great deal...and great pizza. Nothing super fancy and I think one of our cheapest dinners there. The trolley cafe that is about 1/2 block down from the hotel was also a decent breakfast place.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento ca
Aug 17, 2009

GREAT

It was very good. We had to check in late becuase the room was not ready but we got comped some breakfast. All in all very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alamo, CA
Aug 16, 2009

a night in the city

a night in the city for my husband and I without our 2 year old son and we had a great time. the hotel staff was very friendly. the location of the hotel was perfect. we were within walking distance to everything we wanted to do. the room was clean and was a good size for the city too. would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel is 2 blocks from Union Square where all the good shopping is.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Aug 14, 2009

Excellent Place to Stay

While traveling to SF for a conference and to meet up with friends, this was an excellent hotel to stay in. It was easy to get around the city from the hotel (cabs, MUNI, and BART). The staff were excellent and helpful with anything we needed - from the mundane to quirky. Would recommend this place to anyone who had the budget to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The last day in town we decided to go to the SFMOMA. It was very easy to get there...walking down Bush will spit you out about 4 blocks from the museum.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
simiple getaway
los angeles, ca
Aug 14, 2009

To good times.

the location of this hotel is what i liked most. its only 2 blocks from union square and a few more to the shopping center. public transportation is very useful in sf. you can get to the cable cars right outside and the bus stop isn't too far away either. the room appeared clean, including the restroom and bed. these are both important clean spots in the hotel for me. the staff was very very helpful and very willing to help with all my inquiries. this ranged from internet problems, to parking, to tourist attractions. received great information in all counts. my only concern was the parking fees - they were pretty high. i understand that parking may be limited in the city, but if i'm staying at the hotel, shouldn't it be less expensive?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

look for non-metered parking to save on the valet parking. this is only a block away from the hotel. whether you find a parking depends entirely on luck.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 13, 2009

Wonderful hotel!

The location was perfect. On the first day we walked to Chinatown and the Ferry building. We ate at the Slanted Door, which was expensive Vietnamese fusion, but well worth it. We stopped off at the free Pacific Heritage Museum, which had a section of the first vault and art from contemporary Chinese artisits. We then drove to Ocean Beach and walked. It was so close to public transportation. We hopped on the F train to Castro & Noe, had a great dinner at La Mediterannee, and went to the punk bar Lucky 13. The second day we went to the Academy of Science. It had an amazing planetarium show, rainforest exhibit, penguins (feeding time was packed), aquarium, and a 3D bug movie. For dinner we went to Zarzuela, an incredible tapas restaurant. On the third day we went to Cafe de la Presse (on Grant, in front of the Gateway to Chinatown) and we had a delicious French breakfast and coffee. We then walked to Pier 39. It's a long walk, but the F train was packed so we just decided to try it. It was a good workout. Pier 39 was a tourist trap, so we hopped on the F train back to Union Square. We ate dinner in Union Square at Biscuit & Blues, a good Southern place. We didn't stay for the live music. We checked out the bar at John's Grill and wished that we had eaten there (seafood looked amazing). Next time! Then we hung out at the Chelsea Place bar a few doors down from the hotel. It was small but quaint. The room was great. Even though we had a room next to the elevator I barely heard it. The king bed was very comfortable and the room was a good size. The room was facing Union Square, but we saw a rooftop, the Marriott, and the Walgreen's on the corner (it's the city!). We parked at the Sutter-Stockton garage because it was cheaper (especially if you go in after 5pm and exit before 8am). We will definitely go there again. We got a great deal on Orbitz!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
klai
chicago, il
Aug 13, 2009

cozy, welcoming

great location, nice room. room service ends very early and selection isn't great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thequietstorm
Edmonton, AB.
Aug 11, 2009

Loved It!

Both my wife and I spent 4 wonderful nights here. We did a San Francisco stopover on our way back home to Canada from the Far East. The front desk and concierge were both very friendly and helpful. The rooms were excellent and the housekeeping simply awesome! The location is great and very convenient. Getting a taxi was not an issue. We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Max's Restaurant at Geary & Mason serves great food. Try the crab cake eggs benedict! Lori's Restaurant, which is a block south, is to be avoided. Food and service are mediocre at best and very touristy!

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
phx az
Aug 10, 2009

The best hotel i have stayed in

Very very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search