$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Orchard Hotel

3 stars
View map of 665 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ATL
Dec 19, 2010

nice place

the front desk and the bell staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ask the front desk for near by eateries. they were most helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Nov 30, 2010

Will definitely return!

Stayed for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it! The beds are awesome, one of the best beds I've ever slept in (pillows not so much). We had a room on the eight floor and the room was really quiet. There was some kind of plumbing or water pipe breakage during our stay and we woke to blow dryer's noise in the hallway on one of the nights. Apparently it was pretty bad, we saw those dryers on many floors. Because of that they were willing to give us a really late check-out free of charge on the last day, so we were happy and got the most of our last day in SF too! Generally people working at this hotel are very nice and listen to your requests. Didn't have breakfast included, so can't say much about the quality of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do NOT eat at the Roxanne Cafe around the corner! The service is terrible and food is not that good either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Take Me To The Bridge
Business
Alaska
Nov 27, 2010

Great location

My husband and I really loved our stay at the Orchard. They were able to accomidate us with an early check-in. All of the staff was friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel was perfect. We had a general store, laundry facility, cable car, and restaurants less than a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Renting a vehicle is definitely not necessary in San Francisco. Cabs are readily available and public transportation can get you were you need to be. If you are not into walking up hill, I would advise that a multiple day pass be purchased for the cable car as one way trips can get spendy and the passes are more reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney, Australia
Nov 18, 2010

Clean & Decent

The Orchard was in a decent location, just at the top of Powell up from the Union Square. Rooms were clean and neat. Nice beds as well. Our room had one of the largest bathrooms I have seen in that area. Overall it was a nice room, but I think you could get more for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cleveland, oh
Nov 17, 2010

Hotel was Overbooked

Upon arrival we were told that the hotel was overbooked and since we booked with a third party our room was not guaranteed. As a result we ended up staying about 6 floors lower than we booked with no discount to compensate. Good thing they had a room for us at all. Also, there weren't aveda bath products. Otherwise the hotel was clean enough, just not a great idea to book if you'd like any certainty in whether you'll have a bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Nov 9, 2010

excellent location and staff

excellent location. walking distance to union square and to Fisherman's wharf. quiet. would definitely stay there again. very reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zum zum
Business
California
Nov 9, 2010

Nice Hotel

The hotel was very good, nice location, and the room was comfy. Dont eat at their restaurant, we went there for breakfast, everything is expensive and the service was terrible. I def recommend the hotel but not the restaurant...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Devon, England
Aug 9, 2010

Cool accommodation in a great location

Used it a base for a first two day visit to San Francisco. The hotel is ideally located and attractive, and the room was most pleasant and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe de la Presse nearby offers a great breakfast.Better value than that offered by the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Aug 4, 2010

I got Free upgrade!

The hotel was very nice and enviromentally friendly. I had a reservation to stay at the Orchard Hotel, and they gave me a free upgrade at their new hotel, the Orchard Garden. The bed was very comfortable, towels big and fluffy. We were there to tour my daughters school that she will be attending this fall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We dined and did most of our shopping in Chinatown (less expensive). It is right around the corner. Make sure you take a jacket and comfotable shoes. Its very hilly in San Franscico!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kimberley, B.C. Canada
Jun 16, 2010

K

Staff were friendly, helpful and informative. The room was quiet and comfortable with all the amenities that I needed and wanted. Two of the three San Francisco Cable Car routes stopped outside the hotel and the location was within easy walking distance to many attractions. There were also convenience stores within a block which is always helpful. I would be happy to stay at the Orchard Hotel again anytime, by myself or with family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Baytix ticket outlet is at Union Square, two short blocks from the Orchard Hotel and it offers tickets for all the shows and plays taking place in San Francisco, including some half price tickets on the day of the show for certain productions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top