$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Orchard Hotel

3 stars
View map of 665 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frustrated in SF
Business
Monterey
Jan 23, 2013

They stole $500 from my account! Do Not Stay!

Headed to SF for a quick weekend getaway, we decided to give the Orchard a try. Great price, location borders the Tenderlion but is decent. Great welcome by the valet and front desk upon arrival. They even upgraded us to a king suite. So why the one star rating? Well, we left our car at the hotel so we could tool around the city for a couple hours after checkout. When we returned to pick up our car, we were asked to sign a smoking admittance and charged $500!!! The woman at the front desk, Victoria or Veronica, said they found evidence of smoking in the room...impossible because I don't smoke, we didn't smoke, the windows don't open, there's no fan, and there are smoke detectors in the room. Not to mention they make you sign a form when you check in that clearly states you will be charged a $500 smoking fee if you smoke. Only an idiot would take those chances, and once again...I DON'T SMOKE! Also read a few reviews that mentioned the same sort of shenanigans during their stay. She was very unsympathetic to the situation and had an 'oh well' attitude. Anyway, disputing the charges with the bank and may even file a police report for theft. About the hotel: it was semi-clean #hair on the bathroom floor, ceiling & shower# the bed was clean & comfy, majority of the staff was nice. There was some confusion about the continental breakfast #or lack thereof#. There is a $45 parking fee and, as I stated before, borders the creepy Tenderlion district. One blocks walk in the wrong direction and you're stepping over box springs, homeless people & herion users. Decent stay, but not for $650.00!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
For Business travel
Business
Chicago
Nov 30, 2012

Very Nice for Business trip

We were there for a business trip and we were impressed with how clean and nice the staff was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Armin Fashion
Business
London
Nov 24, 2012

Really glad i booked this hotel

I booked this hotel initially wasnt sure about the location but when got there found everything to be within walking distance of the hotel, restaurants, breakfast bars, union square only 2 blocks away. Definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beartrande
Business
UK
Oct 1, 2012

Lovely big room

Lovely big room with comfortable kingsize bed. Shame the bar area was small and closed at 9pm. Great location at the corner where the cable car runs. Luckily only one uphill block to climb! Also handy having a Starbucks down the hill for breakfast. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the cable car booth at the bottom of Powell Street, its a grey booth not very obvious. The 1, 3 or 7 day passport for travel on the cable cars, trams and buses are very good value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mooey
Business
London
Aug 13, 2012

Good

Good hotel located in a safe and pleasant part of town. Decor was dated but the hotel was comfortable and clean with free wifi. Cable car stop near by was useful but often busy. Only a 5 minute walk from Bart (powell) so easy to get to directly from the airport. Would recommend 'darn good food' a few blocks away - healthy, fresh food at good prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the Bart from the airport - so easy and $8 each. Just remember to put payment in first - weird for someone from London to be used to! The two cards with $10 each was an easy choice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terenure
Business
San Francisco
Aug 4, 2012

Couples

Hotel was very central and room very big would recommend a stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brenders
Business
New York
Jun 19, 2012

Excellent stay

Relaxing, comfort and cleanliness were what we were looking irwrd and what we got !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Polkadotz
Business
West Carrollton, OH
Jun 2, 2012

Family get away

Hotel was clean and wonderfully decorated! Located right by the cable car! Would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RRson
Business
Central Florida
Apr 23, 2012

Great spot - Great value

This charming hotel has it all...great location and wonderful rooms, at a price that would be hard to beat. The rooms are spacious, clean and well stocked, with free wifi to boot. Staff was courteous and helpful. This place gets 5 starts from us. The only reason "amenities" didn't get 5 stars is the television was old, though it worked fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the cable car multi-day pass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
augiegrad
Business
minnesota
Mar 23, 2012

review of Orchard hotel

I thought the value of this hotel was great. It is located two blocks from the gate into chinatown and right on the cable car pathway to fisherman's wharf. I did alot of shopping in the union square area and it is just blocks away. Lulu lemon was two blocks from the hotel! The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and more spacious than alot of rooms in the area. The pillows, covers and bed were all down and very comforable. It is not high tech or fancy,, but very comfortable, quiet, and clean. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a mall attached to Nordstroms that has most any shop you would need. Also there is a map in a 5x7 tourist book at the hotel that has a page that shows where many of the shops are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top