$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Orchard Hotel

3 stars
View map of 665 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Philadelphia, Pa
Jun 7, 2009

Quiet spot in downtown sf

This is a small friendly hotel in the heart of downtown. The beds see comfy. The rooms are clean and cozy. The staff was friendly and helpful. It does not have a ton of amenities- so if you need a pool or a full gym or a business center look elsewhere. This is perfect for a quick get away in San francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roxannes cafe next door served great brunch.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davchee
Couples
Yarnell AZ
Jun 3, 2009

It really is windy in San Francisco

Great experience quiet very clean rooms. Helpful staff with dining recomendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
amarillo, tx
May 25, 2009

ccc - clean, convienent, and cozy...

would definitely stay there again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

house of prime ribs and ozone thai restuarant

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Austin, TX
May 20, 2009

Bellman does it all....

The Bellman was the Bellman, the Valet, and the concierge. They need to hire a person for EACH of those positions. I had to wait for the Bellman to park a car and answer questions for another guest for him to help me bring my bags to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Chinatown.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Francisco
May 10, 2009

Great stay

Lovely hotel, very personable staff. Can't wait for my next stay at the Orchard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle, WA
May 3, 2009

Great find in every way

We've stayed in many hotels in the SF Union Square area and this was one of our favorites. It's location can't be beat, and the rooms were large, comfortable, quiet and very clean. The price made our three night stay at the Orchard an unbelievable deal. I thought perhaps it was a mistake, but we will definitely return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roxanne's for breakfast...quiet, charming, right next door!

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Green Bay, WI
Mar 9, 2009

Perfection!

The staff was very professional and helpful. The doorman/concierge was most helpful. The hotel had an older charm yet very clean and comfortable. It was so much better than a chain hotel. We would most definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location was the best feature of this hotel. It is right around the corner from Powell St. and the cable car line. It was perfect for getting wherever we needed to go.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
College Park
Jan 5, 2009

Nice Place to Stay

The Orchard Hotel was a very nice place to stay for the price we paid. The staff was helpful and treated us well. The room was larger than we expected. The hotel was clean, modern, and nicely kept. The wireless internet worked well and we could use the mini bar fridge to store our own things in our room. The hotel restaurant was very overpriced. The neighborhood around the hotel had lots of dinning and shopping options and it was easy to access public transportation to get out and explore the city. The only real inconvenience for this hotel was you had to climb half way up Nob Hill to reach it. However, it is hard to avoid hills when traveling in San Francisco! We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Aberdeen
Sep 1, 2008

Good for families on a moderate budget

The Orchard Hotel was the type of hotel that you want when you need something close to public transportation, food, and clean but affordable. The staff was really nice, my room and bathroom were large and clean too. You can tell that its an older hotel thats been recently remodeled. I didn't like the fact that there was microwave in my room, and the walls are super-thin. My toilet made a running noise the whole time, sort of like crickets chirping. I could hear when water ran in rooms adjacent to mine too. The noise and microwave were my biggest disturbances. But, it is 1 minute away from a Cable Car stop, and two-three blocks from all the Union Square upscale shops. If you need affordability with nice amenities, this is an OK hotel, if you want to be 100% satisfied and need to be close to a BART station, you should dish out the extra cash for a 4 or 5 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Southampton, NY
Jul 30, 2008

Great Location

Near Union Square and Cable Car line. Very comfortable hotel, helpful friendly staff and reasonable rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top