$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Orchard Hotel

3 stars
665 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
129 reviews
Weekend getaway

Spent 3 days in San Francisco, the hotel and location were perfect, friendly staff, clean rooms,... See full review

  • Rch P
  • Oct 20, 2014
Gem of a Hotel!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Orchard Hotel. The staff was friendly and welcoming at all... See full review

  • SinNYC
  • Jun 10, 2014
Eco-friendly hotel near Union Square and steps from cable cars

As its name suggests, the residential-style Orchard Hotel is all about the environment. The boutique hotel was San Francisco's first hotel to become LEED-EB certified by the U.S. Green Building Council, and it continues to tout a number of eco-friendly programs today. The hotel was built in 2000, and rooms still feel brand-new. Daffodil, the on-site restaurant, serves a variety of cuisines from all over the world.

Highlights
  • Eco-friendly programs and organic bath products
  • Walk to shopping at Union Square and Westfield Centre mall
  • Complimentary business and fitness centers
Rooms

Relax and rejuvenate in one of the Orchard's 104 rooms, including nine suites. Armoires feature state-of-the-art DVD and CD entertainment centers and 27-inch flat-screen televisions. Guests will find large work desks, complimentary high-speed Internet and Wi-Fi and fully stocked mini-bars. Designed specifically for the Orchard, most of the furniture is made of wood from Bali. Bathrooms boast organic bath products.

Features

The Orchard opened in 2000, making it one of the newest boutique hotels in San Francisco. When it opened, it became the city's first LEED-EB certified hotel. Since then, the property has collected a number of other accolades for its commitment to eco-friendly practices. The Orchard continues to refine its approach to green.

Art is a common theme inside; a bronze-cast statue entitled "Spring Awakening" welcomes visitors to the lobby, and paintings and photographs in hallways upstairs are from local artists.

While the on-site fitness is complimentary, guests also have access to a handful of independent fitness facilities within walking distance (fees apply).

Dining

Daffodil, the eclectic on-site eatery, pairs seasonal and local organic cuisine with wines from all over the world. The restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner only, though a happy hour menu spotlights a number of tapas-style small plate dishes.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (20 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Westfield Centre shopping mall
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Executive boardroom is perfect for small meetings (seats 18)
  • Wine Room available at the on-site Daffodil restaurant
  • Special "Green Meeting" package
  • Complimentary Business Center
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Orchard Hotel Rooms

Grand Deluxe King Room
Our Grand deluxe room are located on top three floors of the hotel. Grand Deluxe rooms feature a mini-bar, DVD and CD players with home entertainment surround sound, dual-line cordless telephone, and high-speed Internet access, turn down service and complimentary newspaper.
Grand Deluxe Twin/Twin Room
Our Grand deluxe room are located on top three floors of the hotel. Grand Deluxe rooms feature a mini-bar, DVD and CD players with home entertainment surround sound, dual-line cordless telephone, and high-speed Internet access, turn down service and complimentary newspaper
Pure Hypo- Allergenic Deluxe King Room
Although all of our rooms follow a strict protocol for cleanliness, this Pure King Room has been specially treated to provide you with a hypo-allergenic space. PURE rooms provide our guests with fresh, clean, crisp air that allows you to have a better night sleep. This rooms includes all the amenities or our Deluxe King Room.
Deluxe King
The cozy yet sizeable accommodations offer a timeless contemporary design using a soft palate of restful colors in the wall, floor coverings and fabrics. Designed specifically for the rooms, the furniture is made of nyatoh wood from Bali, a golden toned wood that resembles a teak or a light mahogany. Armoires contain state of the art DVD and CD players with five speakers, a 27-inch TV with surround sound. The desk has excellent lighting and the two phones in the room have two lines with voicemail; one phone is cordless.

The wall art is beautifully framed artistic black and white photography depicting elements of San Francisco architecture and scenery.

Safety and convenience for guests includes safes in all closets, a minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, and a coffee maker.

Well-lighted, spacious baths feature Eco-pure bath products, hair dryers, and thick, cotton robes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Board Room is a private environment on the second floor, and comfortably seats 18 people around a specially designed board table, outfitted with modem access portals mounted in a center trough. Every detail has been thought through from lighting that is on rheostat and conducive to an all day meeting, to audio-visual assistance that is available at all times, swivel chairs that are ergonomically designed, and a restful color scheme. The Executive Board Room offers exceptional dining from Vignette's kitchen

Dining

Daffodil
Daffodil Restaurant features hearty American Style breakfasts, all made with organic, sustainable ingredients.

A glass walled, private dining room featuring beautiful displays of one-of-a-kind wines can accommodate up to 24 guests.

The Bar is covered in reddish brown granite with high bar chairs. Whimsical lighting hangs over the bar and drama is created with an amazing array of inset lighting throughout the restaurant. Fine wines by the glass or bottle, an extensive choice of whole leaf teas, and specialty cocktails compliment each food selection.

Bar
Renowned Daffodil Restaurant and Bar is a gathering spot for the neighborhood, hotel guests, and those seeking one of the finest dining experiences in San Francisco.
Daffodil Restaurant
Daffodil Restaurant features hearty American Style breakfasts, all made with organic, sustainable ingredients. Tabletops are appointed with Frette linens, Rosenthal, Isabel Lam and an array of unique china patterns. Jeweled handled Athena pattern silverware by Corby-Hall adds to the whimsical presentation framing Chef Feldeisen's creations. Breakfast service from 6am to 10am weekdays and 7am to 11am on weekends and holidays. Daffodil is closed for dinner; however the Bar is open from 5:30pm - 10:30pm and it offers a limited bar menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 13, 2009

Wonderful hotel!

The location was perfect. On the first day we walked to Chinatown and the Ferry building. We ate at the Slanted Door, which was expensive Vietnamese fusion, but well worth it. We stopped off at the free Pacific Heritage Museum, which had a section of the first vault and art from contemporary Chinese artisits. We then drove to Ocean Beach and walked. It was so close to public transportation. We hopped on the F train to Castro & Noe, had a great dinner at La Mediterannee, and went to the punk bar Lucky 13. The second day we went to the Academy of Science. It had an amazing planetarium show, rainforest exhibit, penguins (feeding time was packed), aquarium, and a 3D bug movie. For dinner we went to Zarzuela, an incredible tapas restaurant. On the third day we went to Cafe de la Presse (on Grant, in front of the Gateway to Chinatown) and we had a delicious French breakfast and coffee. We then walked to Pier 39. It's a long walk, but the F train was packed so we just decided to try it. It was a good workout. Pier 39 was a tourist trap, so we hopped on the F train back to Union Square. We ate dinner in Union Square at Biscuit & Blues, a good Southern place. We didn't stay for the live music. We checked out the bar at John's Grill and wished that we had eaten there (seafood looked amazing). Next time! Then we hung out at the Chelsea Place bar a few doors down from the hotel. It was small but quaint. The room was great. Even though we had a room next to the elevator I barely heard it. The king bed was very comfortable and the room was a good size. The room was facing Union Square, but we saw a rooftop, the Marriott, and the Walgreen's on the corner (it's the city!). We parked at the Sutter-Stockton garage because it was cheaper (especially if you go in after 5pm and exit before 8am). We will definitely go there again. We got a great deal on Orbitz!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
klai
Business
chicago, il
Aug 13, 2009

cozy, welcoming

great location, nice room. room service ends very early and selection isn't great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
simiple getaway
Business
los angeles, ca
Aug 14, 2009

To good times.

the location of this hotel is what i liked most. its only 2 blocks from union square and a few more to the shopping center. public transportation is very useful in sf. you can get to the cable cars right outside and the bus stop isn't too far away either. the room appeared clean, including the restroom and bed. these are both important clean spots in the hotel for me. the staff was very very helpful and very willing to help with all my inquiries. this ranged from internet problems, to parking, to tourist attractions. received great information in all counts. my only concern was the parking fees - they were pretty high. i understand that parking may be limited in the city, but if i'm staying at the hotel, shouldn't it be less expensive?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

look for non-metered parking to save on the valet parking. this is only a block away from the hotel. whether you find a parking depends entirely on luck.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TME
Business
Granite Bay, ca
Jul 20, 2009

Great Little Place For the Price

It was in a great location, and very affordable. The people were friendly and though the room was on the smaller side, it was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in the heart of downtown about 2 blocks from union square, you can buy pretty much anything by walking just a few blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Jul 20, 2009

Awesome Hotel - Perfect Location

We achieved our goal of seeing the sights of San Francisco in 3 days without a car. From our hotel we walked to AT&T Park, Ferry Building, Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, and Union Square. Some of the locations were a bit of a hike, but we enjoyed the scenery and the exercise. The hotel was quiet, yet near to many restaurants and shopping. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms had nice decor and were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bother renting a car. Car rental & parking are expensive. You can walk to many attractions, restaurants, shopping, etc. The Cable Car stops at the corner of the hotel. We used BART to get to & from the airport (the fare is $8.10).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mpento
Business
Seattle
Feb 14, 2010

my 2 cents

The location is great. The room was nice. The bed sheets were above average. Noise of other guests and plumbing was not an issue which was nice. The negatives were. I had ordered a king bed and they did not have one available so I got a double twin. I did not mind but they made no effort to compensate. The view (I was in the back, level 7) was just the back of the marriott Lower than 7 looks like no view at all. There was a constant drone of air conditioner or something running in the room. Not part of the room heating that I had turned off. I'm not sure if that was the reason but despite the nice beds I did not sleep great (which I usually do)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I had hoped to see alcatraz but it was booked up solid for the weekend. If you want to see it be sure to book online. Depending on the season you might have a good bit of fog too. Also the F trolly from market st. was a nice way to get around to pier 33 and/or fishermans warf. The line for the cable car is too long for me

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ladson, SC
Jul 24, 2008

Great location and Hotel

The Orchard Hotel was in a great location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. the room was gorgeous and very comfortable. It had a mini refrigerator stocked with sodas, oj, juice, water if you needed it and the price was not really bad. They cam in and turned your bed down at night and keep the room clean. The bathroom was very big and well laid out, room on the vanity for all your toiletries. Large closet for clothes and a chest of drawers. Very close to alol transportation and plenty of restaurants, shopping and sightseeing within a few miles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a taxi, it was cheaper than the cable car. The corner restaurant was exdcellent for breakfast and the pizza place across the street was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
amarillo, tx
May 25, 2009

ccc - clean, convienent, and cozy...

would definitely stay there again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

house of prime ribs and ozone thai restuarant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jtc woodside
Business
New york city
Sep 12, 2014

Great 5 night getaway

Excellent location just inside nob hill area. Quiet area but close enough to all transportation and restaurant's . I would definitely stay at the Orchard again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leesu
Business
North Carolina
Sep 16, 2014

Vacation stay

This hotel is well located and allows walking to many good attractions as well as municipal travel options including buses, cable cars, and trams. Our room was clean and the staff was always friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down Powell to Market and pick up the F line to travel around the wharf area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top