$260 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Orchard Hotel

3 stars
665 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
218 reviews
Gem of a Hotel!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Orchard Hotel. The staff was friendly and welcoming at all... See full review

  • SinNYC
  • Jun 10, 2014
Amazing hotel

Everything was great! From the friendly staff, clean room, and location. HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend See full review

  • MRSNRM
  • Apr 8, 2014
Eco-friendly hotel near Union Square and steps from cable cars

As its name suggests, the residential-style Orchard Hotel is all about the environment. The boutique hotel was San Francisco's first hotel to become LEED-EB certified by the U.S. Green Building Council, and it continues to tout a number of eco-friendly programs today. The hotel was built in 2000, and rooms still feel brand-new. Daffodil, the on-site restaurant, serves a variety of cuisines from all over the world.

Highlights
  • Eco-friendly programs and organic bath products
  • Walk to shopping at Union Square and Westfield Centre mall
  • Complimentary business and fitness centers
Rooms

Relax and rejuvenate in one of the Orchard's 104 rooms, including nine suites. Armoires feature state-of-the-art DVD and CD entertainment centers and 27-inch flat-screen televisions. Guests will find large work desks, complimentary high-speed Internet and Wi-Fi and fully stocked mini-bars. Designed specifically for the Orchard, most of the furniture is made of wood from Bali. Bathrooms boast organic bath products.

Features

The Orchard opened in 2000, making it one of the newest boutique hotels in San Francisco. When it opened, it became the city's first LEED-EB certified hotel. Since then, the property has collected a number of other accolades for its commitment to eco-friendly practices. The Orchard continues to refine its approach to green.

Art is a common theme inside; a bronze-cast statue entitled "Spring Awakening" welcomes visitors to the lobby, and paintings and photographs in hallways upstairs are from local artists.

While the on-site fitness is complimentary, guests also have access to a handful of independent fitness facilities within walking distance (fees apply).

Dining

Daffodil, the eclectic on-site eatery, pairs seasonal and local organic cuisine with wines from all over the world. The restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner only, though a happy hour menu spotlights a number of tapas-style small plate dishes.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (20 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Westfield Centre shopping mall
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Executive boardroom is perfect for small meetings (seats 18)
  • Wine Room available at the on-site Daffodil restaurant
  • Special "Green Meeting" package
  • Complimentary Business Center
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Orchard Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
The cozy yet sizeable accommodations offer a timeless contemporary design using a soft palate of restful colors in the wall, floor coverings and fabrics. Designed specifically for the rooms, the furniture is made of nyatoh wood from Bali, a golden toned wood that resembles a teak or a light mahogany. Armoires contain state of the art DVD and CD players with five speakers, a 27-inch TV with surround sound. The desk has excellent lighting and the two phones in the room have two lines with voicemail; one phone is cordless.

The wall art is beautifully framed artistic black and white photography depicting elements of San Francisco architecture and scenery.

Safety and convenience for guests includes safes in all closets, a minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, and a coffee maker.

Well-lighted, spacious baths feature Eco-pure bath products, hair dryers, and thick, cotton robes.

Grand Deluxe King Room
Our Grand deluxe room are located on top three floors of the hotel. Grand Deluxe rooms feature a mini-bar, DVD and CD players with home entertainment surround sound, dual-line cordless telephone, and high-speed Internet access, coffee maker, turn down service and complimentary newspaper.
Grand Deluxe Twin/Twin Room
Our Grand deluxe room are located on top three floors of the hotel. Grand Deluxe rooms feature a mini-bar, DVD and CD players with home entertainment surround sound, dual-line cordless telephone, and high-speed Internet access, coffee maker, turn down service and complimentary newspaper
Pure Hypo- Allergenic Deluxe King Room
Although all of our rooms follow a strict protocol for cleanliness, this Pure King Room has been specially treated to provide you with a hypo-allergenic space. PURE rooms provide our guests with fresh, clean, crisp air that allows you to have a better night sleep. This rooms includes all the amenities or our Deluxe King Room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.79 -122.4084
Area served
Located on Bush Street, adjacent to the Powell Street cable car line, two blocks from Union Square and midway up Nob Hill
Nearby airports
(SFO) San Francisco (OAK)Oakland (SJC)San Jose
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination...a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Hotel is up to the challenge.

The Orchard is just steps from the Powell Street cable car line, two blocks from the shopping mecca of Union Square and mid way up Nob Hill...in the midst of the pulse of San Francisco.

Take 101 north all the way into downtown San Francisco. As you enter downtown, stay in left lanes on 101 north, towards Golden Gate Bridge. Take the 9th Street exit, which exits right onto 9th Street. Stay in center or right lanes as you pass over Market Street. 9th becomes Larkin Street. Go up 11 blocks to Bush Street, make a right, go six blocks and cross Powell Street. We are the second building on the right side.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Board Room is a private environment on the second floor, and comfortably seats 18 people around a specially designed board table, outfitted with modem access portals mounted in a center trough. Every detail has been thought through from lighting that is on rheostat and conducive to an all day meeting, to audio-visual assistance that is available at all times, swivel chairs that are ergonomically designed, and a restful color scheme. The Executive Board Room offers exceptional dining from Vignette's kitchen

Dining

Daffodil Restaurant
Daffodil Restaurant features a Modern American regional cuisine with French and Italian influences. Dine from a la carte menu or the prix fixe, all featuring sumptuous fresh seafood and tender meats accented with unique sauces and fresh vegetables. Decadents desserts complete the meal. Tabletops are appointed with Frette linens, Rosenthal, Isabel Lam and an array of unique china patterns. Jeweled handled Athena pattern silverware by Corby-Hall adds to the whimsical presentation framing Chef Feldeisen's creations. Breakfast service from 6am to 10am weekdays and 7am to 11am on weekends and holidays. Daffodil is closed for dinner; however the Bar is open from 5:30pm - 10:30pm and it offers a limited bar menu.
Daffodil
Daffodil Restaurant pairs the Bay Area's best seasonal cuisine with great wines from around the world - with a bit of a twist. We're offering small plates matched with an ample pour of a friendly wine that brings out the best flavors of the food.

A glass walled, private dining room featuring beautiful displays of one-of-a-kind wines can accommodate up to 24 guests.

The Bar is covered in reddish brown granite with high bar chairs. Whimsical lighting hangs over the bar and drama is created with an amazing array of inset lighting throughout the restaurant. Fine wines by the glass or bottle, an extensive choice of whole leaf teas, and specialty cocktails compliment each food selection.

Bar
Renowned Daffodil Restaurant and Bar is a gathering spot for the neighborhood, hotel guests, and those seeking one of the finest dining experiences in San Francisco.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (218)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 1, 2009

Great Place

The hotel room was huge and comfortable. The Orchard is environmentally friendly and would only wash your sheets if you asked as well as your towels which I think is a nice option. Also, it was centrally located near Union Square and you could easily walk to Chinatown or catch the bus or trolly to North Beach (5 min) and Fisherman's Wharf (8 min away).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

My boyfriend and I bought a pass on one of the many bus tours that the city has and cruised around on it the first day to see the sights and get our bearings, we then bought a map and bought a bus pass and took that everywhere, the drivers rarely check the tickets so one pass lasts all day (same usually goes for the tour pass)

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
franklinton, LA
Aug 25, 2009

wonderful place

NIce, friendly hotel. Accomodating and very clean. Small exercise room. Convenient to trolley line and restraunts. would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
franklinton, LA
Aug 25, 2009

wonderful place

NIce, friendly hotel. Accomodating and very clean. Small exercise room. Convenient to trolley line and restraunts. would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, tx
Aug 24, 2009

Great Place

The location was great. Easy to get anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, tx
Aug 24, 2009

Great Place

The location was great. Easy to get anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wasatch Front Couple
Salt Lake City, UT
Aug 18, 2009

Location..Location..oh and AFFORDABLE!

The location was absolutely GREAT! This was our first trip to San Fransisco. The first full day we walked down to the SF MOMA. Afterwards we walked up and through Chinatown..and kept on walking...we walked up to Coit Tower...then walked to the top of Lombard St. Finally after walking what felt like forever...hopped on the trolley car and rod down to Fisherman's Wharf. Had a great dinner and rode the trolley back to Bush St. and walked the 30 feet or so to the hotel door. The staff at the Orchard was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms were clean..extremely clean. I've been grossed out at other hotels by small details..and this time I'm extremely happy to say this place had no "gross" out factor for me or my husband.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Uncle Vito's Pizza is almost kitty corner to the Orchard Hotel. It was a great deal...and great pizza. Nothing super fancy and I think one of our cheapest dinners there. The trolley cafe that is about 1/2 block down from the hotel was also a decent breakfast place.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wasatch Front Couple
Salt Lake City, UT
Aug 18, 2009

Location..Location..oh and AFFORDABLE!

The location was absolutely GREAT! This was our first trip to San Fransisco. The first full day we walked down to the SF MOMA. Afterwards we walked up and through Chinatown..and kept on walking...we walked up to Coit Tower...then walked to the top of Lombard St. Finally after walking what felt like forever...hopped on the trolley car and rod down to Fisherman's Wharf. Had a great dinner and rode the trolley back to Bush St. and walked the 30 feet or so to the hotel door. The staff at the Orchard was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms were clean..extremely clean. I've been grossed out at other hotels by small details..and this time I'm extremely happy to say this place had no "gross" out factor for me or my husband.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Uncle Vito's Pizza is almost kitty corner to the Orchard Hotel. It was a great deal...and great pizza. Nothing super fancy and I think one of our cheapest dinners there. The trolley cafe that is about 1/2 block down from the hotel was also a decent breakfast place.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento ca
Aug 17, 2009

GREAT

It was very good. We had to check in late becuase the room was not ready but we got comped some breakfast. All in all very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento ca
Aug 17, 2009

GREAT

It was very good. We had to check in late becuase the room was not ready but we got comped some breakfast. All in all very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alamo, CA
Aug 16, 2009

a night in the city

a night in the city for my husband and I without our 2 year old son and we had a great time. the hotel staff was very friendly. the location of the hotel was perfect. we were within walking distance to everything we wanted to do. the room was clean and was a good size for the city too. would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel is 2 blocks from Union Square where all the good shopping is.

Back to menu Return to top