$207 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Orchard Hotel

3 stars
View map of 665 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Aug 7, 2009

Perfect Hotel, Perfect Vacation

It was the perfect getaway! The Orchard is just two short blocks from Chinatown and two short blocks from Union Square! It's near the corner of Powell Street with easy access to the Cable Cars, and everything else is in walking distance. We were never bored! The hotel itself is small and cozy with a clean and beautiful guest room, complete with a comfortable and inviting bed. The bathroom is large and I enjoyed the tub and the fragrant eo brand soaps and shampoos! Restaurants are abundant near the hotel, and the staff was always smiling, friendly and helpful! I will definately stay there again! Oh, and thanks Orbitz, the price was unbelievable too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If shopping is your thing, walk 3 blocks down Powell street to the largest Macy's that I've ever seen! From there in all other directions, you will find tons of more shopping, including a rather large mall a few blocks further down on Powell. When you're done for the day, just return up the hill with the cable car!

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Downers Grove, IL
Aug 6, 2009

Friendly hotel

Great location, right on the cable car line, which some may feel could be noisy but only when it's early in the AM when not much other noise. The room was very nice, staff friendly, and elevators worked quickly. Bed was very comfortable, nice pillows and mini frig nice to have. We did alot of walking so a minor drawback was no hot-tub to relax but guess they have access to a spa/health club for a fee. Did not eat in restaurant, seemed pricy but some great less expensive places within a couple of blocks. We found a friendly deli place for breakfast, Cable Car Deli right on Powell less than a block away that was great prices and service. I liked that is was not right in the heart of Union Square but close so you could access shopping and transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel close to lots of restaurants and shopping both inexpensive to the high end places in Union Sq. area. If planning to tour the city, get the Muni-pass so you can take any type of public transit, except BART, with it. We used it alot and got our money's worth for sure.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crab cracker
Business
Spokane, WA
Aug 6, 2009

First timers

this was our first time in San Francisco. We stayed here because it looked nice compared to some others in the Union Square area and we got a great deal on it. I think the rooms were bigger too. The rooms seemed newly renovated and they were clean. It always felt hot in our room, and very cold two floors down in my parents room, and even with the fan, it was a little hard to regulate the temp. Overall, the staff was very friendly as well and got us a limo back to the airport the last morning. It is just far enough from the busiest part of Union Square, but close to everything you need to get to, including all the types of transportation you might use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely pick up a Muni pass (we did a 3 day) and after taking a classic trolley ride down the wharf, use the other types of transportations available like the electric buses and such. you'll get there much quickler than the trolleys, but it's fun to ride once or twice.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney, Australia
Aug 1, 2009

Great friendly staff

Great location and friendly staff. Room is spotless. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Windsor, CO
Jul 31, 2009

The Orchard Fits the Bill

We were in San Francisco for the first time. The hotel was centrally located. The staff was very helpful for everything. The room was great, the bed was one of the best .We were very pleased all the way around. We will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a three day ticket for the muni system to get around San Francisco. The public transportation was great. Do arrange for a shuttle from the airport through the hotel site because the hotel is uphill from the Bart.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Jul 28, 2009

Great location!

This is a very nice hotel. Clean, great location, friendly staff. We just found it a bit noisy (we could hear other guests shower and the picking up of garbage cans in the street at 4:00 AM!) Don't miss the TARTINE bakery on the corner of Guerrero and 8th street! (South of Market). There will probably be a long line, but it is totally worth it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the city pass it is worth it! if you buy it on pier 39 you may get a trip to Alcatraz island included on your city pass. Unfortunately when we were there they were sold out.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TooTired Traveler
Business
Chester, NH
Jul 26, 2009

Makes You Want to Come Back for MORE !

Hotels location is extremely convenient to a lot of restaurants, Chinatown, Union Square and all transportation making it easy to either take the sightseeing buses, cable cars to simply walk (which we did a lot of !).We would take the "Hop on Hop off" buses to a certain point and then would walk the rest- bring good shoes ! Front desk staff was super friendly and helpful no matter what time of day or what you asked them. Had minor problem with sink in bathroom , called front desk and maintenance was there within 2 minutes to fix problem. We definitely would stay there again if we are lucky enough to be able to get back to SF !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wash dc
Jul 23, 2009

Decent central place

Good staff, bed, shower, decent sound proofing. Free, but poor internet. Central location for catching city bus or trolley to anywhere. If coming from BART note that it's five-six blocks with the last block very up hill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TME
Business
Granite Bay, ca
Jul 20, 2009

Great Little Place For the Price

It was in a great location, and very affordable. The people were friendly and though the room was on the smaller side, it was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in the heart of downtown about 2 blocks from union square, you can buy pretty much anything by walking just a few blocks

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Jul 20, 2009

Awesome Hotel - Perfect Location

We achieved our goal of seeing the sights of San Francisco in 3 days without a car. From our hotel we walked to AT&T Park, Ferry Building, Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, and Union Square. Some of the locations were a bit of a hike, but we enjoyed the scenery and the exercise. The hotel was quiet, yet near to many restaurants and shopping. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms had nice decor and were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bother renting a car. Car rental & parking are expensive. You can walk to many attractions, restaurants, shopping, etc. The Cable Car stops at the corner of the hotel. We used BART to get to & from the airport (the fare is $8.10).

Back to menu Return to top