$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Orchard Hotel

3 stars
View map of 665 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alamo, CA
Aug 16, 2009

a night in the city

a night in the city for my husband and I without our 2 year old son and we had a great time. the hotel staff was very friendly. the location of the hotel was perfect. we were within walking distance to everything we wanted to do. the room was clean and was a good size for the city too. would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel is 2 blocks from Union Square where all the good shopping is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Aug 14, 2009

Excellent Place to Stay

While traveling to SF for a conference and to meet up with friends, this was an excellent hotel to stay in. It was easy to get around the city from the hotel (cabs, MUNI, and BART). The staff were excellent and helpful with anything we needed - from the mundane to quirky. Would recommend this place to anyone who had the budget to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The last day in town we decided to go to the SFMOMA. It was very easy to get there...walking down Bush will spit you out about 4 blocks from the museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
simiple getaway
Business
los angeles, ca
Aug 14, 2009

To good times.

the location of this hotel is what i liked most. its only 2 blocks from union square and a few more to the shopping center. public transportation is very useful in sf. you can get to the cable cars right outside and the bus stop isn't too far away either. the room appeared clean, including the restroom and bed. these are both important clean spots in the hotel for me. the staff was very very helpful and very willing to help with all my inquiries. this ranged from internet problems, to parking, to tourist attractions. received great information in all counts. my only concern was the parking fees - they were pretty high. i understand that parking may be limited in the city, but if i'm staying at the hotel, shouldn't it be less expensive?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

look for non-metered parking to save on the valet parking. this is only a block away from the hotel. whether you find a parking depends entirely on luck.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 13, 2009

Wonderful hotel!

The location was perfect. On the first day we walked to Chinatown and the Ferry building. We ate at the Slanted Door, which was expensive Vietnamese fusion, but well worth it. We stopped off at the free Pacific Heritage Museum, which had a section of the first vault and art from contemporary Chinese artisits. We then drove to Ocean Beach and walked. It was so close to public transportation. We hopped on the F train to Castro & Noe, had a great dinner at La Mediterannee, and went to the punk bar Lucky 13. The second day we went to the Academy of Science. It had an amazing planetarium show, rainforest exhibit, penguins (feeding time was packed), aquarium, and a 3D bug movie. For dinner we went to Zarzuela, an incredible tapas restaurant. On the third day we went to Cafe de la Presse (on Grant, in front of the Gateway to Chinatown) and we had a delicious French breakfast and coffee. We then walked to Pier 39. It's a long walk, but the F train was packed so we just decided to try it. It was a good workout. Pier 39 was a tourist trap, so we hopped on the F train back to Union Square. We ate dinner in Union Square at Biscuit & Blues, a good Southern place. We didn't stay for the live music. We checked out the bar at John's Grill and wished that we had eaten there (seafood looked amazing). Next time! Then we hung out at the Chelsea Place bar a few doors down from the hotel. It was small but quaint. The room was great. Even though we had a room next to the elevator I barely heard it. The king bed was very comfortable and the room was a good size. The room was facing Union Square, but we saw a rooftop, the Marriott, and the Walgreen's on the corner (it's the city!). We parked at the Sutter-Stockton garage because it was cheaper (especially if you go in after 5pm and exit before 8am). We will definitely go there again. We got a great deal on Orbitz!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
klai
Business
chicago, il
Aug 13, 2009

cozy, welcoming

great location, nice room. room service ends very early and selection isn't great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thequietstorm
Business
Edmonton, AB.
Aug 11, 2009

Loved It!

Both my wife and I spent 4 wonderful nights here. We did a San Francisco stopover on our way back home to Canada from the Far East. The front desk and concierge were both very friendly and helpful. The rooms were excellent and the housekeeping simply awesome! The location is great and very convenient. Getting a taxi was not an issue. We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Max's Restaurant at Geary & Mason serves great food. Try the crab cake eggs benedict! Lori's Restaurant, which is a block south, is to be avoided. Food and service are mediocre at best and very touristy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phx az
Aug 10, 2009

The best hotel i have stayed in

Very very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Aug 7, 2009

Perfect Hotel, Perfect Vacation

It was the perfect getaway! The Orchard is just two short blocks from Chinatown and two short blocks from Union Square! It's near the corner of Powell Street with easy access to the Cable Cars, and everything else is in walking distance. We were never bored! The hotel itself is small and cozy with a clean and beautiful guest room, complete with a comfortable and inviting bed. The bathroom is large and I enjoyed the tub and the fragrant eo brand soaps and shampoos! Restaurants are abundant near the hotel, and the staff was always smiling, friendly and helpful! I will definately stay there again! Oh, and thanks Orbitz, the price was unbelievable too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If shopping is your thing, walk 3 blocks down Powell street to the largest Macy's that I've ever seen! From there in all other directions, you will find tons of more shopping, including a rather large mall a few blocks further down on Powell. When you're done for the day, just return up the hill with the cable car!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Downers Grove, IL
Aug 6, 2009

Friendly hotel

Great location, right on the cable car line, which some may feel could be noisy but only when it's early in the AM when not much other noise. The room was very nice, staff friendly, and elevators worked quickly. Bed was very comfortable, nice pillows and mini frig nice to have. We did alot of walking so a minor drawback was no hot-tub to relax but guess they have access to a spa/health club for a fee. Did not eat in restaurant, seemed pricy but some great less expensive places within a couple of blocks. We found a friendly deli place for breakfast, Cable Car Deli right on Powell less than a block away that was great prices and service. I liked that is was not right in the heart of Union Square but close so you could access shopping and transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel close to lots of restaurants and shopping both inexpensive to the high end places in Union Sq. area. If planning to tour the city, get the Muni-pass so you can take any type of public transit, except BART, with it. We used it alot and got our money's worth for sure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crab cracker
Business
Spokane, WA
Aug 6, 2009

First timers

this was our first time in San Francisco. We stayed here because it looked nice compared to some others in the Union Square area and we got a great deal on it. I think the rooms were bigger too. The rooms seemed newly renovated and they were clean. It always felt hot in our room, and very cold two floors down in my parents room, and even with the fan, it was a little hard to regulate the temp. Overall, the staff was very friendly as well and got us a limo back to the airport the last morning. It is just far enough from the busiest part of Union Square, but close to everything you need to get to, including all the types of transportation you might use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely pick up a Muni pass (we did a 3 day) and after taking a classic trolley ride down the wharf, use the other types of transportations available like the electric buses and such. you'll get there much quickler than the trolleys, but it's fun to ride once or twice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top