$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 30, 2015

Orchard Hotel

3 stars
View map of 665 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mpento
Business
Seattle
Feb 14, 2010

my 2 cents

The location is great. The room was nice. The bed sheets were above average. Noise of other guests and plumbing was not an issue which was nice. The negatives were. I had ordered a king bed and they did not have one available so I got a double twin. I did not mind but they made no effort to compensate. The view (I was in the back, level 7) was just the back of the marriott Lower than 7 looks like no view at all. There was a constant drone of air conditioner or something running in the room. Not part of the room heating that I had turned off. I'm not sure if that was the reason but despite the nice beds I did not sleep great (which I usually do)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I had hoped to see alcatraz but it was booked up solid for the weekend. If you want to see it be sure to book online. Depending on the season you might have a good bit of fog too. Also the F trolly from market st. was a nice way to get around to pier 33 and/or fishermans warf. The line for the cable car is too long for me

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 17, 2010

Great place to stay!

Great stay. Quiet, clean, and hassel-free. Affordable through[...] and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Nov 20, 2009

Friendly, comfortable place to stay

Clean, quiet hotel with friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Location: perfect. Even the hotel restaurant wasn't bad at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places around to chose from

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MyMo
Business
PHX
Nov 16, 2009

So quiet we almost slept all day

Quick check-in, so comfortable and quiet we almost slept the day away. This place is not annoying, pretentious, or jam-packed with people. If you want immediate access to loud, shiny, and tourist-y things, this is not really the place for you. Good for a quick jaunt to the city. Close enough to everything but far enough away. Enjoyed the peace and quiet after faring through the noise of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey
Nov 13, 2009

Great location, near everything

Great comfortable clean room..away from street noise, very quiet at night which is rare for hotels in SF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Nov 13, 2009

Great San Francisco Getaway...

Our first stay @ The Orchard. We have stayed @ most all of the large major hotels in the city. This was a great 5day/4night "Getaway Hotel" in a good & safe location at a very fair price... close to shopping, bars, restaurants, cable car, etc. The lobby is small & very unimpressive but the rooms are very nice & comfortable. The bar & restaurant are nice but not a destination. We would definitely stay there on a return visit to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Francisco Moita
Business
Lisbon, Portugal
Nov 9, 2009

Top value - A jewel in San Francisco

A true jewel! Excellent location - a block or two from Chinatown and Union Square - but, no noise! Hard to believe, but very true! Rooms are spacious, clean, and very comfortable. I also have to mention the fantastic mini-bar and that you have free internet in your room (wi-fi in my case). I'll sum it up by saying that our 5 nights at the Orchard Hotel (not the Garden Orchard, although they are very close and owned by the same people) made our visit to San Francisco that much more memorable! The only thing that went wrong is that they missed our wake up call (no problem because we had the cell phone alarm) and the shower could do with a little more water pressure (and now, I am really being picky!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 5, 2009

Great overall experience

The room was nice, clean and comfortable. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, offering free DVD rentals and useful information. The only downside was that the street noise was pretty loud, starting around 5am. Great hotel in a nice location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in one of the overnight garages if you're not planning on using your car for the day rather than pay the steep valet charge.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Oct 29, 2009

Great location, nice room

The hotel is in a great location- close by to Chinatown, Union Square, Powell cable car. Also, if looking to get out of the city for the day, there's a rental car company just one block down from the hotel. Also, there are some very good restaurants located near the hotel. The room was as advertised. Very clean and nicely decorated- very spa like. We arrived early at 10:30 am and we were able to check in early without charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grumpy Older Bone-tatch
Business
Sannity Cruze, CA
Sep 28, 2009

Excellence a few blks. above Union Sq

We loved staying here, close to Union Square shopping, galleries, and theatre. Albeit somewhat pricey, it was still a good value considering the convenient location, absolutely superb staff, and wonderful room. The room was spacious for a standard, with very comfy beds and clean all around. Nice flat panel TV with a GOOD remote control, excellent, well-laid-out bathroom, and all other amenities as you would want them. Room service breakfasts were promptly delivered and generally was quite enjoyable. Pretty impressive for a "smaller" hotel. We will definitely stay here again but would love to get a more discounted room rate by reserving a bit more in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Traveling into San Francisco can be quite expensive, especially when you bring your car. The parking fees charged by hotels are just outrageous! So, don't bring it! We took BART (which offers free overnight parking on weekends) and paid NOTHING for parking for three nights (Fri-Sun, return Mon). We used the money saved to cab around like a couple of Kennedys, and still saved money over all! We even cabbed it back from Berkeley over the bridge after a concert at the Hearst Greek Theatre, for about $35, and just completely skipped all those hassles of parking, DUI, worrying about traffic... What a way to go! Consider it next time you come into The City for a getaway weekend.

Back to menu Return to top