$262 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Orchard Hotel

3 stars
665 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
218 reviews
Gem of a Hotel!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Orchard Hotel. The staff was friendly and welcoming at all... See full review

  • SinNYC
  • Jun 10, 2014
Amazing hotel

Everything was great! From the friendly staff, clean room, and location. HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend See full review

  • MRSNRM
  • Apr 8, 2014
Eco-friendly hotel near Union Square and steps from cable cars

As its name suggests, the residential-style Orchard Hotel is all about the environment. The boutique hotel was San Francisco's first hotel to become LEED-EB certified by the U.S. Green Building Council, and it continues to tout a number of eco-friendly programs today. The hotel was built in 2000, and rooms still feel brand-new. Daffodil, the on-site restaurant, serves a variety of cuisines from all over the world.

Highlights
  • Eco-friendly programs and organic bath products
  • Walk to shopping at Union Square and Westfield Centre mall
  • Complimentary business and fitness centers
Rooms

Relax and rejuvenate in one of the Orchard's 104 rooms, including nine suites. Armoires feature state-of-the-art DVD and CD entertainment centers and 27-inch flat-screen televisions. Guests will find large work desks, complimentary high-speed Internet and Wi-Fi and fully stocked mini-bars. Designed specifically for the Orchard, most of the furniture is made of wood from Bali. Bathrooms boast organic bath products.

Features

The Orchard opened in 2000, making it one of the newest boutique hotels in San Francisco. When it opened, it became the city's first LEED-EB certified hotel. Since then, the property has collected a number of other accolades for its commitment to eco-friendly practices. The Orchard continues to refine its approach to green.

Art is a common theme inside; a bronze-cast statue entitled "Spring Awakening" welcomes visitors to the lobby, and paintings and photographs in hallways upstairs are from local artists.

While the on-site fitness is complimentary, guests also have access to a handful of independent fitness facilities within walking distance (fees apply).

Dining

Daffodil, the eclectic on-site eatery, pairs seasonal and local organic cuisine with wines from all over the world. The restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner only, though a happy hour menu spotlights a number of tapas-style small plate dishes.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (20 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Westfield Centre shopping mall
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Executive boardroom is perfect for small meetings (seats 18)
  • Wine Room available at the on-site Daffodil restaurant
  • Special "Green Meeting" package
  • Complimentary Business Center
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.79 -122.4084
Area served
Located on Bush Street, adjacent to the Powell Street cable car line, two blocks from Union Square and midway up Nob Hill
Nearby airports
(SFO) San Francisco (OAK)Oakland (SJC)San Jose
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination...a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Hotel is up to the challenge.

The Orchard is just steps from the Powell Street cable car line, two blocks from the shopping mecca of Union Square and mid way up Nob Hill...in the midst of the pulse of San Francisco.

Take 101 north all the way into downtown San Francisco. As you enter downtown, stay in left lanes on 101 north, towards Golden Gate Bridge. Take the 9th Street exit, which exits right onto 9th Street. Stay in center or right lanes as you pass over Market Street. 9th becomes Larkin Street. Go up 11 blocks to Bush Street, make a right, go six blocks and cross Powell Street. We are the second building on the right side.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Orchard Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King
The cozy yet sizeable accommodations offer a timeless contemporary design using a soft palate of restful colors in the wall, floor coverings and fabrics. Designed specifically for the rooms, the furniture is made of nyatoh wood from Bali, a golden toned wood that resembles a teak or a light mahogany. Armoires contain state of the art DVD and CD players with five speakers, a 27-inch TV with surround sound. The desk has excellent lighting and the two phones in the room have two lines with voicemail; one phone is cordless.

The wall art is beautifully framed artistic black and white photography depicting elements of San Francisco architecture and scenery.

Safety and convenience for guests includes safes in all closets, a minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, and a coffee maker.

Well-lighted, spacious baths feature Eco-pure bath products, hair dryers, and thick, cotton robes.

Grand Deluxe King Room
Our Grand deluxe room are located on top three floors of the hotel. Grand Deluxe rooms feature a mini-bar, DVD and CD players with home entertainment surround sound, dual-line cordless telephone, and high-speed Internet access, coffee maker, turn down service and complimentary newspaper.
Grand Deluxe Twin/Twin Room
Our Grand deluxe room are located on top three floors of the hotel. Grand Deluxe rooms feature a mini-bar, DVD and CD players with home entertainment surround sound, dual-line cordless telephone, and high-speed Internet access, coffee maker, turn down service and complimentary newspaper
Pure Hypo- Allergenic Deluxe King Room
Although all of our rooms follow a strict protocol for cleanliness, this Pure King Room has been specially treated to provide you with a hypo-allergenic space. PURE rooms provide our guests with fresh, clean, crisp air that allows you to have a better night sleep. This rooms includes all the amenities or our Deluxe King Room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi

Dining

Daffodil Restaurant
Daffodil Restaurant features a Modern American regional cuisine with French and Italian influences. Dine from a la carte menu or the prix fixe, all featuring sumptuous fresh seafood and tender meats accented with unique sauces and fresh vegetables. Decadents desserts complete the meal. Tabletops are appointed with Frette linens, Rosenthal, Isabel Lam and an array of unique china patterns. Jeweled handled Athena pattern silverware by Corby-Hall adds to the whimsical presentation framing Chef Feldeisen's creations. Breakfast service from 6am to 10am weekdays and 7am to 11am on weekends and holidays. Daffodil is closed for dinner; however the Bar is open from 5:30pm - 10:30pm and it offers a limited bar menu.
Daffodil
Daffodil Restaurant pairs the Bay Area's best seasonal cuisine with great wines from around the world - with a bit of a twist. We're offering small plates matched with an ample pour of a friendly wine that brings out the best flavors of the food.

A glass walled, private dining room featuring beautiful displays of one-of-a-kind wines can accommodate up to 24 guests.

The Bar is covered in reddish brown granite with high bar chairs. Whimsical lighting hangs over the bar and drama is created with an amazing array of inset lighting throughout the restaurant. Fine wines by the glass or bottle, an extensive choice of whole leaf teas, and specialty cocktails compliment each food selection.

Bar
Renowned Daffodil Restaurant and Bar is a gathering spot for the neighborhood, hotel guests, and those seeking one of the finest dining experiences in San Francisco.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Board Room is a private environment on the second floor, and comfortably seats 18 people around a specially designed board table, outfitted with modem access portals mounted in a center trough. Every detail has been thought through from lighting that is on rheostat and conducive to an all day meeting, to audio-visual assistance that is available at all times, swivel chairs that are ergonomically designed, and a restful color scheme. The Executive Board Room offers exceptional dining from Vignette's kitchen

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (218)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thequietstorm
Edmonton, AB.
Aug 11, 2009

Loved It!

Both my wife and I spent 4 wonderful nights here. We did a San Francisco stopover on our way back home to Canada from the Far East. The front desk and concierge were both very friendly and helpful. The rooms were excellent and the housekeeping simply awesome! The location is great and very convenient. Getting a taxi was not an issue. We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Max's Restaurant at Geary & Mason serves great food. Try the crab cake eggs benedict! Lori's Restaurant, which is a block south, is to be avoided. Food and service are mediocre at best and very touristy!

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
phx az
Aug 10, 2009

The best hotel i have stayed in

Very very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
phx az
Aug 10, 2009

The best hotel i have stayed in

Very very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, Hawaii
Aug 7, 2009

Perfect Hotel, Perfect Vacation

It was the perfect getaway! The Orchard is just two short blocks from Chinatown and two short blocks from Union Square! It's near the corner of Powell Street with easy access to the Cable Cars, and everything else is in walking distance. We were never bored! The hotel itself is small and cozy with a clean and beautiful guest room, complete with a comfortable and inviting bed. The bathroom is large and I enjoyed the tub and the fragrant eo brand soaps and shampoos! Restaurants are abundant near the hotel, and the staff was always smiling, friendly and helpful! I will definately stay there again! Oh, and thanks Orbitz, the price was unbelievable too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If shopping is your thing, walk 3 blocks down Powell street to the largest Macy's that I've ever seen! From there in all other directions, you will find tons of more shopping, including a rather large mall a few blocks further down on Powell. When you're done for the day, just return up the hill with the cable car!

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, Hawaii
Aug 7, 2009

Perfect Hotel, Perfect Vacation

It was the perfect getaway! The Orchard is just two short blocks from Chinatown and two short blocks from Union Square! It's near the corner of Powell Street with easy access to the Cable Cars, and everything else is in walking distance. We were never bored! The hotel itself is small and cozy with a clean and beautiful guest room, complete with a comfortable and inviting bed. The bathroom is large and I enjoyed the tub and the fragrant eo brand soaps and shampoos! Restaurants are abundant near the hotel, and the staff was always smiling, friendly and helpful! I will definately stay there again! Oh, and thanks Orbitz, the price was unbelievable too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If shopping is your thing, walk 3 blocks down Powell street to the largest Macy's that I've ever seen! From there in all other directions, you will find tons of more shopping, including a rather large mall a few blocks further down on Powell. When you're done for the day, just return up the hill with the cable car!

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Downers Grove, IL
Aug 6, 2009

Friendly hotel

Great location, right on the cable car line, which some may feel could be noisy but only when it's early in the AM when not much other noise. The room was very nice, staff friendly, and elevators worked quickly. Bed was very comfortable, nice pillows and mini frig nice to have. We did alot of walking so a minor drawback was no hot-tub to relax but guess they have access to a spa/health club for a fee. Did not eat in restaurant, seemed pricy but some great less expensive places within a couple of blocks. We found a friendly deli place for breakfast, Cable Car Deli right on Powell less than a block away that was great prices and service. I liked that is was not right in the heart of Union Square but close so you could access shopping and transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel close to lots of restaurants and shopping both inexpensive to the high end places in Union Sq. area. If planning to tour the city, get the Muni-pass so you can take any type of public transit, except BART, with it. We used it alot and got our money's worth for sure.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crab cracker
Spokane, WA
Aug 6, 2009

First timers

this was our first time in San Francisco. We stayed here because it looked nice compared to some others in the Union Square area and we got a great deal on it. I think the rooms were bigger too. The rooms seemed newly renovated and they were clean. It always felt hot in our room, and very cold two floors down in my parents room, and even with the fan, it was a little hard to regulate the temp. Overall, the staff was very friendly as well and got us a limo back to the airport the last morning. It is just far enough from the busiest part of Union Square, but close to everything you need to get to, including all the types of transportation you might use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely pick up a Muni pass (we did a 3 day) and after taking a classic trolley ride down the wharf, use the other types of transportations available like the electric buses and such. you'll get there much quickler than the trolleys, but it's fun to ride once or twice.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crab cracker
Spokane, WA
Aug 6, 2009

First timers

this was our first time in San Francisco. We stayed here because it looked nice compared to some others in the Union Square area and we got a great deal on it. I think the rooms were bigger too. The rooms seemed newly renovated and they were clean. It always felt hot in our room, and very cold two floors down in my parents room, and even with the fan, it was a little hard to regulate the temp. Overall, the staff was very friendly as well and got us a limo back to the airport the last morning. It is just far enough from the busiest part of Union Square, but close to everything you need to get to, including all the types of transportation you might use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely pick up a Muni pass (we did a 3 day) and after taking a classic trolley ride down the wharf, use the other types of transportations available like the electric buses and such. you'll get there much quickler than the trolleys, but it's fun to ride once or twice.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Downers Grove, IL
Aug 6, 2009

Friendly hotel

Great location, right on the cable car line, which some may feel could be noisy but only when it's early in the AM when not much other noise. The room was very nice, staff friendly, and elevators worked quickly. Bed was very comfortable, nice pillows and mini frig nice to have. We did alot of walking so a minor drawback was no hot-tub to relax but guess they have access to a spa/health club for a fee. Did not eat in restaurant, seemed pricy but some great less expensive places within a couple of blocks. We found a friendly deli place for breakfast, Cable Car Deli right on Powell less than a block away that was great prices and service. I liked that is was not right in the heart of Union Square but close so you could access shopping and transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel close to lots of restaurants and shopping both inexpensive to the high end places in Union Sq. area. If planning to tour the city, get the Muni-pass so you can take any type of public transit, except BART, with it. We used it alot and got our money's worth for sure.

Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sydney, Australia
Aug 1, 2009

Great friendly staff

Great location and friendly staff. Room is spotless. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top