$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Orchard Hotel

3 stars
665 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
129 reviews
Weekend getaway

Spent 3 days in San Francisco, the hotel and location were perfect, friendly staff, clean rooms,... See full review

  • Rch P
  • Oct 20, 2014
Gem of a Hotel!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Orchard Hotel. The staff was friendly and welcoming at all... See full review

  • SinNYC
  • Jun 10, 2014
Eco-friendly hotel near Union Square and steps from cable cars

As its name suggests, the residential-style Orchard Hotel is all about the environment. The boutique hotel was San Francisco's first hotel to become LEED-EB certified by the U.S. Green Building Council, and it continues to tout a number of eco-friendly programs today. The hotel was built in 2000, and rooms still feel brand-new. Daffodil, the on-site restaurant, serves a variety of cuisines from all over the world.

Highlights
  • Eco-friendly programs and organic bath products
  • Walk to shopping at Union Square and Westfield Centre mall
  • Complimentary business and fitness centers
Rooms

Relax and rejuvenate in one of the Orchard's 104 rooms, including nine suites. Armoires feature state-of-the-art DVD and CD entertainment centers and 27-inch flat-screen televisions. Guests will find large work desks, complimentary high-speed Internet and Wi-Fi and fully stocked mini-bars. Designed specifically for the Orchard, most of the furniture is made of wood from Bali. Bathrooms boast organic bath products.

Features

The Orchard opened in 2000, making it one of the newest boutique hotels in San Francisco. When it opened, it became the city's first LEED-EB certified hotel. Since then, the property has collected a number of other accolades for its commitment to eco-friendly practices. The Orchard continues to refine its approach to green.

Art is a common theme inside; a bronze-cast statue entitled "Spring Awakening" welcomes visitors to the lobby, and paintings and photographs in hallways upstairs are from local artists.

While the on-site fitness is complimentary, guests also have access to a handful of independent fitness facilities within walking distance (fees apply).

Dining

Daffodil, the eclectic on-site eatery, pairs seasonal and local organic cuisine with wines from all over the world. The restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner only, though a happy hour menu spotlights a number of tapas-style small plate dishes.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (20 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Westfield Centre shopping mall
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Executive boardroom is perfect for small meetings (seats 18)
  • Wine Room available at the on-site Daffodil restaurant
  • Special "Green Meeting" package
  • Complimentary Business Center
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Orchard Hotel Rooms

Grand Deluxe King Room
Our Grand deluxe room are located on top three floors of the hotel. Grand Deluxe rooms feature a mini-bar, DVD and CD players with home entertainment surround sound, dual-line cordless telephone, and high-speed Internet access, turn down service and complimentary newspaper.
Grand Deluxe Twin/Twin Room
Our Grand deluxe room are located on top three floors of the hotel. Grand Deluxe rooms feature a mini-bar, DVD and CD players with home entertainment surround sound, dual-line cordless telephone, and high-speed Internet access, turn down service and complimentary newspaper
Pure Hypo- Allergenic Deluxe King Room
Although all of our rooms follow a strict protocol for cleanliness, this Pure King Room has been specially treated to provide you with a hypo-allergenic space. PURE rooms provide our guests with fresh, clean, crisp air that allows you to have a better night sleep. This rooms includes all the amenities or our Deluxe King Room.
Deluxe King
The cozy yet sizeable accommodations offer a timeless contemporary design using a soft palate of restful colors in the wall, floor coverings and fabrics. Designed specifically for the rooms, the furniture is made of nyatoh wood from Bali, a golden toned wood that resembles a teak or a light mahogany. Armoires contain state of the art DVD and CD players with five speakers, a 27-inch TV with surround sound. The desk has excellent lighting and the two phones in the room have two lines with voicemail; one phone is cordless.

The wall art is beautifully framed artistic black and white photography depicting elements of San Francisco architecture and scenery.

Safety and convenience for guests includes safes in all closets, a minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, and a coffee maker.

Well-lighted, spacious baths feature Eco-pure bath products, hair dryers, and thick, cotton robes.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Board Room is a private environment on the second floor, and comfortably seats 18 people around a specially designed board table, outfitted with modem access portals mounted in a center trough. Every detail has been thought through from lighting that is on rheostat and conducive to an all day meeting, to audio-visual assistance that is available at all times, swivel chairs that are ergonomically designed, and a restful color scheme. The Executive Board Room offers exceptional dining from Vignette's kitchen

Dining

Daffodil
Daffodil Restaurant features hearty American Style breakfasts, all made with organic, sustainable ingredients.

A glass walled, private dining room featuring beautiful displays of one-of-a-kind wines can accommodate up to 24 guests.

The Bar is covered in reddish brown granite with high bar chairs. Whimsical lighting hangs over the bar and drama is created with an amazing array of inset lighting throughout the restaurant. Fine wines by the glass or bottle, an extensive choice of whole leaf teas, and specialty cocktails compliment each food selection.

Bar
Renowned Daffodil Restaurant and Bar is a gathering spot for the neighborhood, hotel guests, and those seeking one of the finest dining experiences in San Francisco.
Daffodil Restaurant
Daffodil Restaurant features hearty American Style breakfasts, all made with organic, sustainable ingredients. Tabletops are appointed with Frette linens, Rosenthal, Isabel Lam and an array of unique china patterns. Jeweled handled Athena pattern silverware by Corby-Hall adds to the whimsical presentation framing Chef Feldeisen's creations. Breakfast service from 6am to 10am weekdays and 7am to 11am on weekends and holidays. Daffodil is closed for dinner; however the Bar is open from 5:30pm - 10:30pm and it offers a limited bar menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terenure
San Francisco
Aug 4, 2012

Couples

Hotel was very central and room very big would recommend a stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rch P
Business
New Jersey
Oct 20, 2014

Weekend getaway

Spent 3 days in San Francisco, the hotel and location were perfect, friendly staff, clean rooms, centrally located to everything. I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buffana
Business
NYC
Sep 29, 2014

Great location

We wanted a classic SF locationand we got it. $15 day passes to a great health club, fab cafe, Beanstalk, closeby, infamous Powell Street on our corner with cable cars, All of San Francisco easy to reach Beware, this is Nob Hill, expect the steep inclines with great views,Chinatown within walking distance. Dont go to Roxannes Coffee Shop on the corner, expensive and very mediocre. Hotel dining area lovely, food okay for breakfast, never tried for other meals. Staff very helpful, altho limited knowledge of city. Wouldstayhere again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roxannes Coffee Shop, yuch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leesu
Business
North Carolina
Sep 16, 2014

Vacation stay

This hotel is well located and allows walking to many good attractions as well as municipal travel options including buses, cable cars, and trams. Our room was clean and the staff was always friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down Powell to Market and pick up the F line to travel around the wharf area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jtc woodside
Business
New york city
Sep 12, 2014

Great 5 night getaway

Excellent location just inside nob hill area. Quiet area but close enough to all transportation and restaurant's . I would definitely stay at the Orchard again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SinNYC
Business
NYC
Jun 10, 2014

Gem of a Hotel!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Orchard Hotel. The staff was friendly and welcoming at all times. The hotel is very clean and my room was cozy, tastefully decorated, and spotless. I was so comfortable, I wish I could have spent more time in the room but I wanted to see the city! My room was also quiet. The hotel is centrally located and it's very easy to get around the city from the hotel. I had a fabulous breakfast in the on-site restaurant - the food was delicious, the service was great and the dining room ambiance was delightful. I hope to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pathmim
Business
Santa Barbara, California, USA
Apr 22, 2014

Good value near Union Square

Nice, clean hotel room, larger than other rooms in SF at a similar price point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pathmim
Business
Santa Barbara, California, USA
Apr 21, 2014

Very good value hotel near Union Square

The Orchard Hotel offers clean, well-appointed rooms in a central location, just up the hill from Union Square and convenient to public transportation. Check-in and valet parking were quick and convenient. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are a decent size, larger than other SF hotels in this price range, and the decor is bland/inoffensive. We ate only one meal at the hotel's restaurant, breakfast on our check-out day. Our son and a friend met us there, and we had a good breakfast at a leisurely pace without feeling the least bit crowded or rushed. We will stay at the Orchard again next time we travel to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MRSNRM
Business
White Stone, VA
Apr 8, 2014

Amazing hotel

Everything was great! From the friendly staff, clean room, and location. HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MRSNRM
Business
White Stone, VA
Apr 7, 2014

Great Hotel located right at Union Square

Booked this hotel last minute and still got really great prices! The staff are all incredibly nice and helpful. Our room was very clean, bed was super comfortable and soft, and all around a great experience. We were on the 3rd floor so we could easily hear everything that was going on in the middle of the night but it was okay. I really loved how this hotel was environmentally friendly. Their shampoos are in refillable bottles that you cannot remove thats in the shower. Their pens were made from recycled paper and bamboo as well. Overall had a great experience and would love to stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

about 1.5 miles away, right past china town, there are ALOT of restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiwi2003
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Sep 20, 2013

Very nice hotel, great location

My husband and I recently stayed at the Orchard. Sadly it was only for one night, but the location was perfect for getting around. The front desk staff and doormen were very helpful making recommendations and arranging transportation for our short stay. The room was larger than I expected because I had heard about tiny rooms in all San Fran hotels. The room was very clean and bed was very comfortable. We were on 7th floor and although it was a busy part of the city, we did not hear any street noise. Overall a very nice stay and we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top