$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
View map of 466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
258 reviews
Great experience!

This is right besides Chinatown and Union Square. Good location. Hotel is clean and new, not cheap... See full review

  • Jerry
  • Mar 18, 2015
Nice experience

No problems at the Orchard Garden Hotel. The staff was great. They arranged our rental bikes to be... See full review

  • KR from Vancouver WA
  • Mar 15, 2015
Eco-friendly San Francisco hotel with organic dining near Union Square
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 258
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Carlos, CA
Feb 6, 2010

purportedly 4 star, isn't.

The one great thing about the hotel was the staff: very professional and fast. Everything else ranged from blah to very bad. Overnight parking: ~$46! Ludicrous. The most charitable view of the bathroom / bedroom setup was "intimate" and in ways you'd prefer it wasn't. The room itself was ok, but nothing like the photos. As one example of the condition: the rod holding the shower broke during an adjustment, exposing rusted screws.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
orbijd
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 27, 2012

Great location, average hotel

Great location for a first visit to San Francisco. It's right next to Chinatown Gate. Although the hotel claims to be "the greenest in town", we did not notice much energy saving. We particularly liked the fact that we could use their two business center desktop computers to print our maps, boarding passes etc for free - that's rare in a hotel. (Not that green, come to think of it). Our backs hurt a bit from sleeping on their matress. The rooms were clean. The staff were always very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great authentic French restaurant just across the street: "Cafe de la Presse". Their Boeuf Bourguignon was very tasty!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frankie Ship
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 17, 2012

just okay

For 10 days I traveled throughout California, so I had several hotel experiences. Prior to San Francisco I was in Napa at a luxury bed & breakfast hotel and had high hopes that Orchard Garden, as a 4 star hotel, would be the same or equeal to my Napa hotel; unfortunately this was not the case. I live in DC and go to NYC a lot...would have to rate this hotel 3 star wanting to be 4 star...it was clean, but the room felt cluttered and slightly outdated. The proximity to Fisherman's Wharf was fair and took me about 30 minutes to walk to the Wharf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Thai House Express on Larkin in downtown San Francisco. Try the pumpkin curry b/c absolutely delicious, as well as mint lemonade and fried banana dessert.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Linzstar
Business
New York, NY
Jul 23, 2010

Nice hotel. Small room. Ok area.

The hotel is located right by the entrance to Chinatown, which is a big tourist spot. It's an ok area, but walk a few blocks in the wrong direction and you're surrounded by drunk homeless people. The room was small, but well maintained. We had a small window with a view of a parking lot and the back of a building. It was nice to have free wifi, although they did try to get you to upgrade to a faster speed for a fee. Valet parking was the only option and it's $40 a day. The staff were friendly and our room was ready early. When we called for our car in the morning it was brought around promptly. I would recommend this hotel more for business travelers since it's near the business district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jun 22, 2009

hotel not happy we booked thru Orbitz

After looking at our room after checking in, we went back downstairs to see about changing rooms due to the tiny room size, view of neighboring buildings' walls out of the window, and noticing that the room being cleaned next to ours actually had chairs, a hall, etc. The female desk clerk said that they were full, and since we booked through orbitz instead of through the hotel, she wouldn't be able to try to move us anyway. When we asked about the empty room next to ours, she said all the rooms were "blocked out", so she could do nothing to help. She said if we were "really unhappy" that she could maybe move us to another room the next night, but it wouldn't have a better view, wouldn't be much bigger, and would be $20 more a night. We passed on that offer. When we went to use our wine glasses, we noticed one was cracked. When I called the front desk, I got a recorded message that the front desk was unavailable and to leave a message. I went down to the desk, and was told to take the glass to the restaurant and they could give me another one(no "sorry about that", etc.) There is essentially no lobby in the hotel and it is kind of stark and lacks any kind of ambience when you enter.On the positive side...later, we dealt with [...], [...], and one other very helpful, polite desk person, and they were all great about giving us directions, restaurant recommendations, etc. There is a rooftop where you can bring a bottle of wine, or order drinks from the restaurant below, and that was very pleasant. The location was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Sep 22, 2009

Central Location

Great location central to downtown, Chinatown, Union Square. In a neighborhood with lots of shopping and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TKELL
Business
Fresno, CA
Jul 30, 2009

first green hotel stay

The hotel was very nice, small, but nice. First time being in a green hotel so that was kind of cool. Location was hard to find being in the heart of San Francisco, was only 2 blocks from AT&T park. Overall it was an average stay, nothing special just a room and a bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mra38905
Business
San Fernando, CA
Aug 3, 2009

Nice and simple...

It was a nice experience if you're looking for a very simple hotel...didn't get a chance to try their restaurant ROOTS, but it looked very good...service was wonderful! They were more than happy to recommend restaurants if you weren't too familiar with the area...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears Fine Foods..great tiny swedish pancakes!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Jan 1, 2011

Great Location

The room was a very tiny handicapped accessible room (low closet poles, sliding bathroom door) on an airshaft. There was a torrential rain that created a lot of noise on the airshaft, but the hotel itself was very quiet. Valet parking was difficult, with limited curb and long waits for the car. Excellent location near Chinatown, Union Square, MOMA and the Financial District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoyed Le Central, Cafe de la Presse across the street, Cafe Claude in Claude Alley, Credo on Pine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nostalgic Customer
Business
Memory Lane
Jul 9, 2009

Good Idea Gone Downhill

We stayed here 2 years ago and loved the hotel. The breakfast was fun, the staff was nice, the hotel was as advertised, and the rooms were clean and cozy. This time around everything suffered in comparison. The staff was OK. The room was OK. The breakfast was not included and nothing worked as advertised. I also missed their Aveda products. We were disappointed that things were not as great as last time and will reluctantly try some place new next time around. Please take this with a grain of salt. The hotel is in a great location and the amenities were well worth the price. We just struggled with a really great memory of our last stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top