$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
View map of 466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FTGW
Couples
Chapel Hill, NC
Jun 5, 2013

Great combination of value, quality, location

We thought this was a very nice little hotel with helpful, courteous, responsive staff. Good amenities. Good-sized, clean rooms. Very well located within easy walking distance of China Town, Union Sq. etc., and transport to all the main areas of interest, museums, etc., was easy. This enabled us to make the most of our five days in San Francisco. And good value for money. We'd stay there again any time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
typical tourist
Family
England
Aug 12, 2013

Perfect location

Excellent location right next to Chinatown and shopping centre. Everything close at hand and transport links are good here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can get a clipper card for $14 dollars from Walgreens and BART stations which gives you unlimited bus and cable car for the day with no need to find change for every trip. We went all over the place with this!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken L.
Single
OH
Sep 8, 2013

Great location to Chinatown, easy access to BART, Union Square

Just finished my week long stay here, the location is top notch like I mentioned above. BART to SFO airport for only $16 and change roundtrip. As others have mentioned, take the Montgomery exit and not Powell (though it's not too far of a walk either) and a few blocks later you're there. Staff is excellent, willing to give advice, suggestions for any needs you have. Room was clean, comfortable King size bed, and decent size. Only issues I ever had was my room water pressure would fluctuate at times while showering (others flushing, using bathroom in adjacent rooms?) and a bit noisy at times from outside noises (might have been my location near back alley). Great stay and would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friends' wedding in SF
Family
New York City, NY
Sep 24, 2013

Hidden gem

Just off of Union Square, and very convenient to Chinatown. Very walkable to great restaurants like Sears and House of Nanking. Very reasonable rates (though we did book at least 6 months in advance, to work around a convention taking place the same weekend we were planning to visit) got us a clean, quiet room, polite and attentive service, and as I said, convenient location for our needs. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. (Strangely, the hotel felt empty - I'm pretty sure it was at capacity, but the lobby is really too small to hang out in, so there isn't a whole lot of chance to run into other guests. Actually not a complaint.) Also to note - we brought with us our 5 month-old daughter. They didn't have the crib set up for us when we checked in, as we'd requested when we booked, but they brought up very quickly after we called.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Seriously. Sears on Powell is worth the walk. (Don't walk up Bush though - walk down Bush to Kearny, right turn onto Kearny, then right turn onto Sutter, then walk to Powell - saves you some hills.) Great food, reasonable though on pricier side, great, relaxing atmosphere. They do different blue plate dinner specials by night - the night we went it was turkey, and delicious. Fish and chips were just ok. House of Nanking is a bit further walk but worth it if you're in the mood for Chinese. From this hotel, you can basically again walk down Bush to Kearny, and then follow Kearny up a couple blocks, and House of Nanking should be right there. Recommend not going during peak dinner time - when we tried there at 7p on a Saturday, it was packed. Also, we didn't even try bringing in our stroller - all the tables are packed in together and the walkways are narrow.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amanda G
Family
United Kingdom
Oct 6, 2013

Perfect Location to stay

This hotel is perfect for anyone wanting to get around the city. The hotel itself is great, the rooms are clean, bright great beds & bathroom. Staff very friendly & helpful. Would definetly stay again and would recommend to others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the city bus tour to get a great feel for the city

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cansu
Friends
Istanbul
Sep 30, 2013

Good but too expensive

It is a pretty good hotel but the pricing is in the range of luxurious five star hotels, which is not the way this hotel is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
East Coast 49er Fan
Couples
Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania
Oct 21, 2013

Saw the city and caught a game

The hotel was great. It was clean, accessible and the price was right. Public Transportation was plentiful right outside the door as well as taxis and a multitude of restaurants and shops. Room was clean everyday when we came back from our excursions. Bed was extremely comfortable and it was hard to not fall asleep once on them. My only extremely minor complaint came from when we were asking for directions some of the staff were not completely sure on directions. On the other hand some of them were and gave us awesome directions. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
octopusprime
Family
NY
Oct 18, 2013

Great hotel

The hotel was very nice. It was located pretty close to the tourist areas, for less than some hotels a few blocks closer to the tourist areas. The room was clean, bathroom was nice. It was nothing special to be honest, but very good nonetheless. The restaurant was always empty. I haven't eaten there. The staff was very nice, friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

4 blocks away, there's a small restaurant called Ducroix. It's french. Very fresh and delicious food and not expensive at all (for lunch at least - I haven't seen the dinner menu).

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moon dancer
Couples
Texas
Dec 8, 2013

The big trip

Very comfortable and quiet! Perfect for couples that don't want a lot of outside interference. Location to sights and public transport was exceptional. Literally sixty feet from entrance to china town! Staff was great and extremely helpful. Two negatives ,then I'll sign off. No early check in was allowed,our flight landed early so we had to traipse around for a couple hours. Although we liked the green hotel idea,the water pressure sucked. That being said,I would gladly stay at the orchard again:))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goughspace
Business
London
May 27, 2014

Worry free stay

Solid performer hotel that operates at the mid to high level range. Rooms big enough, kept spotlessly clean and will good air con, tv and wifi Staff pleasant and attentive without being intrusive. Bar area a little lacking (was closed most of the time we were there) but plenty to do around the hotel so wasn't a huge problem. One of those places that you can just book knowing it will be a stress free experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Irish pub over the road a great spot for a few drinks and dinner.

Back to menu Return to top