$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
View map of 466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Justinburt1
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 25, 2013

Clean, Friendly Eco-Hotel

I was really happy with my stay at the Orchard Garden Hotel. The staff were friendly and courteous, greeting me as I entered/left the hotel and opening doors. The room was spacious, clean and modern. There was a fitness center, but I didn't make use of it during my stay. I like the fact that it is a green hotel as well. There is signage throughout the room telling you what to do if you want to help the environment (e.g. re-use towels and sheets if you're staying multiple days). It is also in a great location, just a few blocks from the train and cable cars, right next to Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Chelsea Place up the street is the ultimate dive bar!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teuron
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 25, 2013

Comfort and accommodating

We were very happy with out stay. We were traveling with a 2 year old and grand parents in a separate room. They allowed us to make changes to the reservation by substituting a two double bed room for a king and putting the rooms on the same floor. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This is our second stay at the Orchard Garden and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shahara
Business
corralitos, california
Mar 26, 2013

perfect !

Lovely, modern, eco-green, perfect getaway hotel, good location and friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

kokkari - Greek and wonderful ambience

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Silly Nickname
Business
Little Rock, Arkansas
Mar 27, 2013

Hub of a great week in San Francisco

We spent spring break wandering around San Francisco, with this hotel as our base of operations, and had a great time. This hotel is an easy walk to Union Square, the cable car line, BART, and street car stops. It is not a touristy area, but the tourist stops are an easy street car or cable car ride away, an arrangement that works very well for us. Our six year old loved the cable car museum, the academy of science, and biking the golden gate bridge. Actually, we all loved those things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved riding the cable cars. It might be a silly thing to some, but something about the low tech operation, the individuality in how the gripman and conductor ran each train, the fun of being a "standee." A ride cost $6 if purchased individually, but a 3-day pass that covers cables cars, street cars and buses is $22. Buy the pass. Second hint is that you can board a block or two north of the Powell station and not have to wait in the huge line. Still, it's worth waiting in the huge line once to see how they turn the cars around.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLR10
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 31, 2013

Great Location!

Friendly staff in a great location. Rooms were small but didn't spend much time in the room so it didn't really matter. If you're out and about exploring the city this is the perfect place to stay for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A333
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 3, 2013

Great for downtown - but no parking

Right next to the China Town gate entrance and walking distance to Union Square...equals no parking. They will valet for $45 per day or you can hustle as I did and make it work with the parking garages and meters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is right there. If you don't mind riding on the inside of the cable car then you don't have to wait in the long main line, you can pick it up a couple blocks down the run.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dmahonenyc
Business
Astoria, New York
Apr 6, 2013

A Week in San Francisco

The hotel was clean and simple. The people at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. Not crazy about the bathroom . . . It had a sliding door that did not close all of the way and left very little room for privacy. Noisy toilet, too. The location was perfect for us. Right at the edge of Chinatown . . . lots of great stores and cafes . . . walking distance to the piers. Thank you, Orchard Garden!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wine Bar on Grant Ave sells amazing iced coffees and croissants. . . It was the perfect spot to grab breakfast-on-the-go when we had to get up and out of the hotel for Muir Wood tours and Napa tours. (Tower Tours was a pretty good company to go with for the tours, btw!)

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ElizabetD
Business
Rochester, MN
Apr 22, 2013

Overall Good Experience

Pros: The hotel is a block away from China Town, a couple blocks away from Union Scare, a few blocks from the bus and trolley stations, and within walking distance of AT&T Park. The rooms were clean. The concierge was helpful. Cons: The food was very expensive at the hotel, and there was no swimming pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk downhill to the Fisherman's Wharf and take the trolley back uphill to the hotel. The trolley goes within a block of the hotel.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jutah
Business
Salt Lake City
May 6, 2013

Overnight business trip

We came into town for a meeting with a client. The location was easy to get to from the financial district. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed bed and pillows were awesome and I had a great night's sleep. The next morning for breakfast the staff pointed us in the right direction for breakfast "Sears Fine Foods". One of the guys we were traveling with complained that we passed many good places on the way to Sears however it was worth the walk. All around great stay, comfortable accommodations and friendly staff. I would not hesitate staying again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a GREAT breakfast check out Sears Fine Dining. Great food, fair price and their orange juice was the best I have ever had.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShaneF
Business
Grand Rapids
May 29, 2013

Great Location and Great Staff

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the OGH. The staff was very thoughtful and informative. The bed was very comfortable and there was very little noise. San Francisco is a great town and this hotel is right next to the Chinatown gate with an easy walk to cable cars and trolleys that can help you find some incredible sights. There are also many different types of restaurants within walking distance. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Shane

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One of our favorite Cable Car rides (Powell & Hyde) is just two blocks away. Grab it in the early morning or late evening for some great views of the city. Don't forget to get a Clipper pass if you are using public transportation - it covers the buses,trolleys,cable cars, and ferries. Have fun!

Back to menu Return to top