$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
403 reviews
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Great stay and wonderful location

This was a great hotel to stay at, close to great shopping at Union square and Chinatown. The staff... See full review

  • A soul traveler
  • Mar 31, 2014
Welcome to San Francisco's newest and greenest hotel - the Orchard Garden Hotel. Newly built in the heart of San Francisco, the Orchard Garden Hotel is California's first generation of truly green hotels - the only hotel built to the nationally accepted standards for green buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC). Like its proud sister, the award-winning Orchard Hotel, the Orchard Garden Hotel is a non smoking environment and located in a perfect neighborhood for discerning business and pleasure travelers. The hotel is a short stroll from Union Square shops and theaters, blocks away from the Financial District deal makers and San Francisco's legendary cable cars, and just steps from the Chinatown Gates. The hotel's dedication to sustaining the environment is only surpassed by a commitment to service with a hospitality team that is ready to assist you with every need from valet parking, to concierge assistance, to complimentary morning Town Car service. Effective August 1st, 2008, the daily parking fee is $40.00 plus tax. The parking fee is subject to change without notice.

Hotel Map

37.7909 -122.4052
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport (OAK)Oakland International Airport (SJC)San Jose International Airport
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination.. a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Garden Hotel is up to the challenge.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (403)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Linzstar
New York, NY
Jul 23, 2010

Nice hotel. Small room. Ok area.

The hotel is located right by the entrance to Chinatown, which is a big tourist spot. It's an ok area, but walk a few blocks in the wrong direction and you're surrounded by drunk homeless people. The room was small, but well maintained. We had a small window with a view of a parking lot and the back of a building. It was nice to have free wifi, although they did try to get you to upgrade to a faster speed for a fee. Valet parking was the only option and it's $40 a day. The staff were friendly and our room was ready early. When we called for our car in the morning it was brought around promptly. I would recommend this hotel more for business travelers since it's near the business district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Sep 22, 2009

Central Location

Great location central to downtown, Chinatown, Union Square. In a neighborhood with lots of shopping and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roon
Beaverton, Oregon
Nov 27, 2011

Review Orchard hotel San Francisco

We spent 3 nights in the Orchard hotel. It's location is perfect. Close to the BART and cable car. On the corner you find the enterance to China town...perfect. Staff was very nice and rooms were very clean. Good price for such quality!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

To visit China town....it is great!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beckmori
Portland, OR
Jul 27, 2009

Decent Room, Horrible Front Desk Service

At check-in we were given 3 cards that did not work to enter our room. I returned to the front desk and staff then gave me 3 new cards for the room. Fortunately the cards worked...unfortunately the room was already occupied by other guests when I opened the door. Thankfully nobody was naked. Finally after a 3rd trip back to the front desk, we got a room. There were 6 of us traveling together for a ladies' trip and to run the SF marathon, so we had reserved two rooms and requested they be adjacent if possible. We had to wait for our 2nd room to be cleaned which was directly across the hallway. No problem, we left our bags and ventured out for some shopping. When we returned, they had given that room away to some other guests and gave us our 2nd room on a completely different floor. Very disappointing! We also had requested a late checkout (1pm rather than noon) and were told that was no problem. One room received a call at 12:15 asking why we had not checked out...she didn't seem to believe us that we had arranged for a 1pm checkout and was quite snotty. Finally, upon checkout, they tried to charge us for a rollaway bed which we had not even inquired about. She questioned us as if we were being dishonest and then made me sign a "rollaway dispute" form to reverse the charge to my credit card, but couldn't seem to understand why I might want a copy of it as well. Too bad about the horrible front desk service. The rooms were basic but very clean and relaxing. Nonetheless, I think we will look for another place to stay next time. The service was inconsistent and unwelcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TKELL
Fresno, CA
Jul 30, 2009

first green hotel stay

The hotel was very nice, small, but nice. First time being in a green hotel so that was kind of cool. Location was hard to find being in the heart of San Francisco, was only 2 blocks from AT&T park. Overall it was an average stay, nothing special just a room and a bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
orbijd
Seattle, WA
Mar 27, 2012

Great location, average hotel

Great location for a first visit to San Francisco. It's right next to Chinatown Gate. Although the hotel claims to be "the greenest in town", we did not notice much energy saving. We particularly liked the fact that we could use their two business center desktop computers to print our maps, boarding passes etc for free - that's rare in a hotel. (Not that green, come to think of it). Our backs hurt a bit from sleeping on their matress. The rooms were clean. The staff were always very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great authentic French restaurant just across the street: "Cafe de la Presse". Their Boeuf Bourguignon was very tasty!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Jun 22, 2009

hotel not happy we booked thru Orbitz

After looking at our room after checking in, we went back downstairs to see about changing rooms due to the tiny room size, view of neighboring buildings' walls out of the window, and noticing that the room being cleaned next to ours actually had chairs, a hall, etc. The female desk clerk said that they were full, and since we booked through orbitz instead of through the hotel, she wouldn't be able to try to move us anyway. When we asked about the empty room next to ours, she said all the rooms were "blocked out", so she could do nothing to help. She said if we were "really unhappy" that she could maybe move us to another room the next night, but it wouldn't have a better view, wouldn't be much bigger, and would be $20 more a night. We passed on that offer. When we went to use our wine glasses, we noticed one was cracked. When I called the front desk, I got a recorded message that the front desk was unavailable and to leave a message. I went down to the desk, and was told to take the glass to the restaurant and they could give me another one(no "sorry about that", etc.) There is essentially no lobby in the hotel and it is kind of stark and lacks any kind of ambience when you enter.On the positive side...later, we dealt with [...], [...], and one other very helpful, polite desk person, and they were all great about giving us directions, restaurant recommendations, etc. There is a rooftop where you can bring a bottle of wine, or order drinks from the restaurant below, and that was very pleasant. The location was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto,CA
May 12, 2010

good location.

good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amy KinHong
Maryland
May 27, 2013

Very comfortable accommodation

The room is very clean and looks new, location is fine(just next to China Town and close to Union Square). However considering it as a four star, I didn't find very welcoming staff from the reception. Anyways, it is a good one if you don't care or don't have to deal with the staff much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Jan 29, 2010

OK

The hotel is located well, good decor, small room, needs a reading chair. With two people, one chair (at the desk) is not enough. The green features are admirable and welcome. The recycling bins, electrical savings features, etc. are well done. However, the toilet wastes more water than its specs intend, because it doesn't flush thorough enough and, therefore, requires two (even three) flushes per serious use to get it clean. The hotel is clean. The staff is most helpful. The valet parking is expensive. Surely the hotel can get a better deal. The down bed cover is too hot. There should be a blanket alternative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Belden Street with a European (Old San Francisco) feel, has five or six restaurants with very good international cuisine.. Highly recommend Plouf.

Back to menu Return to top