$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
View map of 466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
260 out of 260
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DACAttendee
Business
New Jersey
Jul 28, 2009

Excellent Value

An excellent experience overall. I was moving from another hotel in SF, when I called at 7AM to see if I could store my bag they offered to check me in immediately. The hotel itself is new and is very clean. I liked the main power switch you turn on with your room key. Room was a little on the small side but well designed. An armchair would have been nice, but I wasn't there enough to need it. The bathrobes were a nice touch. Location was great - literally steps away from Chinatown, and an easy 5-10min walk to the Moscone center where my conference was. Minor glitches: Wireless internet stopped working after about half an hour, and the room safe didn't work. To be fair, I didn't didn't complain and give the hotel a chance to fix them. I'd come back here without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tricia O
Business
Tahoe CA
Jan 1, 2010

Perfect location

Hotel is located near lots of sites, Union Square, China Town, Cable cars - easy walk to many sites and things to do. The hotel was very clean and the room, while small, was nice. The bed was very comfortable! My only complaint would be the bathroom door. In effort to save space they have a sliding door to the bathroom, which gives you visible privacy, but you can hear everything which make it difficult to get ready quietly if someone else is wanting to sleep in. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in the City, and I will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little Parisian cafe across the street which had a nice and tasty breakfast, and great staff. It was like going to France again w/o a passport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
plwyman
Business
Davis, CA
Jul 22, 2009

Cozy European-style Respite

Very pleasant hotel, very green, and amazingly comfortable beds and linens. Rooms are modest but cozy. Think European. There is a room safe large enough to hold your laptop. Overall space is used efficiently. My room was surprisingly quiet and well-lit given the central location in the city. The only snag was getting a wifi connection. This took 20-30 minutes the first two nights and wasn't happening at all on night three. It was no biggee. I would have asked for assistance had it been an issue. So, that was on me. Do ask if you have similar problems. The staff are very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
May 1, 2009

Nice hotel, great location

Very close to all the restaurants and shops in Union Square, at the gates of Chinatown. Parking will cost you $40/day so you may want to self-park somewhere else if you have a car. We got a great deal through Orbitz but ended up in a handicap interior room (no view), could swich due to the rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shelton, CT
Jul 21, 2009

Great location and cool hotel

This was a truly cool hotel in that it was really close to Chinatown (less than a block to the Chinatown gate), only a few blocks from Union Square, and even walking distance (for those that don't mind walking a couple of miles) to Fisherman's Warf and North Beach. The neighborhood is also safe with tons of great restaurants nearby. And hey, you can feel good about staying in one of the greenest hotels in a pretty green city also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You definitely can find some great restaurants in Chinatown, but take advantage of Roots in the hotel at least once. The food is organic and really well prepared.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 31, 2009

Good Hotel

very courteous staff, nice restaurant, computer and internet room available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Jun 30, 2009

Wonderful Time!

Impressed with the cleanliness and condition of rooms especially bathroom. That matters most. Liked the idea of a "green hotel". Within 2-3 block walking distance to Market Street where you can get BART, cable car lines for those who do not like to walk. Cable car different buses can take you to Golden Gate Park, Alamo Square (painted ladies), Haight Ashbury, Ocean etc. We ventured on foot from hotel to Chinatown, Little Italy, North Beach (direction North) and Embarcadero (directly East). By going up Kearny Street you can avoid the big hills. Coming back down is a breeze!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Mona Lisa Ristorante in Little Italy, 353 Columbus Avenue SUPERB!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shells62682
Business
houston, tx
Aug 13, 2009

Location, Location, Location

This was a great hotel for a child-less couple's first trip to San Francisco. We took the BART from the Airport, and walked a few blocks to the hotel. It's located close to Union Square and Chinatown, which means that it's really in the heart of the city. We got a great deal on our room and stayed 3 nights. The only downside was that the front desk service was lacking. There were simply not enough people around to cater to the needs of the guests. We waited to check in, and was subsquently checked in by a manager who had already clocked out (and changed clothes and was trying to get out the door). Check out was very easy though. The rooms were a little on the small side, but the bathroom was nice and the bed and linens were comfortable. there were great eating options close by, and that was great. One other weird thing, the returant is IN the lobby. There is also a little bit of a weird statue in the front lobby, but other than that. The hotel was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Frost
Business
Annandale, VA
Feb 24, 2009

Cute

The room was small but nice. At first, it seemed as though something was missing. Nice little trick, the door to the bathroom looks like a wall with a mirror on it. It slides open. Only thing about that, no latch or lock on the bathroom door which is a little awkward to many people. Room was clean. Lights and heat/ac don't work without the room key inserted into a slot to ensure that energy isn't wasted. Shower water pressure wasn't bad at all. Sink water pressure wasn't great. Not bad at all for $99/night. They have a "rooftop garden" but it's not much of a garden. Just a nice place to sit around and enjoy the view of other buildings and some streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Immediately next to Chinatown and very short walk to some good shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paris Travler
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 23, 2009

Orchard Garden Hotel

Good location, small but well appointed rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top