$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
403 reviews
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Great stay and wonderful location

This was a great hotel to stay at, close to great shopping at Union square and Chinatown. The staff... See full review

  • A soul traveler
  • Mar 31, 2014
Eco-friendly San Francisco hotel with organic dining near Union Square
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7909 -122.4052
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport (OAK)Oakland International Airport (SJC)San Jose International Airport
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination.. a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Garden Hotel is up to the challenge.

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (403)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rocklin, CA
Nov 27, 2010

Great Last Minute Find

This trip was our first out of town overnight trip after having our baby 8 weeks ago, and was a last minute getaway for us. We travel to San Francisco frequently and have stayed in a variety of 4 and 5 star hotels. The staff were very friendly, the hotel was clean, and the price was more than reasonable for the location. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 19, 2008

Great Location!

We were extremely pleased with our stay. The rooms were great, the staff was helpful, and the location can't be beat ! We were in San Fran for three nights and did everything we wanted to do . Be sure to ask about Cafe Claude ( very close) and Belden Place. Both are great places to eat and you can walk . We will be back !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plouf, Tiramisu, R&G Lounge,Starbucks

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 24, 2008

Very clean, friendly staff, overall great hotel!

The Orchard Hotel was very nice. The staff was extra friendly and very personable. The room was nice and very confortable. The location was good-right near China Town. I will for sure stay at this hotel again and I recomend it to everyone. I do think it is a more of an adult hotel then kid friendly but that is what I like about it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Jan 10, 2011

VERY CLEAN AND NEW

For this price, this is probably the best deal you can get in downtown San Francisco. The chain hotels in the area (e.g. Hilton, Marriott) are more expensive and they are not any better. Here the rooms are smaller but they are incredibly new and clean. I would definitely suggest this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danbury ct
Dec 13, 2010

Great hotel and friendly staff. Relaxing

On business. Accomidating staff with requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything needed local within walking distance.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Feb 17, 2008

Friendly front desk helped us make the most of our weekend.

The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff made perfect suggestions whenever we had questions regarding activities. The location is perfect for NOT having to rent a car. Can easily walk to Chinatown, Union Square, Ferry Bldg, cable cars, and catch the double decker bus right outside. The rooms don't have much of a view, but they are extremely quiet, which more than makes up for it in my opinion. The peacefulness is a perfect complement to the comfy beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Apr 22, 2008

Very Nice Hotel, Great Location

The Orchard Garden was a beautiful hotel, with a very friendly staff. Although our room was small, it was extremely comfortable & quiet. Our room faced Bush Street and with all the daily traffic outside we never heard a sound. The bed linens were very plush & cozy complete with feather pillows. The bathroom was beautifully done & had a surpisingly large feel considering the room was small. NIce size flat screen TV with dvd player, WiFi access & IPOD docking station. The location of the hotel was convenient to everything. Chinatown entrance was right next to hotel, Powell Street cable cars were two blocks away and it was a short walk to many shopping & dining choices. When we go back to San Francisco we will stay @ the Orchard Garden again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Roots restuarant inside the hotel was alittle pricey however it's a short walk to many others.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Jun 24, 2007

Amazing Green Hotel

The room was so comfortable, clean and fresh that we wanted to just move in. Only down side was that the Fridge in the room was an honor bar, so it couldnt be used for personal items. The hotel staff made it possible for me to use the fridge for my medicine storage. The staff is amazingly helpful and friendly. It is the first and only Green Freindly hotel in SF. Everything was brand new and amazing. Family friendly, great for the business traveler or just a weekend get away to the coast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jun 26, 2007

Great hotel!

We found the Orchard Garden staff very friendly and helpful. They remembered our preferences for breakfast and were prompt in response to our requests. The location is ideal for business or pleasure--centrally located to Union Square, business area and Chinatown. The room was small but quite comfortable with a large bathroom, and the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job in keeping the room clean.The king sized bed was quite comfortable and the room we had was very quiet so that our nights were restful. Roots is a fine restaurant though a bit pricey. We enjoyed our meal there on the first night and the breakfasts were excellent, especially the fresh fruit and breads. It was our first trip to San Francisco, and the Orchard Garden made our stay very enjoyable. We could find nothing to complain about, a first for us. We would recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for a small, friendly hotel with an almost ideal location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chinatown gate is right around the corner on Grant Street and Union Square with theaters, restaurants and cinemas is very handy. Many of the better ethnic restaurants are short walks from the hotel, and we took advantage of a new one every evening.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 12, 2008

Very nice hotel

The Orchard Garden Hotel was very comfortable. We had a beautiful room. Walking distance to transportation. We will definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just around the corner from China Town entrance and great restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top