$296 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 9, 2014 Check-out: Oct 10, 2014

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
251 reviews
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Great stay and wonderful location

This was a great hotel to stay at, close to great shopping at Union square and Chinatown. The staff... See full review

  • A soul traveler
  • Mar 31, 2014
Eco-friendly San Francisco hotel with organic dining near Union Square
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace

Hotel Map

37.7909 -122.4052
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport (OAK)Oakland International Airport (SJC)San Jose International Airport
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination.. a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Garden Hotel is up to the challenge.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (251)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephen Francis
Kent, U.K.
Oct 15, 2013

Equal best of 8 hotels we used during the two week stay in the U.S.

Most convenient for local sights and transport! Would certainly use again without hesitation. My family were located on the top floor for four nights and we made good use of the roof terrace. Very quiet for good nights sleep. The small gym has three machines. Desk staff were wonderful and freely gave advice when requested. Yellow cab cost to or from the International airport is around $42. We made use of the French restaurants opposite for breakfasts as well as the usual coffee houses close by. Union Square is only 400 yards away for Maceys and Cheesecake Factory as well as the many tourist buses. Birthday treat arranged for my wife on request. Stephen Francis

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

China Town entrance exactly next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 16, 2008

Very friendly

The Orchard Garden was very nice. Staff was excellent. The entire facility was very clean. I could not had been more pleased. I would highly recommend and would stay at the Orchard Garden again. Within walking distance of Union Sq. ChinaTown and many nice restaurants and bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dairymanz
California
Dec 2, 2009

Orchard Garden

Excellent attentive staff. Remembered us after two years! Within walking distance to downtown, Chinatown, and North Beach locations. Clean attractive rooms. You'd think a hotel like this would cost twice the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KLPK
Minnesota
Jul 10, 2012

Great location in SF & awesome service

This is a great hotel...very unique, eco-friendly, clean, well-decorated, and an ideal location. Right next to the gates of Chinatown in a safe area with close stops for the metro transit systems and hop-on/off bus tours. We had an issue our first night that was handled very well. Our smoke alarm started chirping/beeping at 2:30am and wouldn't stop. We ended up having to pack up our things and move rooms in the middle of the night. We were not happy campers. The next day we spoke to the manager who was fully aware of the situation. He would have offered us a free night, but couldn't since we paid via Orbitzz. Instead he gave us free breakfast at the hotel, wine & mini-bar vouchers, nice chocolates, an upgraded room with much better view, and a towncar ride to the airport. They were very gracious and understanding and went out of their way for us. The staff at the front desk was always helpful in directing us around town and the bartender was very fun to chat with! Overall, it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, Arizona
Aug 11, 2009

Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall the staff was excellent and took care of my requested needs very promptly and in a friendly manner. However, the front desk forgot to make my shuttle van reservation as requested (face to face request) several hours prior to going to the airport. The bellman took care of the problem by promptly calling a taxis and paid for the fare. This one of the best hotels that I have stayed in and would recommend to other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Hartford, CT
Apr 22, 2009

"Unbeatable for the price"

Good location, easy walk to Union Square and shopping, at the edge of Chinatown. One of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Montana69guy
Bozeman MT
Oct 22, 2009

Best Hotel In SF

It was a great hotel very friendly staff and great new clean rooms and love that fact that its a very eco hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emosin
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Great business trip!

Thanks for everything! The staff is professional & all around excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Royal Oak
Jul 5, 2008

Great Couple's Hotel

Staying in this green-friendly hotel has really made me more conscious when I came back home. The location was absolutely perfect. We were two blocks from a stop on the Powell-Hyde cable car. The Market streetcar was only a few blocks away as well. We never ate in the restaurant, but that was because there was some much around our hotel. The room itself was the perfect size for a couple. We had plenty of space and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. We definitely had a great experience in not only San Francisco, but at the Orchard Garden too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure you have a meal in North Beach, San Francisco's Little Italy! Also, visit the fortune cookie factory in Chinatown!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerry D and Mary
Utah
Aug 1, 2013

Peaceful, clean, close to MUNI stops

Very helpful staff. 4 blocks from BART station makes easy trip to and from airport. Be certain to enter and exit at Montgomery St Station and not Powell St. Download the MUNI app to your iPhone and buy a bus pass to save money for wonderful food and sights while in SF. Within walking distance to MUNI stops that will get you anywhere you want to go in the City. Only draw back is just two P.C. 'S in business center but great wireless in rooms. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the MUNI to get around. Efficient and accessible. Download the MUNI app and you will never get lost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EJ from Puerto Rico
Business
Georgia
Jul 7, 2009

It was great, probably of the best for i

In facct it was great, I payed for two days here what one day cost me at the intercontinental, and after the first day , I wished i would have stayed all four, very comfortable, very quiet and private , just perfect annd great room service, the staff was awesome I even checked in about 3 hours earlier then expected, I definitly would stay again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is right around the corner, and the BART station just a few blocks away, if you keep walking down it gets more crowded and there are many shopping centers, it is close to third street were you grab most of the buses that will take you to the big attractions, Coit Tower, Fisherman's Wharf, and even the Golden Gate Bridge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search