$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
403 reviews
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Great stay and wonderful location

This was a great hotel to stay at, close to great shopping at Union square and Chinatown. The staff... See full review

  • A soul traveler
  • Mar 31, 2014
Eco-friendly San Francisco hotel with organic dining near Union Square
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7909 -122.4052
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport (OAK)Oakland International Airport (SJC)San Jose International Airport
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination.. a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Garden Hotel is up to the challenge.

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (403)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephen Francis
Kent, U.K.
Oct 15, 2013

Equal best of 8 hotels we used during the two week stay in the U.S.

Most convenient for local sights and transport! Would certainly use again without hesitation. My family were located on the top floor for four nights and we made good use of the roof terrace. Very quiet for good nights sleep. The small gym has three machines. Desk staff were wonderful and freely gave advice when requested. Yellow cab cost to or from the International airport is around $42. We made use of the French restaurants opposite for breakfasts as well as the usual coffee houses close by. Union Square is only 400 yards away for Maceys and Cheesecake Factory as well as the many tourist buses. Birthday treat arranged for my wife on request. Stephen Francis

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

China Town entrance exactly next door.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lyons, IL
Aug 9, 2008

Wonderful experience

I really enjoyed the location and the staff at this very friendly hotel right in the midst of 4 different San Francisco districts. Steps away to the China Town gates-a terrific locale. Everything was very central and the room was great. I appreciated the eco-friendliness too but I wished that the toilet paper was a tiny bit softer. I guess you'll have that with eco-friendly TP though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

China Town Nob Hill Union Square

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Hartford, CT
Apr 22, 2009

"Unbeatable for the price"

Good location, easy walk to Union Square and shopping, at the edge of Chinatown. One of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, *
Jul 25, 2008

Jewel of a hotel

The Orchard Garden Hotel in San Francisco, CA was a wonderful find! Being next to the gates to Chinatown, its location couldn't be better. It's within easy walking distance to MUNI bus stops, trolly stops, BART station and Union Square. It was built within the past two years and is very modern, attractive and environmentally aware. The staff is extremely helpful and accommodating and knows their city! "Roots" is the hotel restaurant(modern cuisine that includes organic and locally grown produce), but there are many restaurants with walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Melbourne, FL
Jul 28, 2007

Perfect for any type of traveler

Our experience with this hotel was fantastic. It's a beautiful hotel that's truly cares about the environment too. The staff was absolutely wonderful. They took great care of us. The room was clean. I highly recommend The Orchard Garden Hotel to anyone: couples, famlies, and business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cafe across the street has great food. Also there are many other fine resturants nearby. Not chain-type resturants either. Fun to try someplace new each day!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emosin
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Great business trip!

Thanks for everything! The staff is professional & all around excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 30, 2008

Friendly staff

The Orchard Garden Hotel staff was very friendly. We were celebrating a family reunion. The hotel was small with no lobby area. The fitness center was small with only three excercise equipments. The business center was also small with just two computer. Was very nice having free wireless internet in room also a printer in business center to print out boarding passes. We did not eat at the restaurant because we were told breakfast was $20 a person which I thought was expensive. The rooms were nice with a big TV. Plenty of closet space and nice robes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right at the entrance to Chinatown. The best dim sum we had was at the New Asia restaurant. Get there before 11 am otherwise will be a wait for a table.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Royal Oak
Jul 5, 2008

Great Couple's Hotel

Staying in this green-friendly hotel has really made me more conscious when I came back home. The location was absolutely perfect. We were two blocks from a stop on the Powell-Hyde cable car. The Market streetcar was only a few blocks away as well. We never ate in the restaurant, but that was because there was some much around our hotel. The room itself was the perfect size for a couple. We had plenty of space and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. We definitely had a great experience in not only San Francisco, but at the Orchard Garden too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure you have a meal in North Beach, San Francisco's Little Italy! Also, visit the fortune cookie factory in Chinatown!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque, NM
Oct 6, 2008

Go Green the right way!

Great hotel, location, and service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square less than 5 blocks away!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 30, 2008

Spacious bathrooms!

I loved the spacious layout of the bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable. Room was clean top to bottom. Nice flat screen TV. Alarm clock had an iPod dock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in a safe/clean area of the Financial District and is near Union Square, Chinatown, Cable Cars, MUNI Buses, BART Trains, 24hr Fitness, Shopping.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 20, 2007

My review of Orchard Garden Hotel

The Orchard Garden Hotel is a wonderful hotel in a great location in San Francisco. I walked everywhere while I was there and the hotel itself was very comfortable and welcoming. I love the concept of an entirely eco-friendly hotel, and I would pay the extra money to stay at a green hotel anywhere else that I travel. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone visiting San Francisco, and I will likely stay here again on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thai food restaurant on the corner called Bangkok's Best was good. There are also a ton of restaurants in North Beach which is about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. I didn't get a chance to eat at any of them but there were a lot of options and everything looked really good, not to mention the area is adorable!

Back to menu Return to top