$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
277 reviews
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Great Weekend Getaway

Wonderful people, wonderful place, great experience! See full review

  • Super Cooper
  • Apr 13, 2014
Eco-friendly San Francisco hotel with organic dining near Union Square
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace

Hotel Map

37.7909 -122.4052
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport (OAK)Oakland International Airport (SJC)San Jose International Airport
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination.. a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Garden Hotel is up to the challenge.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (277)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 277
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mia Paws
Brisbane
Dec 25, 2013

Fantastic Hotel

Great hotel in a fantastic location. Staff were so helpful. Would recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VG667
Australia
Oct 20, 2013

Great location right next to China Town

For some reason our room was not ready at check in time at 3pm We had already arrived early so they knew we were waiting, Eventually the room was ready at 4pm. Staff did give us a small box if chocolates for this inconvenience. Otherwise, the location was excellent for accessing all the attractions and transport. Our room was clean, no view from window, rooftop garden was great for evening cheese and wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe near Cable Car Museum "Gallery Cafe" - good value bagels for breakfast.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
octopusprime
NY
Oct 18, 2013

Great hotel

The hotel was very nice. It was located pretty close to the tourist areas, for less than some hotels a few blocks closer to the tourist areas. The room was clean, bathroom was nice. It was nothing special to be honest, but very good nonetheless. The restaurant was always empty. I haven't eaten there. The staff was very nice, friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

4 blocks away, there's a small restaurant called Ducroix. It's french. Very fresh and delicious food and not expensive at all (for lunch at least - I haven't seen the dinner menu).

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephen Francis
Kent, U.K.
Oct 15, 2013

Equal best of 8 hotels we used during the two week stay in the U.S.

Most convenient for local sights and transport! Would certainly use again without hesitation. My family were located on the top floor for four nights and we made good use of the roof terrace. Very quiet for good nights sleep. The small gym has three machines. Desk staff were wonderful and freely gave advice when requested. Yellow cab cost to or from the International airport is around $42. We made use of the French restaurants opposite for breakfasts as well as the usual coffee houses close by. Union Square is only 400 yards away for Maceys and Cheesecake Factory as well as the many tourist buses. Birthday treat arranged for my wife on request. Stephen Francis

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

China Town entrance exactly next door.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Molmitz
Sydney Australia
Oct 15, 2013

Small comfortable hotel

Close to Chinatown but about 10 mins walk to Union Square and main shopping area. Mainly Asians that work there. Special touches like bed turndown in the evening and chocolates left in our room were appreciated. We had an afternoon flight departure were able to extend our check out time by 1 hour. Staff were helpful in providing directions and bus details to get to Fishermans Wharf and Golden Gate Bridge. Not much choice of food options available closeby other than Starbucks & Subway and a restaurant across the road. A bit over priced for what it is

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Marshall's, Ross dress for less and Walgreens are good for cheap shopping

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amanda G
United Kingdom
Oct 6, 2013

Perfect Location to stay

This hotel is perfect for anyone wanting to get around the city. The hotel itself is great, the rooms are clean, bright great beds & bathroom. Staff very friendly & helpful. Would definetly stay again and would recommend to others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the city bus tour to get a great feel for the city

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friends' wedding in SF
New York City, NY
Sep 24, 2013

Hidden gem

Just off of Union Square, and very convenient to Chinatown. Very walkable to great restaurants like Sears and House of Nanking. Very reasonable rates (though we did book at least 6 months in advance, to work around a convention taking place the same weekend we were planning to visit) got us a clean, quiet room, polite and attentive service, and as I said, convenient location for our needs. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. (Strangely, the hotel felt empty - I'm pretty sure it was at capacity, but the lobby is really too small to hang out in, so there isn't a whole lot of chance to run into other guests. Actually not a complaint.) Also to note - we brought with us our 5 month-old daughter. They didn't have the crib set up for us when we checked in, as we'd requested when we booked, but they brought up very quickly after we called.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Seriously. Sears on Powell is worth the walk. (Don't walk up Bush though - walk down Bush to Kearny, right turn onto Kearny, then right turn onto Sutter, then walk to Powell - saves you some hills.) Great food, reasonable though on pricier side, great, relaxing atmosphere. They do different blue plate dinner specials by night - the night we went it was turkey, and delicious. Fish and chips were just ok. House of Nanking is a bit further walk but worth it if you're in the mood for Chinese. From this hotel, you can basically again walk down Bush to Kearny, and then follow Kearny up a couple blocks, and House of Nanking should be right there. Recommend not going during peak dinner time - when we tried there at 7p on a Saturday, it was packed. Also, we didn't even try bringing in our stroller - all the tables are packed in together and the walkways are narrow.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
typical tourist
England
Aug 12, 2013

Perfect location

Excellent location right next to Chinatown and shopping centre. Everything close at hand and transport links are good here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can get a clipper card for $14 dollars from Walgreens and BART stations which gives you unlimited bus and cable car for the day with no need to find change for every trip. We went all over the place with this!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dallas Red Raider
Dallas, Texas
Jun 20, 2013

Good, not great for one SMALL reason

Walking in, you'll be very pleased with your decision to stay at the Orchard Garden. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable and the hotel appearance is top notch. Get to your room, however, and you may rethink. We booked a room with two beds to accommodate myself, my wife and 4-year-old son. The room was slightly larger than a typical master bedroom in a home. Compact is probably the best way to describe it. Very little walking space, very little storage area and tiny closets meant piled up luggage and bags for 5 days. If you pack light and plan to spend very little time in the room, you're probably fine, but in terms of typical hotel rooms, this is definitely smaller than any I've stayed in. The upsides include proximity to shopping, restaurants and public transit. The staff was great, as well. Just probably not ideal for more than one or two people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the Sutter Garage just a block up the road if you rent a car. However, the abundance of pay-as-you-go cars and mass transit options make renting a car much more expensive due to the need to pay for parking everywhere in town.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amy KinHong
Maryland
May 27, 2013

Very comfortable accommodation

The room is very clean and looks new, location is fine(just next to China Town and close to Union Square). However considering it as a four star, I didn't find very welcoming staff from the reception. Anyways, it is a good one if you don't care or don't have to deal with the staff much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search