Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
View map of 466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
251 reviews
Business trip

Receptionist was very welcoming and recalled my name from my first visit over a month ago. Rooms... See full review

  • Lisa B.
  • Jun 30, 2015
Great hotel, great location

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The room was comfortable, well furnished and the bed was... See full review

  • wendy h.
  • Apr 30, 2015
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
General
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Location
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Dining
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Property features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Nearby attractions
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace
Transportation

Eco-friendly boutique hotel close to shopping in Union Square

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

37.7909 -122.4052
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport (OAK)Oakland International Airport (SJC)San Jose International Airport
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination.. a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Garden Hotel is up to the challenge.

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (251)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SandyF
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 4, 2012

College tour

We recently took a quick trip to San Francisco to check out a potential college for our daughter. The Orchard Garden ended up being the perfect hotel in the perfect location: walking distance from the BART station, the cable car stop, and the school itself. And it's just steps away from the entrance to Chinatown, where we had dinner one night. The room was clean, spacious, and well appointed. The housekeeping service was excellent, coming not once but twice a day. The front desk staff was courteous and helpful. The onsite restaurant, Roots, had good food and good service. And we loved that the hotel was small, quiet, and so eco-oriented, right down to dividing the wastebasket into recyclables! We're already planning stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Timo
Business
South Boston, VA, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Conference Gem

Close enough but Far enough away from Moscone... To get away from "crowds" and blend in... Close enough to Union Square yet not so touristy feel.. Next to China Town, Starbucks on the corner.. Greta Cafe on the other corner.... Wonderful and Helpful Staff... a GEM...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
orbijd
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 27, 2012

Great location, average hotel

Great location for a first visit to San Francisco. It's right next to Chinatown Gate. Although the hotel claims to be "the greenest in town", we did not notice much energy saving. We particularly liked the fact that we could use their two business center desktop computers to print our maps, boarding passes etc for free - that's rare in a hotel. (Not that green, come to think of it). Our backs hurt a bit from sleeping on their matress. The rooms were clean. The staff were always very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great authentic French restaurant just across the street: "Cafe de la Presse". Their Boeuf Bourguignon was very tasty!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABBI419
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Great room, great price

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, very clean, great location and great staff! we would definantly stay there again. The only small negative was that the room was a little smaller than we are used to. But still GREAT HOTEL!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy and Mark
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Visiting son

I can't begin to describe how helpful the hotel staff was at helping us around the city. The room was clean, the service was impeccable. We'll stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Fast & Furious SF Trip

I had a last minute need to travel to SF. I wanted a boutique hotel in a good area. The bonus was that it was a green hotel. I loved the room, the staff, and the location. The restaurant closed too early in the evening for me and the pillows were too spongy for my liking. Both things one can overlook! Stay here and you will have a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are in the heart of all kinds of shopping at Union Square. From high end to bargains. It's all right there.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amechow
Business
Ohio, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Excellent Stay

The Orchard Garden Hotel was perfect. It has a great location within walking distance to everything. The actual room although a bit small was very well appointed. The mini fridge and snack selection was excellent. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely with great products. I also enjoyed the 'green' concept. Front desk staff was very friendly. I would absolutely recommend this hotel in this price point and I for sure will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great cafe across the street from the hotel - La Presse.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PurpleNurple
Business
Roanoke, VA
Feb 27, 2012

Small, but very nice and great location

The staff, room, and location were all first rate. The room was quite small and even the hallways and lobby are very small, but that's to be expected at an urban boutique hotel like this one. Overall a good experience - I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is literally right around the corner.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
East Coaster
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Eco-friendly, and cool design

Loved the ecofriendly nature of the hotel. I don't have much experience with SF hotels, but I would guess many of them have this theme. Appropriately spacious rooms, and very nice comfy design. Cool sliding door for the bathroom. Nice to have turndown service in the evenings. Desk was a bit cluttered with lots of things (mini bar, phone, lamp, etc), but still functional. Nice bonus: a sleep book/cd in the room (not for taking home) to help you drift off into a peaceful slumber.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MKadeM
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 18, 2012

Orchard Garden

The hotel was perfectly sufficient. It could have used an additional mini fridge (the one in the room was used as the mini bar). Other than that it was a nice eco-friendly room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Boulangerie I believe. Great food at low cost. Avoid La Presse at the corner at all costs. Found the wait staff to be rude.

Back to menu Return to top