$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
View map of 466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
258 out of 258
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A333
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 3, 2013

Great for downtown - but no parking

Right next to the China Town gate entrance and walking distance to Union Square...equals no parking. They will valet for $45 per day or you can hustle as I did and make it work with the parking garages and meters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is right there. If you don't mind riding on the inside of the cable car then you don't have to wait in the long main line, you can pick it up a couple blocks down the run.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dmahonenyc
Business
Astoria, New York
Apr 6, 2013

A Week in San Francisco

The hotel was clean and simple. The people at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. Not crazy about the bathroom . . . It had a sliding door that did not close all of the way and left very little room for privacy. Noisy toilet, too. The location was perfect for us. Right at the edge of Chinatown . . . lots of great stores and cafes . . . walking distance to the piers. Thank you, Orchard Garden!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wine Bar on Grant Ave sells amazing iced coffees and croissants. . . It was the perfect spot to grab breakfast-on-the-go when we had to get up and out of the hotel for Muir Wood tours and Napa tours. (Tower Tours was a pretty good company to go with for the tours, btw!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ElizabetD
Business
Rochester, MN
Apr 22, 2013

Overall Good Experience

Pros: The hotel is a block away from China Town, a couple blocks away from Union Scare, a few blocks from the bus and trolley stations, and within walking distance of AT&T Park. The rooms were clean. The concierge was helpful. Cons: The food was very expensive at the hotel, and there was no swimming pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk downhill to the Fisherman's Wharf and take the trolley back uphill to the hotel. The trolley goes within a block of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jutah
Business
Salt Lake City
May 6, 2013

Overnight business trip

We came into town for a meeting with a client. The location was easy to get to from the financial district. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed bed and pillows were awesome and I had a great night's sleep. The next morning for breakfast the staff pointed us in the right direction for breakfast "Sears Fine Foods". One of the guys we were traveling with complained that we passed many good places on the way to Sears however it was worth the walk. All around great stay, comfortable accommodations and friendly staff. I would not hesitate staying again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a GREAT breakfast check out Sears Fine Dining. Great food, fair price and their orange juice was the best I have ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShaneF
Business
Grand Rapids
May 29, 2013

Great Location and Great Staff

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the OGH. The staff was very thoughtful and informative. The bed was very comfortable and there was very little noise. San Francisco is a great town and this hotel is right next to the Chinatown gate with an easy walk to cable cars and trolleys that can help you find some incredible sights. There are also many different types of restaurants within walking distance. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Shane

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One of our favorite Cable Car rides (Powell & Hyde) is just two blocks away. Grab it in the early morning or late evening for some great views of the city. Don't forget to get a Clipper pass if you are using public transportation - it covers the buses,trolleys,cable cars, and ferries. Have fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FTGW
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Jun 5, 2013

Great combination of value, quality, location

We thought this was a very nice little hotel with helpful, courteous, responsive staff. Good amenities. Good-sized, clean rooms. Very well located within easy walking distance of China Town, Union Sq. etc., and transport to all the main areas of interest, museums, etc., was easy. This enabled us to make the most of our five days in San Francisco. And good value for money. We'd stay there again any time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
typical tourist
Business
England
Aug 12, 2013

Perfect location

Excellent location right next to Chinatown and shopping centre. Everything close at hand and transport links are good here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can get a clipper card for $14 dollars from Walgreens and BART stations which gives you unlimited bus and cable car for the day with no need to find change for every trip. We went all over the place with this!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken L.
Business
OH
Sep 8, 2013

Great location to Chinatown, easy access to BART, Union Square

Just finished my week long stay here, the location is top notch like I mentioned above. BART to SFO airport for only $16 and change roundtrip. As others have mentioned, take the Montgomery exit and not Powell (though it's not too far of a walk either) and a few blocks later you're there. Staff is excellent, willing to give advice, suggestions for any needs you have. Room was clean, comfortable King size bed, and decent size. Only issues I ever had was my room water pressure would fluctuate at times while showering (others flushing, using bathroom in adjacent rooms?) and a bit noisy at times from outside noises (might have been my location near back alley). Great stay and would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friends' wedding in SF
Business
New York City, NY
Sep 24, 2013

Hidden gem

Just off of Union Square, and very convenient to Chinatown. Very walkable to great restaurants like Sears and House of Nanking. Very reasonable rates (though we did book at least 6 months in advance, to work around a convention taking place the same weekend we were planning to visit) got us a clean, quiet room, polite and attentive service, and as I said, convenient location for our needs. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. (Strangely, the hotel felt empty - I'm pretty sure it was at capacity, but the lobby is really too small to hang out in, so there isn't a whole lot of chance to run into other guests. Actually not a complaint.) Also to note - we brought with us our 5 month-old daughter. They didn't have the crib set up for us when we checked in, as we'd requested when we booked, but they brought up very quickly after we called.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Seriously. Sears on Powell is worth the walk. (Don't walk up Bush though - walk down Bush to Kearny, right turn onto Kearny, then right turn onto Sutter, then walk to Powell - saves you some hills.) Great food, reasonable though on pricier side, great, relaxing atmosphere. They do different blue plate dinner specials by night - the night we went it was turkey, and delicious. Fish and chips were just ok. House of Nanking is a bit further walk but worth it if you're in the mood for Chinese. From this hotel, you can basically again walk down Bush to Kearny, and then follow Kearny up a couple blocks, and House of Nanking should be right there. Recommend not going during peak dinner time - when we tried there at 7p on a Saturday, it was packed. Also, we didn't even try bringing in our stroller - all the tables are packed in together and the walkways are narrow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amanda G
Business
United Kingdom
Oct 6, 2013

Perfect Location to stay

This hotel is perfect for anyone wanting to get around the city. The hotel itself is great, the rooms are clean, bright great beds & bathroom. Staff very friendly & helpful. Would definetly stay again and would recommend to others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the city bus tour to get a great feel for the city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top