$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
252 reviews
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Great stay and wonderful location

This was a great hotel to stay at, close to great shopping at Union square and Chinatown. The staff... See full review

  • A soul traveler
  • Mar 31, 2014
Eco-friendly San Francisco hotel with organic dining near Union Square
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace

Hotel Map

37.7909 -122.4052
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport (OAK)Oakland International Airport (SJC)San Jose International Airport
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination.. a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Garden Hotel is up to the challenge.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (252)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jul 6, 2010

Great Location, Very Comfortable

I was in California for work and went back and forth on where to stay since my job is in Palo Alto and I wasn't sure about the commute. I am SO happy that I chose to stay in the city! This hotel was in a GREAT location where I felt safe walking around on my own. All of the major attractions in San Francisco seemed to be easily within walking distance (at MOST I think I walked 1.5-2 miles or so to get to places like Fisherman's wharf). I parked down the street where parking was $10 overnight (in after 5pm, out by 6am) and $3 per 15 minutes after 6am (which seems like a lot but for someone getting up to commute to work every morning I saved a ton over the hotel's $40/night valet). The bed in my room was SUPER comfortable. The sheets were soft and the comforter was really cozy. I only wish I could have slept in a little longer each day! The room itself was spotless and although it was relatively small, for just one person on business it had everything that I needed and more. And, while the room itself was on the small size, the bathroom was HUGE. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. Especially because of it's location and because the price was very reasonable, I would absolutely stay here again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotels charge a ton for overnight valet parking ($40+ per night) but there always seem to be much cheaper options very close by. Especially if you stay in the downtown area, look for lots nearby with low overnight rates and maximum rates below what the hotel charges (my hotel charged $40/night while the lot down the street had a maximum of $32).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Starkville
Sep 20, 2008

Really Nice Hotel

The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The location, I think, is ideal, just 20 feet from the entrance to Chinatown, two blocks from all the fabulous shopping in Union Square, and a cable car ride away from the wharf area. I felt very safe walking in the area at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is just two blocks from all the wonderful shopping located in the Union Square area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, *
Jul 25, 2008

Jewel of a hotel

The Orchard Garden Hotel in San Francisco, CA was a wonderful find! Being next to the gates to Chinatown, its location couldn't be better. It's within easy walking distance to MUNI bus stops, trolly stops, BART station and Union Square. It was built within the past two years and is very modern, attractive and environmentally aware. The staff is extremely helpful and accommodating and knows their city! "Roots" is the hotel restaurant(modern cuisine that includes organic and locally grown produce), but there are many restaurants with walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jan 10, 2011

VERY CLEAN AND NEW

For this price, this is probably the best deal you can get in downtown San Francisco. The chain hotels in the area (e.g. Hilton, Marriott) are more expensive and they are not any better. Here the rooms are smaller but they are incredibly new and clean. I would definitely suggest this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lyons, IL
Aug 9, 2008

Wonderful experience

I really enjoyed the location and the staff at this very friendly hotel right in the midst of 4 different San Francisco districts. Steps away to the China Town gates-a terrific locale. Everything was very central and the room was great. I appreciated the eco-friendliness too but I wished that the toilet paper was a tiny bit softer. I guess you'll have that with eco-friendly TP though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

China Town Nob Hill Union Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 28, 2007

Very Clean and comfortable

The Orchard Garden Hotel was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. It was the best sleep I have ever had in a hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast every morning was great, fresh scones and muffins with ham, cheese, fruit, juice, coffee and much more. The location is ideal, just minutes walk from China Town, Union Square and the Bart Station. I will stay here again next time I visit San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping around Union Square is the best. Every store you can Imagine seems to be in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Antioch, CA
Jul 30, 2008

My review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Green friendly, very comfortable and relaxing. Excellent location, helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

both the China town experience and the high end shopping very easy to reach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 13, 2007

Pleasantly surprise

The Orchard Garden hotel waslocated in the heart of downtown San Francisco. We were able to enjoy all of the wonderful restaurants and other sights in SF. Our room was very nice and even had Internet access which I needed for course work that I was completing. Since it was a realive neww hotle there were a few minor things that needed to be fixed. However, when we called the front desk things were taken care of immediatley. I love the City of San Francisco and I certainly would like to return to the Orchard Garden

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We had access to every possible amenity that a City could offer. China Town was a 1/2 block from our hotel door. We we three block from the famous Powell Street Car line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Apr 15, 2007

Four Star Feeling in a Great location.

This was our first stay at this Hotel in San Francisco and we found it exceptional. The first Green Hotel in the State. The environment is smoke freel and exceptionally clean and well maintained. We have stayed at many Hotels in this city for several visits over the year and the Orchard Garden offers a very comfortable room. (luxurious bedding) HDTV in the room, but with simple lines and not a lot of frills. Morning breakfast started us off each day with freash fruit and pastries (Scones were my favorites!!) And all the staff was plesant and eager to serve. Great location, at Grant and Bush (Chinatown Gate) within easy walking distance to Union Square shopping the financial district and all publick transportation. We would certainly go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Too many great restaurants to choose from..all very close....Scala's Bistro on Powell St. serves up an awesome Mandrini and great steamed mussels. John's Grill on Ellis is great for lunch and features Jazz in the evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Mar 18, 2008

Modern and Upscale

The Orchard Garden is a great hotel in a great location. Can't say how long they have been open, but the attention to detail and cleanlyness make you feel like the first visiter at a grand opening. The staff was oustanding at providing general information as well as those little tips that help make your vacation one to remember. The rooms are very nice, from the wall mount flat screen T.V., to the bed that is so comfortable it makes you debate wether to see the sights or just stay right there for a few more hours. The only down side is that most pick-up and drop-off services confuse The Orchard Garden with their sister hotel, The Orchard a few blocks up the street. Be sure to specify Garden or just leave to the front desk staff. They get the job done everytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to make time for the Muir Woods & Sausalito Tour that departs from Fishermans Warf (FYI...They will pick you up at the hotel). It's about a 4 hour tour that is well worth your money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top