$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
View map of 466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
260 out of 260
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jul 6, 2010

Great Location, Very Comfortable

I was in California for work and went back and forth on where to stay since my job is in Palo Alto and I wasn't sure about the commute. I am SO happy that I chose to stay in the city! This hotel was in a GREAT location where I felt safe walking around on my own. All of the major attractions in San Francisco seemed to be easily within walking distance (at MOST I think I walked 1.5-2 miles or so to get to places like Fisherman's wharf). I parked down the street where parking was $10 overnight (in after 5pm, out by 6am) and $3 per 15 minutes after 6am (which seems like a lot but for someone getting up to commute to work every morning I saved a ton over the hotel's $40/night valet). The bed in my room was SUPER comfortable. The sheets were soft and the comforter was really cozy. I only wish I could have slept in a little longer each day! The room itself was spotless and although it was relatively small, for just one person on business it had everything that I needed and more. And, while the room itself was on the small size, the bathroom was HUGE. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. Especially because of it's location and because the price was very reasonable, I would absolutely stay here again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotels charge a ton for overnight valet parking ($40+ per night) but there always seem to be much cheaper options very close by. Especially if you stay in the downtown area, look for lots nearby with low overnight rates and maximum rates below what the hotel charges (my hotel charged $40/night while the lot down the street had a maximum of $32).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Starkville
Sep 20, 2008

Really Nice Hotel

The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The location, I think, is ideal, just 20 feet from the entrance to Chinatown, two blocks from all the fabulous shopping in Union Square, and a cable car ride away from the wharf area. I felt very safe walking in the area at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is just two blocks from all the wonderful shopping located in the Union Square area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, *
Jul 25, 2008

Jewel of a hotel

The Orchard Garden Hotel in San Francisco, CA was a wonderful find! Being next to the gates to Chinatown, its location couldn't be better. It's within easy walking distance to MUNI bus stops, trolly stops, BART station and Union Square. It was built within the past two years and is very modern, attractive and environmentally aware. The staff is extremely helpful and accommodating and knows their city! "Roots" is the hotel restaurant(modern cuisine that includes organic and locally grown produce), but there are many restaurants with walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jan 10, 2011

VERY CLEAN AND NEW

For this price, this is probably the best deal you can get in downtown San Francisco. The chain hotels in the area (e.g. Hilton, Marriott) are more expensive and they are not any better. Here the rooms are smaller but they are incredibly new and clean. I would definitely suggest this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lyons, IL
Aug 9, 2008

Wonderful experience

I really enjoyed the location and the staff at this very friendly hotel right in the midst of 4 different San Francisco districts. Steps away to the China Town gates-a terrific locale. Everything was very central and the room was great. I appreciated the eco-friendliness too but I wished that the toilet paper was a tiny bit softer. I guess you'll have that with eco-friendly TP though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

China Town Nob Hill Union Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 28, 2007

Very Clean and comfortable

The Orchard Garden Hotel was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. It was the best sleep I have ever had in a hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast every morning was great, fresh scones and muffins with ham, cheese, fruit, juice, coffee and much more. The location is ideal, just minutes walk from China Town, Union Square and the Bart Station. I will stay here again next time I visit San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping around Union Square is the best. Every store you can Imagine seems to be in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Antioch, CA
Jul 30, 2008

My review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Green friendly, very comfortable and relaxing. Excellent location, helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

both the China town experience and the high end shopping very easy to reach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 13, 2007

Pleasantly surprise

The Orchard Garden hotel waslocated in the heart of downtown San Francisco. We were able to enjoy all of the wonderful restaurants and other sights in SF. Our room was very nice and even had Internet access which I needed for course work that I was completing. Since it was a realive neww hotle there were a few minor things that needed to be fixed. However, when we called the front desk things were taken care of immediatley. I love the City of San Francisco and I certainly would like to return to the Orchard Garden

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We had access to every possible amenity that a City could offer. China Town was a 1/2 block from our hotel door. We we three block from the famous Powell Street Car line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Apr 15, 2007

Four Star Feeling in a Great location.

This was our first stay at this Hotel in San Francisco and we found it exceptional. The first Green Hotel in the State. The environment is smoke freel and exceptionally clean and well maintained. We have stayed at many Hotels in this city for several visits over the year and the Orchard Garden offers a very comfortable room. (luxurious bedding) HDTV in the room, but with simple lines and not a lot of frills. Morning breakfast started us off each day with freash fruit and pastries (Scones were my favorites!!) And all the staff was plesant and eager to serve. Great location, at Grant and Bush (Chinatown Gate) within easy walking distance to Union Square shopping the financial district and all publick transportation. We would certainly go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Too many great restaurants to choose from..all very close....Scala's Bistro on Powell St. serves up an awesome Mandrini and great steamed mussels. John's Grill on Ellis is great for lunch and features Jazz in the evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Mar 18, 2008

Modern and Upscale

The Orchard Garden is a great hotel in a great location. Can't say how long they have been open, but the attention to detail and cleanlyness make you feel like the first visiter at a grand opening. The staff was oustanding at providing general information as well as those little tips that help make your vacation one to remember. The rooms are very nice, from the wall mount flat screen T.V., to the bed that is so comfortable it makes you debate wether to see the sights or just stay right there for a few more hours. The only down side is that most pick-up and drop-off services confuse The Orchard Garden with their sister hotel, The Orchard a few blocks up the street. Be sure to specify Garden or just leave to the front desk staff. They get the job done everytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to make time for the Muir Woods & Sausalito Tour that departs from Fishermans Warf (FYI...They will pick you up at the hotel). It's about a 4 hour tour that is well worth your money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top