$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
View map of 466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerry D and Mary
Utah
Jul 29, 2013

Easy access to MUNi and BART, awesome beds, wonderful staff!

Spent 4 days here. Only 4 blocks from BART station to and from airport but be certain to take Montgomery St stop not Powell St. Easy access to all buses, load the MUNI app to your iPhone and getting around SF is a breeze with reasonable walks from the hotel to bus stops even for an older less mobile person. This hotel has the most comfortable beds and bedding. Very quiet, peaceful in general. Staff was extremely helpful when asked and unobtrusive when they should be. The Wifi works great for IPads and laptops in your room. One drawback is only two PC's in business center and they were always in use. I would not plan to do a lot of work there. Staff is very helpful however in printing flight info etc if you ask. Good variety of snacks in room, they are a little costly but average compared to other hotels. Plan to stay here again whenever we can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a MUNI pass and load the MUNI app to your IPhone. We have no public trans where we live and found it easy to get around with a few initial tips from hotel staff to get our bearings. The bus saves tons of money to spend on the amazing sights and foods of San Francisco!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KLPK
Business
Minnesota
Jul 10, 2012

Great location in SF & awesome service

This is a great hotel...very unique, eco-friendly, clean, well-decorated, and an ideal location. Right next to the gates of Chinatown in a safe area with close stops for the metro transit systems and hop-on/off bus tours. We had an issue our first night that was handled very well. Our smoke alarm started chirping/beeping at 2:30am and wouldn't stop. We ended up having to pack up our things and move rooms in the middle of the night. We were not happy campers. The next day we spoke to the manager who was fully aware of the situation. He would have offered us a free night, but couldn't since we paid via Orbitzz. Instead he gave us free breakfast at the hotel, wine & mini-bar vouchers, nice chocolates, an upgraded room with much better view, and a towncar ride to the airport. They were very gracious and understanding and went out of their way for us. The staff at the front desk was always helpful in directing us around town and the bartender was very fun to chat with! Overall, it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frank Burns
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jun 18, 2012

Great Location

Upon arriving we were very pleased to see how new and clean this hotel is. The rooms are a little smaller than I was expecting but in all reality there was plenty of space. The hotel is very quiet and comfortable. It has very comfortable beds and pillows. The location doesn't get much better than this hotel. Only a couple of blocks from Union Square and all three trolley lines. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go including Fishermans Wharf. It was a bit of a hike to get down there but there was plenty to take in on the way. I would highly recommend this hotel again and am looking forward to planning my next trip there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zoey's Mom
Business
Seattle
Jun 10, 2012

Perfect location

The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is located right outside the Chinatown gates, about three blocks from Union Square and within walking distance of the wharf. Didn't eat at the hotel as there are many restaurants nearby. Our room was a tad bit small and the addition of a chair or chairs would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nlou
Business
Normal, IL
Jun 3, 2012

Great hotel!

Lovely place to stay in San Francisco. The staff was always pleasant and very helpful. The location was ideal with many great places to eat, shop and sightsee nearby. Clean rooms and comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Uncle Vito's was recommended by the staff for pizza two blocks away. Delicious! And Murphy's Pub around the corner was a great place for a drink and very filling appetizer.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Westford Marketing Guy
Business
Westford, MA
May 18, 2012

Great if you're going to the Moscone Center

I travel a lot and usually don't comment on hotels. This one charmed me and I'll use it again. I was impressed by their commitment to be eco-friendly. My room had recycling bins, complete power off when I left, and many other details. Everyone says they won't wash towels if you hang them up (and will if you put them on the floor). This is the only hotel I've been in that ever actually followed through. This hotel is about 6 blocks from the Moscone Center, and 4 blocks from BART. It was very easy for me to attend the show without having to rent a car or hire a taxi. The gym has a treadmill and a bike, basically, but you can get an inexpensive pass to a full center. The cafe across the street was terrific and though it was busy, I was stunned at how fast they brought my omelet. I don't know how they did it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mdw1968
Business
Manchester, England
May 14, 2012

Great situation

Very well sited, close enough to the centre but in a nice quiet spot. The hotel needs to promote it's breakfast more than it does because it's good value when compared to other local facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't que for the old cable car at the start or at the end. Walk at up to the next stop and save yourself a long wait. Apparently they travel in three's with one car empty to pick up passengers along the way. We waited nearly 45 minutes one day from Fisherman's Wharf. Which is a long time when you only have 3 days to see San Francisco.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Serpico
Business
Hollywood, Florida
May 14, 2012

Excelent Location...close to everything !..

Great Location, Kind Staff, Room very Clean, and Good Value !..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arcasuno
Business
El Paso, TX, USA
May 2, 2012

Great location

Enjoyed the stay. Centrally located and easy to go to/get from. Located right beside the Chinatown Gate, one block from bus transportation to North Beach/Fisherman's Wharf. Staff very nice and helpful. Would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to do a lot of sightseeing, purchase a MUNI card (Transportation that includes the cable cars, buses, street cars and trolleys). The cards are for one day, three days and seven days at $14, 21, and 28 Dollars respectively and can be used as often as you like during the period of purchase. Parking is very expensive, so use public transportation, see the sights, meet the locals and enjoy. You can purchase these cards at the kiosk at Powell and Market, next to the cable car turntable "station." There is also a BART station if you want to take the subway (not included in the MUNI card).

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brently500
Business
San Luis Obispo
Apr 30, 2012

We loved it

This a great hotel....We enjoyed how clean and complete it was along with how friendly and helpful the staff were. The location rocks, and there's even a convenient and affordable parking garage right across the street (kitty corner). My gf and I will definitely remember this hotel for the future whenever we want to enjoy beautiful SF. Love that city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel St. Francis' Clock Room is a complete rip-off tourist trap so don't get talked into having a drink there, no matter how tempting the idea is. Don't get stuck spending $15 on a small bowl of popcorn and $16 for a well drink. Shame on these schisters. On a bright note, there is a wonderful french coffee shop across the street from The Orchard Garden hotel. :)

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emosin
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Great business trip!

Thanks for everything! The staff is professional & all around excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top