$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
View map of 466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
264 out of 264
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Owensboro
Sep 19, 2008

Excellent location!

The Orchard Garden Hotel was very comfortable and the staff very friendly. The rooms are rather small, but the space was effeciently laid out. Plenty of room, since you'd be out most of the time. The beds were very comfortable! The restaurant was rather expensive, so we didn't eat there. Plenty of restaurants nearby. We were surprised that the entrance to China town was only 1/2 block from the hotel. The location was excellent for sightseeing. The staff was very helpful in every way. We'd stay at the Orchard Garden again without a doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

China town, 1/2 block. Starbucks on the corner. Tour bus pickup only a few blocks. Lots of places nearby to eat. Shopping only a few blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 20, 2007

Great hotel in great location

My wife, infant, and I just returned from 4 nights at the Orchard Garden. The hotel is a in a great location, right next to Chinatown and a 3 minute walk to Union Square. Short walk to public transportation as well. The room was small but very clean and modern. When we requested more pillows and towels, they were brought right up. The buffet breakfast included each morning is very good. Service was excellent and staff very eager to please. I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of shopping of food choices just a few minutes walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 5, 2008

Good business hotel, but small rooms

Excellent hotel for business travelers. Rooms are small but well equipped, with flat screen TVs and iHome clock radios where you can dock your ipod, and a (small) free DVD rental library. Rooms are very quiet. The small fitness center (2 treadmills and one bike) was well maintained and sparsely used during my stay. Restaurant is pricey, and room service menu very limited. But the location is good with many dining options close by. Would be a squeeze for families, but otherwise an excellent choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Belden Place, a mini-Paris for dining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 12, 2008

Very nice hotel

The Orchard Garden Hotel was very comfortable. We had a beautiful room. Walking distance to transportation. We will definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just around the corner from China Town entrance and great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 22, 2008

Very Nice Hotel, Great Location

The Orchard Garden was a beautiful hotel, with a very friendly staff. Although our room was small, it was extremely comfortable & quiet. Our room faced Bush Street and with all the daily traffic outside we never heard a sound. The bed linens were very plush & cozy complete with feather pillows. The bathroom was beautifully done & had a surpisingly large feel considering the room was small. NIce size flat screen TV with dvd player, WiFi access & IPOD docking station. The location of the hotel was convenient to everything. Chinatown entrance was right next to hotel, Powell Street cable cars were two blocks away and it was a short walk to many shopping & dining choices. When we go back to San Francisco we will stay @ the Orchard Garden again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Roots restuarant inside the hotel was alittle pricey however it's a short walk to many others.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Aug 31, 2008

very friendly...great location and amenities

This was a great location...you could get anywhere within mins by just walking. The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms were spacious and clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 16, 2008

Great Hotel

The Orchard Garden Hotel is a great place to stay. Besides being very Ecco-friendly, it's just a couple blocks away from the Powell/Hyde and Powell/Mason cable car lines and right next door to the Chinatown Gates. The bathrooms are quite large, beds are very comfortable, and if you want a night in they have a great selection of DVDs you can check out and watch on the LCD TVs in each room. Be sure not to miss happy hour at the Roots restaurant in the hotel. You get a free appetizer (I recommend the fries with parmesan cheese, garlic, and truffle oil) when you order a special drink or glass or wine off the list (the organic margarita is quite good). They'll even bring it up to you on the rooftop garden (the best place to chill out and have a drink). The breakfast at the Roots restaurant was also delicious and there was a 20% off coupon at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 26, 2007

Great hotel!

We found the Orchard Garden staff very friendly and helpful. They remembered our preferences for breakfast and were prompt in response to our requests. The location is ideal for business or pleasure--centrally located to Union Square, business area and Chinatown. The room was small but quite comfortable with a large bathroom, and the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job in keeping the room clean.The king sized bed was quite comfortable and the room we had was very quiet so that our nights were restful. Roots is a fine restaurant though a bit pricey. We enjoyed our meal there on the first night and the breakfasts were excellent, especially the fresh fruit and breads. It was our first trip to San Francisco, and the Orchard Garden made our stay very enjoyable. We could find nothing to complain about, a first for us. We would recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for a small, friendly hotel with an almost ideal location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chinatown gate is right around the corner on Grant Street and Union Square with theaters, restaurants and cinemas is very handy. Many of the better ethnic restaurants are short walks from the hotel, and we took advantage of a new one every evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 24, 2007

Amazing Green Hotel

The room was so comfortable, clean and fresh that we wanted to just move in. Only down side was that the Fridge in the room was an honor bar, so it couldnt be used for personal items. The hotel staff made it possible for me to use the fridge for my medicine storage. The staff is amazingly helpful and friendly. It is the first and only Green Freindly hotel in SF. Everything was brand new and amazing. Family friendly, great for the business traveler or just a weekend get away to the coast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Revere, MA
Oct 4, 2008

A gem of a hotel!

The Orchard Garden Hotel's location, so near Chinatown, makes a large part of the city accessible by foot. The entire staff were exceptionally helpful, friendly and courteous. The room was very comfortable and extremely clean. It even SMELLED good! Being a totally green hotel was a big plus for us. We particularly liked the fact that all the electricity in the room was controlled by the room key placed in a special slot by the door. We didn't have to worry about turning anything off when we left each day. Sheets and towels were changed only on request. The turning down of the beds each evening was a pleasant courtesy. Without a doubt, we will stay there again on our next visit to beautiful San Fran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A half block up from the hotel, on Grant Ave. are the entrance gates to Chinatown with all those great attractions and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top