$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 12, 2014

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
403 reviews
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Great stay and wonderful location

This was a great hotel to stay at, close to great shopping at Union square and Chinatown. The staff... See full review

  • A soul traveler
  • Mar 31, 2014
Eco-friendly San Francisco hotel with organic dining near Union Square
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace

Hotel Map

37.7909 -122.4052
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport (OAK)Oakland International Airport (SJC)San Jose International Airport
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination.. a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Garden Hotel is up to the challenge.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (403)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margo's dad
Washington, DC
May 30, 2009

Green is Good

We rode BART from SFO to the Montgomery Station, then walked the half-dozen blocks to the hotel. It's a good, central location for exploring Union Square, downtown and SOMA, and for riding the Powell Street cable car if that's your thing. The hotel has a nice little business center and the restaurant is attractive, though we chose to eat elsewhere. Our 7th-floor room was quiet and completely comfortable, and we felt good about staying in an establishment that is environmentally friendly across the board. They even ordered a "green" car service (Prius) for our early-morning dash to the airport to catch a 6 a.m. flight. Two green thumbs up for the hotel and all who work there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For excellent French bistro style food and atmosphere, try Cafe de la Presse, opposite the hotel on Bush Street. For extraordinary Dim Sum, try Yank Sing at 45 Stevenson Street--a 10-block walk from the hotel but well worth the effort.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jul 6, 2010

Great Location, Very Comfortable

I was in California for work and went back and forth on where to stay since my job is in Palo Alto and I wasn't sure about the commute. I am SO happy that I chose to stay in the city! This hotel was in a GREAT location where I felt safe walking around on my own. All of the major attractions in San Francisco seemed to be easily within walking distance (at MOST I think I walked 1.5-2 miles or so to get to places like Fisherman's wharf). I parked down the street where parking was $10 overnight (in after 5pm, out by 6am) and $3 per 15 minutes after 6am (which seems like a lot but for someone getting up to commute to work every morning I saved a ton over the hotel's $40/night valet). The bed in my room was SUPER comfortable. The sheets were soft and the comforter was really cozy. I only wish I could have slept in a little longer each day! The room itself was spotless and although it was relatively small, for just one person on business it had everything that I needed and more. And, while the room itself was on the small size, the bathroom was HUGE. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. Especially because of it's location and because the price was very reasonable, I would absolutely stay here again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotels charge a ton for overnight valet parking ($40+ per night) but there always seem to be much cheaper options very close by. Especially if you stay in the downtown area, look for lots nearby with low overnight rates and maximum rates below what the hotel charges (my hotel charged $40/night while the lot down the street had a maximum of $32).

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Timo
Business
South Boston, VA, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Conference Gem

Close enough but Far enough away from Moscone... To get away from "crowds" and blend in... Close enough to Union Square yet not so touristy feel.. Next to China Town, Starbucks on the corner.. Greta Cafe on the other corner.... Wonderful and Helpful Staff... a GEM...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Starkville
Sep 20, 2008

Really Nice Hotel

The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The location, I think, is ideal, just 20 feet from the entrance to Chinatown, two blocks from all the fabulous shopping in Union Square, and a cable car ride away from the wharf area. I felt very safe walking in the area at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is just two blocks from all the wonderful shopping located in the Union Square area.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jun 26, 2007

Great hotel!

We found the Orchard Garden staff very friendly and helpful. They remembered our preferences for breakfast and were prompt in response to our requests. The location is ideal for business or pleasure--centrally located to Union Square, business area and Chinatown. The room was small but quite comfortable with a large bathroom, and the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job in keeping the room clean.The king sized bed was quite comfortable and the room we had was very quiet so that our nights were restful. Roots is a fine restaurant though a bit pricey. We enjoyed our meal there on the first night and the breakfasts were excellent, especially the fresh fruit and breads. It was our first trip to San Francisco, and the Orchard Garden made our stay very enjoyable. We could find nothing to complain about, a first for us. We would recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for a small, friendly hotel with an almost ideal location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chinatown gate is right around the corner on Grant Street and Union Square with theaters, restaurants and cinemas is very handy. Many of the better ethnic restaurants are short walks from the hotel, and we took advantage of a new one every evening.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Starkville
Sep 20, 2008

Really Nice Hotel

The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The location, I think, is ideal, just 20 feet from the entrance to Chinatown, two blocks from all the fabulous shopping in Union Square, and a cable car ride away from the wharf area. I felt very safe walking in the area at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is just two blocks from all the wonderful shopping located in the Union Square area.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Carlos, CA
Feb 15, 2010

Beautiful New and "Greenest" hotel in SF

Located in the heart of San Francisco, this new hotel built four years ago stresses "Green" with beautiful designed rooms, plush bedding, organic bath products, and 2 spa-style soft cotton robes. It has high-speed interest access and dual phones and an inviting roof top terrace. It was very quiet. We dined at "Roots" located in the hotel which has organic American cuisine and the food and service were excellent! We definitely will go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located very near Union Square with it's beautiful shops, the Theater District and Chinatown. There is so much to do.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, Arizona
Aug 11, 2009

Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall the staff was excellent and took care of my requested needs very promptly and in a friendly manner. However, the front desk forgot to make my shuttle van reservation as requested (face to face request) several hours prior to going to the airport. The bellman took care of the problem by promptly calling a taxis and paid for the fare. This one of the best hotels that I have stayed in and would recommend to other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pismomomma
Pismo Beach, CA
Feb 4, 2013

A Jewel !!!!!

WONDERFUL boutique hotel, steps from Chinatown. We LOVED our stay. The beds were incredibly comfortable, luxurious linens, thick, soft towels, very quiet considering it is right downtown. We will be back for sure, but I hope it won't "get discovered" because then vacancy will be a problem. ;) Parking was expensive...$45.00 per day! YIKES!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thomasbuddylee
Business
Eureka, Calif
Jul 4, 2009

Great location in SF

If you need to stay in the financial district of San Francisco then this hotel is for you. Very clean and quiet. Great location. You are just a couple of blocks away from the heart of the business district but when you need food or transportation it is all right there. Great neighborhood. I would not hesitate to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top