$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
277 reviews
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Great Weekend Getaway

Wonderful people, wonderful place, great experience! See full review

  • Super Cooper
  • Apr 13, 2014
Eco-friendly San Francisco hotel with organic dining near Union Square
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace

Hotel Map

37.7909 -122.4052
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport (OAK)Oakland International Airport (SJC)San Jose International Airport
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination.. a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Garden Hotel is up to the challenge.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (277)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Hartford, CT
Apr 22, 2009

"Unbeatable for the price"

Good location, easy walk to Union Square and shopping, at the edge of Chinatown. One of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Royal Oak
Jul 5, 2008

Great Couple's Hotel

Staying in this green-friendly hotel has really made me more conscious when I came back home. The location was absolutely perfect. We were two blocks from a stop on the Powell-Hyde cable car. The Market streetcar was only a few blocks away as well. We never ate in the restaurant, but that was because there was some much around our hotel. The room itself was the perfect size for a couple. We had plenty of space and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. We definitely had a great experience in not only San Francisco, but at the Orchard Garden too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure you have a meal in North Beach, San Francisco's Little Italy! Also, visit the fortune cookie factory in Chinatown!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Owensboro
Sep 19, 2008

Excellent location!

The Orchard Garden Hotel was very comfortable and the staff very friendly. The rooms are rather small, but the space was effeciently laid out. Plenty of room, since you'd be out most of the time. The beds were very comfortable! The restaurant was rather expensive, so we didn't eat there. Plenty of restaurants nearby. We were surprised that the entrance to China town was only 1/2 block from the hotel. The location was excellent for sightseeing. The staff was very helpful in every way. We'd stay at the Orchard Garden again without a doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

China town, 1/2 block. Starbucks on the corner. Tour bus pickup only a few blocks. Lots of places nearby to eat. Shopping only a few blocks.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 20, 2007

Great hotel in great location

My wife, infant, and I just returned from 4 nights at the Orchard Garden. The hotel is a in a great location, right next to Chinatown and a 3 minute walk to Union Square. Short walk to public transportation as well. The room was small but very clean and modern. When we requested more pillows and towels, they were brought right up. The buffet breakfast included each morning is very good. Service was excellent and staff very eager to please. I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of shopping of food choices just a few minutes walk from hotel.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 5, 2008

Good business hotel, but small rooms

Excellent hotel for business travelers. Rooms are small but well equipped, with flat screen TVs and iHome clock radios where you can dock your ipod, and a (small) free DVD rental library. Rooms are very quiet. The small fitness center (2 treadmills and one bike) was well maintained and sparsely used during my stay. Restaurant is pricey, and room service menu very limited. But the location is good with many dining options close by. Would be a squeeze for families, but otherwise an excellent choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Belden Place, a mini-Paris for dining

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 12, 2008

Very nice hotel

The Orchard Garden Hotel was very comfortable. We had a beautiful room. Walking distance to transportation. We will definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just around the corner from China Town entrance and great restaurants.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Apr 22, 2008

Very Nice Hotel, Great Location

The Orchard Garden was a beautiful hotel, with a very friendly staff. Although our room was small, it was extremely comfortable & quiet. Our room faced Bush Street and with all the daily traffic outside we never heard a sound. The bed linens were very plush & cozy complete with feather pillows. The bathroom was beautifully done & had a surpisingly large feel considering the room was small. NIce size flat screen TV with dvd player, WiFi access & IPOD docking station. The location of the hotel was convenient to everything. Chinatown entrance was right next to hotel, Powell Street cable cars were two blocks away and it was a short walk to many shopping & dining choices. When we go back to San Francisco we will stay @ the Orchard Garden again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Roots restuarant inside the hotel was alittle pricey however it's a short walk to many others.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix
Aug 31, 2008

very friendly...great location and amenities

This was a great location...you could get anywhere within mins by just walking. The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms were spacious and clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 16, 2008

Great Hotel

The Orchard Garden Hotel is a great place to stay. Besides being very Ecco-friendly, it's just a couple blocks away from the Powell/Hyde and Powell/Mason cable car lines and right next door to the Chinatown Gates. The bathrooms are quite large, beds are very comfortable, and if you want a night in they have a great selection of DVDs you can check out and watch on the LCD TVs in each room. Be sure not to miss happy hour at the Roots restaurant in the hotel. You get a free appetizer (I recommend the fries with parmesan cheese, garlic, and truffle oil) when you order a special drink or glass or wine off the list (the organic margarita is quite good). They'll even bring it up to you on the rooftop garden (the best place to chill out and have a drink). The breakfast at the Roots restaurant was also delicious and there was a 20% off coupon at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jun 26, 2007

Great hotel!

We found the Orchard Garden staff very friendly and helpful. They remembered our preferences for breakfast and were prompt in response to our requests. The location is ideal for business or pleasure--centrally located to Union Square, business area and Chinatown. The room was small but quite comfortable with a large bathroom, and the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job in keeping the room clean.The king sized bed was quite comfortable and the room we had was very quiet so that our nights were restful. Roots is a fine restaurant though a bit pricey. We enjoyed our meal there on the first night and the breakfasts were excellent, especially the fresh fruit and breads. It was our first trip to San Francisco, and the Orchard Garden made our stay very enjoyable. We could find nothing to complain about, a first for us. We would recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for a small, friendly hotel with an almost ideal location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chinatown gate is right around the corner on Grant Street and Union Square with theaters, restaurants and cinemas is very handy. Many of the better ethnic restaurants are short walks from the hotel, and we took advantage of a new one every evening.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search